Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Funeral Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Funeral Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2009

      My mom used to make this for us- so I loved it! I made a few minor adjustments...I used a mix of Monterrey Jack and Cheddar cheeses instead of longhorn as was recommended. I also used more like 3 cups of corn flakes and extra butter to make the topping (cause the crunchy top is the best part). I also used the frozen bagged hash browns with onions and peppers already in it since that is what I had on hand and it didn't really affect the flavor. Will make over and over and over again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      came out perfect even though i suck at cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      It is easy to cut the calories and fat in this recipe. Just reduce the butter by half, use heart healthy soup, low fat sour cream, and reduced fat shredded cheese. Any cheese of your liking will work just fine! You can also par boil (or use raw, but increase cooking time) russet potatoes, grate them with skins on and add a little more nutrition to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Yum! My friend also gave ma a pointer to add some cream cheese. makes it that much creamier and richer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I've made these twice and they always get eaten up with no leftovers! I have changed the recipe to reduce the calories slightly and make them a little less greasy. I only use 1/4 c. melted butter and 1 can cream of chicken soup. I made them in the crockpot on high for 4 hours and they were perfect! I also left off the cornflakes and butter and no one noticed any difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I couldn't find my recipe for these and was so relieved to find this one posted here. These are delicious, a breeze to make and wonderful to bring to a pot luck or holiday dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Woo! Look at the fat content - almost 200% of your daily allowance! They are heavenly, though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This recipe is AMAZING! I made it for my in-laws and they absolutely LOVED it. They are all requesting different things added like diced chicken, ham, or bacon bits. I think I might try it like that next time! I had heard of the recipe on another website I was looking at so I did some research and found out that the dish is called Funeral Potatos (or Utah Funeral Potatos) because it is often served along with other dishes after Mormon funerals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      My wife has attempted to make this dish several times with other recipes and each time it turned out more like Potato Soup. This recipe was easy, tasted great and best of all I didn't have to serve it in a soup bowl. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Like the lady said: It's called 'funeral potatoes because its served at funerals. In my church when we have a funeral, we have ham, funeral potatoes, a jello something [because I live in Utah], rolls, come from the bag lettuce salad and then a few homemade cakes [usually from a box - or not]. The recipe is pretty basic so that there is consistency with the menu, but some like to spice theirs up, if you know what I mean. I'm making these [again] for Easter - to go with the ham. My family loves them! No need to wait for a funeral....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Yum! I made these tonight as a side dish. They were FABU. My husband, kids and I loved them. They turned out perfect. The onion gave it a nice rounded out flavor. I used Medium Cheddar and only 1 can of Cream of Chicken Soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Let me solve the mystery for you - Funeral Potatoes are a mainstay of post-funeral luncheons for friends and relatives travelling in for a Mormon funeral. In Mormon culture, it isn't a funeral unless there are funeral potatoes served afterwards. Mormons are all about casseroles and other satisfying comfort foods that can be made in very large batches to feed huge families and other crowds (i.e. green jello with strange things like carrots mixed in). I assure you that funeral potatoes are far more delicious! I've made and served funeral potatoes to my never-mormon friends and they always love it. It's fattening, totally unhealthy, and worth every calorie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I have always loved this recipe. I just recently discovered H.E.B stores sell Cream of Jalapeno soup, when I saw that, I bought some cans with this recipe in mind. I tried it in broccoli, rice & cheese cassarole & it was so good! So next church dinner I will try it in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I know why they call them Funeral Potatoes. Because if you eat them they will send you directly to your funeral. 80 grams of fat and 1100 calories. Sound like heart attack on a plate to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      These are so yummy. I added a little bit of chopped ham. They were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Amazing!!!! It fed a lot more than 6-8 for us though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Instead of using all of that butter I use the parkay spray butter that has 0 fat and 0 calories. I just dizzle it onto the corn flakes about 2-4 tablespoons. I don't like all of the fat from the butter or the grease.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      We found these to be quite tasty. I did, however, add ½ teaspoon garlic powder to the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      I have not yet tried this recipe but here in Utah funeral potatoes are called so because if you go to any LDS/Morman funeral you are sure to find these potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      We had mixed reviews for these potatoes at the family table. I thought they were pretty good. I reduced the butter by half, and they were still fairly rich. I might try cutting the cream of chicken to 1 can next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Funeral Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1072.8
     
    Calories from Fat 716
    66%
    Total Fat 79.5 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 38.5 g
    192%
    Cholesterol 160.3 mg
    53%
    Sodium 2031.7 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.3 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites