Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Full Flavor Crock Pot Turkey Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Full Flavor Crock Pot Turkey Chili

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2010

      Generally I like chili that is thick and hearty. So based on my likes - this was really too soupy for my taste - and I didn't add the broth to the recipe. Also the turkey tasted really dry - though I bought a higher fat content grind - I wonder if it wouldn't be more tender to not brown it first and let it cook during the 10 hours on low. The flavor was nice and I love the spice paste that is made ahead of time. Still looking for the perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      YUM YUM! I can honestly say this is the first time I've not used canned beans, and I can't imagine going back now. I soaked a mix of black and pinto beans overnight. It didn't fit in my crock pot....I used my big soup pot and cooked for about 5 hours on a low simmer. I didn't use the bacon, and I didn't miss it either. I used all 4 Tbsp of the chili powder (and I used a mix of New Mexico and regular chili powder) with 1/2 Tbsp of cayenne and a fresh BIG whole jalapeno. My husband and I both loved the spice, but we like some kick in our food. We like our chili a little more 'soupy', so I added a whole dark beer and an extra 15 ounce can of crushed tomatoes with about a can of water. And I didn't feel like getting out the food processor, so I just popped the spice mix in the blender with a small bit of water to make a paste. Thanks for sharing a great base chili recipe....it's so easy to tweak and I love that!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This was so great! The texture and flavor of the beans was awesome. This is going to be my go-to chili recipe from now on. DBF said it was better than mom's...and that's saying a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This came out soupy for us. Flavor was ok, but probably not a make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      This was amazing. I didn't add the bacon as we don't eat pork or beef, I didn't add the jalepenos, hubby said it had enough KICK. We forgot the cheese which soaks up some of the spicieness on the first go around, but I remembered when I served it as left overs the next night and it was an even bigger hit! Everyone was sad to see the bottom of the serving bowl. I didn't have time to let anything sit and chill overnight so I just allowed for about an hour for the seasonings and the peppers and tomatoes to chill and it still worked out just fine. It was super easy for me to just crockpot it and go! I love meals like this. This is GREAT for a crisp fall evening. This is definately something I will do again and again. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      This was the best chili I have had in my life! I had seven people over for dinner and four servings leftover even after that. It was polished off by the following afternoon and everyone begged for the recipe! I omitted the bacon , jalapenos, and cheese and used cannellini beans and it was fantastic. You ought to win at a competition with this one! I'm going to permanently add this to my cookbook. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      I made this for my family with Auntie Mags' South of the Border Jalapeno Cornbread, and they absolutely devoured it. I had to roll them away from the table! :) I sort of doubled the recipe for my 6-qt CP and probably shouldn't have because I ended up having to spoon out about 2.5 cups of liquid after an hour of cooking to avoid overflow. (I added it right back after serving the first bowl of chili, though.) I used 2.5 lbs gr turkey, 1/2 lb turkey bacon, 4 oz salami, 4-15 oz cans beans (black, pinto, dark red kidney, northern), 3-14.5 oz cans diced tom. + 28 oz crushed tom., 12 oz tomato paste, 4 cups veg. broth, 2 fresh tom., 3 garlic cloves, 2.5T cumin, 2T oregano & paprika, 4T chili powder, 1T cayenne, & 1/4 cup jarred jalapeno peppers. I also added an 8 oz pkg of sliced fresh mushrooms, and everyone loved that. I'm thrilled to say there were two awesome SURPRISES. First, I cooked the tomato paste down in a skillet before adding it to the CP; and it kept my husband from getting heartburn (and he ALWAYS gets heartburn)! Second, instead of regular beer, I used a 12-oz bottle of Leinenkugel's Berry Weiss. The sweetness balanced the heat so well and kept the fam coming back for more and more and more... :D Thanks for posting such an awesome recipe, Pugs-N-Apps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I halved the recipe and it still made a HUGE large sized crockpot full of chili. It wasn't very hot, so I added more of the pepper seasoning for more heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      WOW!!! Two thumbs WAY up! This is a keeper, keeper, keeper! After I showed her this website (and she went gaga), my sister picked out this recipe for her contribution to our (26 member) family reunion last week (Aug 06). She doubled the recipe (we had enough for another 1/2 meal for the bunch), she used jarred jalapeno peppers (as we couldn't find fresh), she nearly doubled the tomatoes, and she omitted the beer :( What a hit! Only one of the 26 did not like it. . . but he married into the family ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      i made this the other day and it was delicious. I cut the recipe in half and so i used 2 T of the HOT spices. Yes it was very picante, but i like it that way . . . Definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      WOW this is a huge recipe!! We liked the flavour of the ground turkey offset by all the different beans and peppers, sweet and otherwise. It all had a great "garden freshness" to it. (and the beer added greatly to it) This is the one we will be making for the next family gathering. Thanks for sharing, wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Full Flavor Crock Pot Turkey Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 565.1
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    58%
    Total Fat 36.8 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 165.1 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1067.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 40.8 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites