Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fudge Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fudge Frosting

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2009

      This did not turn into frosting at all.I went by the recipe exactly.It just turned into a pale blob of sugary slop.All those ingredients ended up in the garbage.I was skeptical about making an icing without icing sugar,I didn't have any.I should have just went and bought some and made my usual recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Oh my goodness! I used butter instead of shortening and it came out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      This was so good and so easy. I have always been lazy and gone with the canned frosting. Never again. Be sure to time it correctly and then add 10 seconds. It set up so fast I had to hurry and get it spread. I also beat it setting the pan in ice water to hurry it along. Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      This recipe turned out as it should have. I believe other reviewers are having issues because they either are not allowing it to come to a rolling boil prior to timing and/or not beating it long enough (complaints about it being too thin). If you overbeat, I think you'll end up with a pan of fudge. The flavor & consistancy was exactly that of fudge (like homemade fudge). I frosted the Ho Ho Cake with it and while the kids loved it, the four layers were challenging to frost!
      I would say overall, it was very sweet for my taste. If I were to make it again, I think I would reduce some of the sugar and take the suggestion of sundaymorning and use butter in place of the shortening. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Tastes great!

      Is this frosting supposed to have a ganache like texture after it has cooled? I'm having a difficult time getting it to thicken.

      What is the ideal texture for the finished frosting?

      I am looking for a great tasting NON buttercream chocolate (and vanilla) frosting that will maintain its shape so I can use it for boarders, etc. Any help will be most appreciated!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      I just made this recipe today to frost 24 cupcakes and had leftovers. It is simple to make but does take time and effort. Any one ending up with a gloppy sugary mess either didn't boil it the full minute or didn't beat it long enough as it can take up to 20 minutes all together of beating time...depending on your mixer.

      I used salted butter in place of both the salt and the shortening and it came out great. I didn't find this recipe here though it was in my mother's 1956 illustrated Betty Crocker Cookbook. I was searching prior to posting the recipe myself. Thank you for posting this as it really is a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Loved this little recipe! I used it to frost Ho Ho Cake and it was the bomb! I'll be using this as a standard fudgy frosting from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      OMGoodness! This reminded me soooo much of my Great Grandma's fudge recipe! This is postively fantastic -and I have NEVER made homeade frosting!!! I was afraid I would fail at this and my cake would just have to go without. Thank you for an easy-to-follow recipe and such a decadent one, at that! Even my hubby said it tasted like his Mom's (HUGE compliment). Your recipe brought back such fond recipes! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This actually tastes like fudge. It is dense, creamy, and delicious. If you're looking for something out of the ordinary and utterly divine, I would highly recommend this recipe!! Fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      This is the best chocolate frosting recipe I have ever found. The texture, flavor, and overall look where PERFECT! Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      This turned out to be a true fudge frosting. I used the cocoa version with the extra 4 tsp shortening. I had a similar cooked fudge frosting that was delicious but tricky to get it to set. I think the addition of the light corn syrup is what makes this turn out every time so make sure you include it.I've made it twice with no problems and the guys licked the pan clean and raved about the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      It was worth the effort of making this. Fabulous! I would recommend this any time. I kept eating the "leftovers". (Ha! As if there was any!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      This was my first time making frosting, and it turned out GREAT! It was easy, fast and really yummy! I put it on the brownies I made(Katherine Hepburn Brownies by kaylanave found here, at reciezarr.com). After cooling it gave each brownie a beautiful shiny top. To reduce the overall calories, I used half sugar and half Splenda. It tastes wonderful! I could eat it all by itself, lol. I highly recommend this A+ Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      I whipped up this neat little recipe for our Silent Cricket Cook-A-Thon. Ya better have a strong arm cause it takes a bunch of beatin', but, ooooh so worth it! It is as Martha states, "Very decadent"!) Tastes just like quality fudge! I put it on top of Mrs. Moore's Chocolate Cake Mrs. Moore's Chocolate Cake ... YUM! Definitely a 5* winner, and I will be making this one again! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      This is my husband's favorite frosting for cake, and my late MIL passed the recipe down to me, this same exact recipe. It takes a little effort, but nothing else tastes like this... it's heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fudge Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (772 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3069.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1231
    40%
    Total Fat 136.8 g
    210%
    Saturated Fat 46.7 g
    233%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 711.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 488.5 g
    162%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 423.0 g
    1692%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites