659 Reviews

These cookies were incredible! I made two different types. I made devils food with pecans and chocolate chips that I rolled in the powered sugar, and also I did strawberry with White chocolate that I rolled in organic coconut sugar. Both turned out awesome. With the size I made, I got about 2 1/2 dozen per flavor. We had 6 people in the house, and these cookies are not going to survive the night, all 5 dozen. I couldn't keep them out! I did decrease the oil to 1/4 cup, that was perfect and not too oily. The sugars stayed on just fine. I baked them at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. And since I only had one cookie pan, I would throw the batter in the freezer while the other batch cooked, and it made the dough easy to handle and roll. I am going to try lemon cake mix next, and then maybe spice cake with walnuts and raisins. Good luck! I posted a couple of pics so you can see what mine looked like!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkdragonfly9mm June 05, 2012

These cookies are just as the reviews say it is, easy and delicious. My son loved them and made them himself for his school halloween party, came out perfect for him as well. Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny November 01, 2011

Only found Pillsbury cake mix, but worked fine. I did make larger balls, and got 30. Started baking at 8 minutes, then added 2 more, twice, before I thought the center was "set". As suggested, let the balls sit a few minutes before rolling in sugar, and they all had a lovely cracked appearance. I don't think I will make these for Christmas batches, since the sugar was absorbed overnight, and the cookies lost their "fudgy" consistency, but would be wonderful for dessert the same day. Thanks for posting, Karen.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney July 18, 2010

not that this needs another review, but OH MY GOSH!!!! I am not a cookie fanatic, but I cannot stop eating these! I used a prepackaged serving of applesauce in place of the oil and made them the same otherwise. I also made them with half applesauce and half oil, and you cannot tell the difference with only applesauce. I am hoping that takes out alot of the calories, because I haven't eaten less than 4 of these at a time! If you have a cake mix, make these right now! I have used vanilla as well, but the chocolate are the BOMB!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texas chick June 02, 2010

This cookie is very yummy and super easy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I used the Duncan Hines red velvet cake mix, added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract and 1 cup white chocolate chips to make it more festive for a holiday cookie exchange I attended tonight. After a vote, these cookies were tied for first place. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpestrada December 16, 2009

wow - super easy - this would be a good one for school - when the kids tell you at 7pm they need a treat for the class the next day. I crushed some candy cane and stuck some pieces on the top before baking - turned out great & gave them a Christmas look. Nice flavour with the chocolate & peppermint too.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Myles December 10, 2009

Fantastic and so easy! I made these for a christmas cookie exchange and put a hershy candycane kiss in the middle of each one when they were hot out of the oven. Big hit with my family not many left for the exchange, will definitely be making more.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoFlames December 09, 2009

Made these with Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake mix and rolled in granulated sugar. Fresh out of the oven they tasted just the same as Archway's Dutch Cocoa cookies which I loved as a kid... I'd know too since my mom worked at the factory for 20+ years. I'm probably gonna under cook them towards 8 minutes even when they still look sorta gooey...got a little too crunchy after sitting! But very yummy~thanks for an easy treat!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaDBcooksforfive December 07, 2009

These are amazing and sooooo easy!!!! I made them with granulated sugar, Duncan Hines Devils Food cake mix, and followed the tip for letting the cookies dry out a little and they turned out awesome---like the fudgiest, most chocolatey brownie you ever had, but in cookie format. Generally I share my baking with my coworkers, but my fiance and I gobbled these up in two days. I can't wait to try this with other mixes!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I<3butter! September 14, 2009

This is good . Maybe it is the ease of making that makes people want to rate it so high. But I don't think it worth 5 stars. I loved the notes. I let rest 1/2 hour before rolled in sugar and sugar did not melt. I made 1/2 box vanilla betty crocker and 1/2 box devils food duncan hinz I must say the duncan hinz was a lot prettier. Must be partly the reason for instructions specifying devils food. The devils food I used 1/8 c. oil and 1/8 c. applesauce so that would be 1/4 cup each for the whole recipe. I read once it is wise to only substitute applesauce for half of the fat called for.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady November 02, 2010
Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)