650 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Only found Pillsbury cake mix, but worked fine. I did make larger balls, and got 30. Started baking at 8 minutes, then added 2 more, twice, before I thought the center was "set". As suggested, let the balls sit a few minutes before rolling in sugar, and they all had a lovely cracked appearance. I don't think I will make these for Christmas batches, since the sugar was absorbed overnight, and the cookies lost their "fudgy" consistency, but would be wonderful for dessert the same day. Thanks for posting, Karen.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney July 18, 2010

not that this needs another review, but OH MY GOSH!!!! I am not a cookie fanatic, but I cannot stop eating these! I used a prepackaged serving of applesauce in place of the oil and made them the same otherwise. I also made them with half applesauce and half oil, and you cannot tell the difference with only applesauce. I am hoping that takes out alot of the calories, because I haven't eaten less than 4 of these at a time! If you have a cake mix, make these right now! I have used vanilla as well, but the chocolate are the BOMB!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texas chick June 02, 2010

This cookie is very yummy and super easy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I used the Duncan Hines red velvet cake mix, added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract and 1 cup white chocolate chips to make it more festive for a holiday cookie exchange I attended tonight. After a vote, these cookies were tied for first place. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpestrada December 16, 2009

wow - super easy - this would be a good one for school - when the kids tell you at 7pm they need a treat for the class the next day. I crushed some candy cane and stuck some pieces on the top before baking - turned out great & gave them a Christmas look. Nice flavour with the chocolate & peppermint too.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Myles December 10, 2009

Fantastic and so easy! I made these for a christmas cookie exchange and put a hershy candycane kiss in the middle of each one when they were hot out of the oven. Big hit with my family not many left for the exchange, will definitely be making more.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoFlames December 09, 2009

Made these with Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake mix and rolled in granulated sugar. Fresh out of the oven they tasted just the same as Archway's Dutch Cocoa cookies which I loved as a kid... I'd know too since my mom worked at the factory for 20+ years. I'm probably gonna under cook them towards 8 minutes even when they still look sorta gooey...got a little too crunchy after sitting! But very yummy~thanks for an easy treat!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaDBcooksforfive December 07, 2009

These are amazing and sooooo easy!!!! I made them with granulated sugar, Duncan Hines Devils Food cake mix, and followed the tip for letting the cookies dry out a little and they turned out awesome---like the fudgiest, most chocolatey brownie you ever had, but in cookie format. Generally I share my baking with my coworkers, but my fiance and I gobbled these up in two days. I can't wait to try this with other mixes!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I<3butter! September 14, 2009

This is good . Maybe it is the ease of making that makes people want to rate it so high. But I don't think it worth 5 stars. I loved the notes. I let rest 1/2 hour before rolled in sugar and sugar did not melt. I made 1/2 box vanilla betty crocker and 1/2 box devils food duncan hinz I must say the duncan hinz was a lot prettier. Must be partly the reason for instructions specifying devils food. The devils food I used 1/8 c. oil and 1/8 c. applesauce so that would be 1/4 cup each for the whole recipe. I read once it is wise to only substitute applesauce for half of the fat called for.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady November 02, 2010

Wow these are good! I don't buy cake mix so I didn't have any on hand or any other sweets either when DH said he wanted something sweet, we were celebrating his earning his martial arts black belt today so I decided to make him some cookies and I'd been wanting to try this recipe. Well I made my own "cake mix" from the Hershey's chocolate cake recipe and stopped at the dry ingredients, then continued with the rest of this recipe. On top of making that substitution I only made half a batch so it took me a little longer cause of all the ingredients I had to mix plus cutting down ingredient portions. I used canola oil instead of vegetable, and let them rest a few minutes after rolling before dipping in sugar as suggested, once a little dry I dipped them first in Bakers sugar, then in confectioners sugar - this kept it from absorbing all the pretty confectioners sugar, so they turned out beautiful as well as delicious! Bake time was exactly 8 minutes for me on a cookie sheet covered by parchment paper. Thank you for a gem of a recipe - EXCELLENT! Even with all those alterations and potentials for failure - they are DELICIOUS!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DNA1611 March 06, 2010

This is my third Christmas using this recipe. For the holidays, I've always used Spice Cake Mix or Red Velvet (cause it's just really pretty). But Lord knows that I adore the Devil's Food chocolate ones! By making from 1/2 to 1 inch sized cookies, I always end up with exactly 40 cookies. The recipe is super easy - thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick November 28, 2009
Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)