659 Reviews

We make these at work but use brownie mix for them and just subtract a cup of water out of the mix. We use foodservice box size mix.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovetocook30 November 29, 2011

Most excellent cookies! I needed a lot of easy, good cookies for a cookie exchange at work and these are it. 2 batches, 75 cookies, start to finish in under 2 hours. 8 minutes a batch was perfect. I rolled them in granulated sugar before the powdered sugar and that kept them nice and white, a little sweeter and gives them a crunch. I plan to make them with lemon cake mix and roll in fresh lemon juice before the powdered sugar for extra tartness. We shall see how they turn out!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reenland December 12, 2009

I just made a batch with yellow cake mix and minced pecans and a half teaspoon of almond extract. Mmmmm! Karen, you're a genus!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife August 28, 2003

It has all been said, but I had to agree and give it another 5 star review. I used Strawberry and Butter Recipe Fudge cake mixes. I love to cook and until now I loved baking everything EXCEPT cookies. I filled mine with a clone twinkie cream and sandwiched them. Yum! Hubby will love these when he comes home. :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ July 22, 2003

I just made these cookies. I thought I had sugar, but found out after I mixed the batter that I didn't. Rolled the cookies in hot cocoa mix. They turned out AWESOME!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethpg67 December 03, 2011

I have a "scratch" recipe that I've made for fudge crinkles for years now, but I'll be making them this way from now on. The rich fudge flavor is exceptional and you can't beat this recipe for ease of preparation and simple ingredients. I almost always have cake mix on hand - I'll have to try other flavors, maybe mix in mini chocolate chips or gound nuts - lots of room for variation here. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 December 17, 2003

I just made these again yesterday, yummy. For a little Christmas cheer I added about a quarter cup of rum. After baking I put a chocolate kiss in the middle of each one. DH loves them, and they are a wonderful and easy to make. I also dusted them with powdered sugar, makes them look pretty.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tampacountess December 16, 2003

Well, add my name to the list of people who liked this recipe! I made 10 dozen of these cookies for Easter. Followed your recipe exactly then plopped a jelly bean on top of each dough ball and pressed it in, slightly. They came out of the oven just perfectly festive for the holiday. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas May 09, 2003

This is a really nice easy recipe. The 'cookies' come out with kind of a fudgey-brownie texture with a nice sugar crunch on the outside. My brownie loving husband approved. It was also a great recipe to do with my young son who enjoyed rolling the balls in the sugar for me.<br/><br/>Since there are plenty of reviews already I wanted to add that this recipe made about two dozen cookies, since I didn't see that listed anywhere. Also wanted to add a tip for those saying that all the sugar gets absorbed while baking. My first batch came out exactly like that, and I had let the dough balls 'dry' for a few minutes like the author suggested. The second batch I rolled into balls and then had to leave for about 20 minutes to attend to family matters. Well, it turned out that this was actually the magic trick because that second batch just came out picture-perfect. This recipe is officially going into my box!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieInTheKitchen December 17, 2014

Ok, Betty Crocker has decreased their boxes of cake mix to 15.25 ounces (but the price has stayed the same- go figure). Rather than going with the 1/2 cup of oil, I went with 100 milliliters which is about midway between 1/2 and 1/3 of a cup. I rolled them to about 1.5 inches, let the balls rest for about five minutes, and then I rolled them in my hand which had a scoop of powdered sugar in it. When complete, they looked like Russian Tea Cakes and I placed them on a foil- lined cookie sheet and baked them at 350 degrees F. My oven had been acting squirrely lately but I baked them for 9.5 minutes until the center JUST was done (it was slightly crumby but not runny). The only problem I ran into was room on my sheet. Next time I will bake half at a time. My measurements yielded 21 cookies about 2.5 to 3 inches in diameter. One other problem, they are randomly disappearing while they are cooling- next time I'll have to double the batch so they can make it out of the kitchen! :oD Thank you Karen=^..^= for a super recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie Tuna! July 09, 2014
Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)