15 Reviews

This did not turn into frosting at all.I went by the recipe exactly.It just turned into a pale blob of sugary slop.All those ingredients ended up in the garbage.I was skeptical about making an icing without icing sugar,I didn't have any.I should have just went and bought some and made my usual recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny August 05, 2009

Oh my goodness! I used butter instead of shortening and it came out perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sundaymorning October 27, 2007

This was so good and so easy. I have always been lazy and gone with the canned frosting. Never again. Be sure to time it correctly and then add 10 seconds. It set up so fast I had to hurry and get it spread. I also beat it setting the pan in ice water to hurry it along. Worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linda j joyce June 04, 2013

This recipe turned out as it should have. I believe other reviewers are having issues because they either are not allowing it to come to a rolling boil prior to timing and/or not beating it long enough (complaints about it being too thin). If you overbeat, I think you'll end up with a pan of fudge. The flavor & consistancy was exactly that of fudge (like homemade fudge). I frosted the Ho Ho Cake with it and while the kids loved it, the four layers were challenging to frost!
I would say overall, it was very sweet for my taste. If I were to make it again, I think I would reduce some of the sugar and take the suggestion of sundaymorning and use butter in place of the shortening. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau February 15, 2013

Tastes great!

Is this frosting supposed to have a ganache like texture after it has cooled? I'm having a difficult time getting it to thicken.

What is the ideal texture for the finished frosting?

I am looking for a great tasting NON buttercream chocolate (and vanilla) frosting that will maintain its shape so I can use it for boarders, etc. Any help will be most appreciated!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Webbz22 May 28, 2011

I just made this recipe today to frost 24 cupcakes and had leftovers. It is simple to make but does take time and effort. Any one ending up with a gloppy sugary mess either didn't boil it the full minute or didn't beat it long enough as it can take up to 20 minutes all together of beating time...depending on your mixer.

I used salted butter in place of both the salt and the shortening and it came out great. I didn't find this recipe here though it was in my mother's 1956 illustrated Betty Crocker Cookbook. I was searching prior to posting the recipe myself. Thank you for posting this as it really is a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katlienc April 09, 2011

Loved this little recipe! I used it to frost Ho Ho Cake and it was the bomb! I'll be using this as a standard fudgy frosting from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ June 07, 2010

OMGoodness! This reminded me soooo much of my Great Grandma's fudge recipe! This is postively fantastic -and I have NEVER made homeade frosting!!! I was afraid I would fail at this and my cake would just have to go without. Thank you for an easy-to-follow recipe and such a decadent one, at that! Even my hubby said it tasted like his Mom's (HUGE compliment). Your recipe brought back such fond recipes! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hltravis96 May 09, 2009

This actually tastes like fudge. It is dense, creamy, and delicious. If you're looking for something out of the ordinary and utterly divine, I would highly recommend this recipe!! Fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
landofoz April 30, 2009

This is the best chocolate frosting recipe I have ever found. The texture, flavor, and overall look where PERFECT! Thank you so much for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
844524 May 21, 2008
Fudge Frosting