42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this endless of time and forgot to rate it... I don't tell everyone I make this for that it's easy as well pie to do.. I have made it to end a lobster steak dinner for guests. For birthdays and anniversaries and even holidays... everyone raves over it... Thanks for posting!

** I have made this as written, added different nuts almonds and macademias, I had added a marshmallow type topping and toasted it, aka smores pie my daughter's favorite My favoriite version is topped with strawberries and hot fudge sauce.. and just plain is incredible too! ~~


After I sent in my review I noticed some people have trouble with this pie setting... I didn't.. I usually have it in the oven right before dinner is served and it has time to set by the time our tribe gets ready for dessert.

Also an electrical mixer is a must I let mine beat in my kitchen aid mixer on speed two for ten or so minutes never anything lower that five though. I found the more let it beat the better. This pie can also be made into thin layers,,, watch it carefully though... and make it like a truffle recipe.

If you have an imagination you can do ANYTHING with this recipe.. again thank you so very much newspapergirl.. which I could give it more than five stars it deserves...

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust June 08, 2011

This needs to be kept in the fridge for 2 hours before cutting. I tried cutting it after 30 minutes and it was too liquid. It needs time to firm up in the fridge. Also, i found this isn't good to eat fresh out of the oven...it should be from the fridge. It was a little bit on the sweet side, but still disappeared pretty quickly :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachchow March 07, 2007

This is the nicest chocolate pie ever! The first time I made it it turned out perfectly. It was so quick and easy to make. I highly recommend it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polo_sugar March 12, 2011

This was super! I doubled it and made it in a 13x9 pan (I knew a 10-inch pie plate would not feed my horde :D) They loved it! Especially with a little ice cream on top :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izbit November 05, 2006

Very tasty! I halved the recipe (using Hershey's Special Dark cocoa) and baked it in an 8" glass pan. It puffed up in the center, like another cook had mentioned. It also had a slight quiche texture...maybe I should have used an electric beater instead of mixing by hand. I only had to use one measuring cup which made clean-up a breeze!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eddie3108 August 25, 2010

The pie was good, but it was GREAT with this chocolate sauce http://www.recipezaar.com/26276 when warm. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Carp October 10, 2008

This was very good. I halved the recipe and it was just enough for us. It only took about 15-20 min. to bake. Easy and quick to throw together with ingredients on hand. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn29 January 27, 2008

First of all, ridiculously simple to mix this batter up. I baked mine in the only 10-inch pie pan I own, which is a Pyrex glass dish. So I lowered the oven temp by 25 degrees to 350 and watched carefully from 25 minutes on. It never really formed what I considered a "crust" on the top. It came out very much looking like a baked layer cake, slightly rounded on the top, although that went down somewhat when it cooled. Yummy and definitely chocolaty. Similar to a brownie. Great with vanilla ice cream. Not super duper fudgy, but pretty fudgy. I had no trouble at all with mine being too soft in the middle or needing to chill it or anything like that. It did bet a bit too crispy near the glass edges of the pan. Overall yummy and I will probably make again some time when I need a quick and easy chocolate dessert. We were able to get away with cutting our pieces smaller than 1/8. UPDATE: Just wanted to add that this dessert seems to improve on sitting. I wrapped leftovers with plastic wrap and had another piece two days later. It seemed to have a better, moister and more solid texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif May 02, 2007

I expected it to be more of a fudgier brownie like the description said, but was very much disappointed. It wasn't as fudgey as I like, and didnt have enough chocolate flavor in it either. I appologize for the bad review newspapergal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's April 26, 2007

I made this according to the recipe and added about 1 tsp of instant coffee granules...afterall, what goes better with chocolate than coffee? It was so tasty, although next time I think I'll use 1/2 that much, so the coffee isn't quite as discernable. Also, the texture of the pie was a bit gooey and wet - not that it's stopped me from eating it, but I can't help but think it's not completely cooked. I cooked it 30+ minutes and got a nice crust but the inside was a little too gooey. Next time I might add a bit more flour and see if that helps. The taste is wonderful and it is so easy that I will make it again with a few minor adjustment to suit my personal preferences.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater March 26, 2006
Fudgy Fudge Pie