650 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Most excellent cookies! I needed a lot of easy, good cookies for a cookie exchange at work and these are it. 2 batches, 75 cookies, start to finish in under 2 hours. 8 minutes a batch was perfect. I rolled them in granulated sugar before the powdered sugar and that kept them nice and white, a little sweeter and gives them a crunch. I plan to make them with lemon cake mix and roll in fresh lemon juice before the powdered sugar for extra tartness. We shall see how they turn out!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reenland December 12, 2009

I just made a batch with yellow cake mix and minced pecans and a half teaspoon of almond extract. Mmmmm! Karen, you're a genus!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife August 28, 2003

It has all been said, but I had to agree and give it another 5 star review. I used Strawberry and Butter Recipe Fudge cake mixes. I love to cook and until now I loved baking everything EXCEPT cookies. I filled mine with a clone twinkie cream and sandwiched them. Yum! Hubby will love these when he comes home. :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ July 22, 2003

I just made these cookies. I thought I had sugar, but found out after I mixed the batter that I didn't. Rolled the cookies in hot cocoa mix. They turned out AWESOME!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethpg67 December 03, 2011

Yummy Cookies...try this twist
When you remove them from the oven, place a thin mint directly on top of the still hot cookie.
Let cool...then enjoy!
I've made these many, many times and always get rave reviews :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseames September 14, 2011

I have a "scratch" recipe that I've made for fudge crinkles for years now, but I'll be making them this way from now on. The rich fudge flavor is exceptional and you can't beat this recipe for ease of preparation and simple ingredients. I almost always have cake mix on hand - I'll have to try other flavors, maybe mix in mini chocolate chips or gound nuts - lots of room for variation here. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 December 17, 2003

I just made these again yesterday, yummy. For a little Christmas cheer I added about a quarter cup of rum. After baking I put a chocolate kiss in the middle of each one. DH loves them, and they are a wonderful and easy to make. I also dusted them with powdered sugar, makes them look pretty.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tampacountess December 16, 2003

Well, add my name to the list of people who liked this recipe! I made 10 dozen of these cookies for Easter. Followed your recipe exactly then plopped a jelly bean on top of each dough ball and pressed it in, slightly. They came out of the oven just perfectly festive for the holiday. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas May 09, 2003

These cookies were incredible! I made two different types. I made devils food with pecans and chocolate chips that I rolled in the powered sugar, and also I did strawberry with White chocolate that I rolled in organic coconut sugar. Both turned out awesome. With the size I made, I got about 2 1/2 dozen per flavor. We had 6 people in the house, and these cookies are not going to survive the night, all 5 dozen. I couldn't keep them out! I did decrease the oil to 1/4 cup, that was perfect and not too oily. The sugars stayed on just fine. I baked them at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. And since I only had one cookie pan, I would throw the batter in the freezer while the other batch cooked, and it made the dough easy to handle and roll. I am going to try lemon cake mix next, and then maybe spice cake with walnuts and raisins. Good luck! I posted a couple of pics so you can see what mine looked like!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkdragonfly9mm June 05, 2012

These cookies are just as the reviews say it is, easy and delicious. My son loved them and made them himself for his school halloween party, came out perfect for him as well. Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny November 01, 2011
Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)