12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH said, "Mmmh! They're GOOD! You woudn't know they had been made from whole wheat flour and flax seed." (Never mind that they're vegan, and have a banana in them...) They were super easy to make, and I added a good sprinking of white/dark swirled chocolate chips on top for colour. These will definately be made again and again! Thanks to WICC for posting this awesome recipe, and to Magpie Diner, for putting it in her Best of 2010 so I could tag it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen February 21, 2011

FANTASTIC, gooey, chocolaty bliss! I would certainly make these again. I cannot believe they are vegan! They are sincerely the best brownie that I, personally, have ever made. I subbed 1/2 of the sugar out with Splenda and added the flax meal option. I also used white whole wheat flour. Topped mine off with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar for color and we were good to go! A MUST TRY recipe! Thanks for sharing :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 15, 2010

I have a two and a half year old and a four year old who love to cook with me. This was a great recipe for them as they got to mash, wisk, measure and stir. I also love that they could lick the spoons after we finished as there are no eggs in the recipe. They really enjoyed eating them as their Valentine treat!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladylawyer February 11, 2010

This is a GREAT brownie recipe..! The only change I made was to sub 2 tbsp of applesauce for oil, to cut down on the calories a bit....altho, obviously this is already a pretty healthy treat. The challenge now is to just eat one!! Thanks for posting WICC, you got it right when you said you'll be making these often. Made for Veg Swap Jan10.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 08, 2010

Super easy to make and oh-so-delicious! This is one of the best brownie recipes I've tried, vegan or not. I like that the banana flavor subtly comes through. I made these for Christmas and my nephews devoured them! Made for Veggie Swap, December 2009.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose December 26, 2009

Wow..these are so awesome. The name fits them perfectly. Fudgy is right. I doubled this recipe and made it into two 8x8 square baking pans. I incoroporated semi-sweet choco chips into the batter as recommended and then after pouring the batter into the baking pans I sprinkled the top with a combination chip of p.b. and choco. The banana taste comes thru nicely. I like that addition:-) Made for Veg-n-Swap~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB September 07, 2009

These are great brownies and liked the hint of banana flavor. I did use all purpose flour and skim milk then sprinkled some choclate chips on top while the brownies were still warm. Fudgy and chocolately, will take care of any sweet tooth! Made and reviewed for the Vegetarian/Vegan Forum's Recipe Swap #47 - June 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 01, 2012

Mmm, great brownies! They are fudgy and chocolatey just like promised. :)
I used spelt flour, pear puree in place of the oil and left out the sugar. Also I added in semi-sweet chocolate chips and walnuts for a decadent treat.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great, easy to make recipe with us, WICC!
Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #38 September 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 04, 2011

these were very good. i used all purpose flour, regular skim milk, and apple sauce for half the oil. these were rich and fudgy. made for pac '09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 12, 2009

I used vegan chocolate chips and the results were delicious! I look forward to baking these again already.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aeht206 October 08, 2013
Fudgy Brownies