658 Reviews

Wow these are good! I don't buy cake mix so I didn't have any on hand or any other sweets either when DH said he wanted something sweet, we were celebrating his earning his martial arts black belt today so I decided to make him some cookies and I'd been wanting to try this recipe. Well I made my own "cake mix" from the Hershey's chocolate cake recipe and stopped at the dry ingredients, then continued with the rest of this recipe. On top of making that substitution I only made half a batch so it took me a little longer cause of all the ingredients I had to mix plus cutting down ingredient portions. I used canola oil instead of vegetable, and let them rest a few minutes after rolling before dipping in sugar as suggested, once a little dry I dipped them first in Bakers sugar, then in confectioners sugar - this kept it from absorbing all the pretty confectioners sugar, so they turned out beautiful as well as delicious! Bake time was exactly 8 minutes for me on a cookie sheet covered by parchment paper. Thank you for a gem of a recipe - EXCELLENT! Even with all those alterations and potentials for failure - they are DELICIOUS!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DNA1611 March 06, 2010

This is my third Christmas using this recipe. For the holidays, I've always used Spice Cake Mix or Red Velvet (cause it's just really pretty). But Lord knows that I adore the Devil's Food chocolate ones! By making from 1/2 to 1 inch sized cookies, I always end up with exactly 40 cookies. The recipe is super easy - thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick November 28, 2009

These were super easy to make. I was in the mood for cookies, and I had one in my hand within 15 minutes. Talk about instant gratification! There were definitely a couple of things about this recipe - first of all, do not use a mixer. I used a handmixer and it got so thick I wound up using a wooden spoon to finish mixing the batter. Also, I rolled the cookies in the sugar, but it just seemed to be absorbed into the cookie, so I had to dust the cookies again after they came out of the oven. Finally, watch these cookies! When they are overcooked they become very stiff and dry. I do think that these cookies would be good with some different kinds of cake mixes. I will definitely have to give that a try. Overall, this is a very easy cookie to make.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Giggle Box January 07, 2004

WOW - FANTASTIC! I had a white cake mix on hand and my cookies taste like sugar cookies. I baked them for 10 minutes in my oven (Maytag) and they are perfect. I made them slightly larger than 1" and got 42 cookies. They are lightly browned on the bottom and chewy in the middle. It is very important to let the cookies cool and flatten on the baking sheet before you remove them. I placed my baked cookies on paper towels (instead of wire rack) on my counter top to decorate (easy cleanup.) I placed some M&M's mini baking chips on top of each cookie lightly pressing them into the chewy middle and used red sprinkles. I read an earlier review about placing a jelly bean in the middle of the cookie for Easter and using the devil's food mix and orange icing for Halloween. Great ideas! You could use food coloring to make red & green cookies for Christmas, red for valentines day, green for St. Pat's Day... there are no limits to this recipe. Karen, thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele O'Sullivan December 12, 2003

This is really super easy!! Even for someone who has never made cookies before!! Thanks. I added some raisins to some of them and semi-sweet chocolate chips to others. I like raisins better. The only down side to this recipe is that I can't control the sweetness of the cake mix. I used Betty Crocker's Super Moist Double Chocolate Swirl and find the cookies a bit too sweet for my taste.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ave November 21, 2003

These were so super easy and yummy! The possibilities are endless.....my cuzin was over and said that these are the best cookies he has EVER had!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina September 29, 2003

Delicious! I cannot believe how easy these cookies are, and how great they taste! I think I got a little carried away rolling these in the powdered sugar, so next time I will just lightly powder around the outside :) I will keep a box of devil's food cake mix in the pantry from now on, and my dream is that someone will come to visit and I'll whip up a batch of cookies in nothing flat for us to have! What a trip... thanks so very much for this recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady August 23, 2003

Yum! These cookies were super easy, and so good. Make sure you don't overbake them...they are much better when they are nice and chewy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursejillian June 24, 2003

I thought this was a great recipe and very simple to make. But personally I think it is even better with poudered suger. But it was great just the same, thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessie3 August 05, 2002

Very easy and so good. I already had everything on hand. I used Pillsbury Dark Chocolate Mix. The only problem was it was a smaller box than the recipe, but, I did not notice until after I mixed all the ingredients. The dough was very greasy! I added a little over 1/4 cup of flour, but, it didn't help. I placed them in the fridge for over an hour ( doesn't have to be that long, I just needed a break) prior to rolling in the powered sugar and they still came out great! I noticed that the 8 min mark is the perfect time yo take them out. Oh I also baked them at 375 as suggested in the notes. They didn't spread much even with the extra oil. They were perfect. The batch I let go for 10 mins tasted sorta burnt snd was not and was not as chewy later on. These are part of my Xmas tradition now. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KAIA S. December 18, 2014
Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)