Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)

    Average Rating:

    644 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 644

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2011

      Yummy Cookies...try this twist
      When you remove them from the oven, place a thin mint directly on top of the still hot cookie.
      Let cool...then enjoy!
      I've made these many, many times and always get rave reviews :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Most excellent cookies! I needed a lot of easy, good cookies for a cookie exchange at work and these are it. 2 batches, 75 cookies, start to finish in under 2 hours. 8 minutes a batch was perfect. I rolled them in granulated sugar before the powdered sugar and that kept them nice and white, a little sweeter and gives them a crunch. I plan to make them with lemon cake mix and roll in fresh lemon juice before the powdered sugar for extra tartness. We shall see how they turn out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      I have a "scratch" recipe that I've made for fudge crinkles for years now, but I'll be making them this way from now on. The rich fudge flavor is exceptional and you can't beat this recipe for ease of preparation and simple ingredients. I almost always have cake mix on hand - I'll have to try other flavors, maybe mix in mini chocolate chips or gound nuts - lots of room for variation here. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      I just made these again yesterday, yummy. For a little Christmas cheer I added about a quarter cup of rum. After baking I put a chocolate kiss in the middle of each one. DH loves them, and they are a wonderful and easy to make. I also dusted them with powdered sugar, makes them look pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      I just made a batch with yellow cake mix and minced pecans and a half teaspoon of almond extract. Mmmmm! Karen, you're a genus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      It has all been said, but I had to agree and give it another 5 star review. I used Strawberry and Butter Recipe Fudge cake mixes. I love to cook and until now I loved baking everything EXCEPT cookies. I filled mine with a clone twinkie cream and sandwiched them. Yum! Hubby will love these when he comes home. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      Well, add my name to the list of people who liked this recipe! I made 10 dozen of these cookies for Easter. Followed your recipe exactly then plopped a jelly bean on top of each dough ball and pressed it in, slightly. They came out of the oven just perfectly festive for the holiday. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      These cookies were incredible! I made two different types. I made devils food with pecans and chocolate chips that I rolled in the powered sugar, and also I did strawberry with White chocolate that I rolled in organic coconut sugar. Both turned out awesome. With the size I made, I got about 2 1/2 dozen per flavor. We had 6 people in the house, and these cookies are not going to survive the night, all 5 dozen. I couldn't keep them out! I did decrease the oil to 1/4 cup, that was perfect and not too oily. The sugars stayed on just fine. I baked them at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. And since I only had one cookie pan, I would throw the batter in the freezer while the other batch cooked, and it made the dough easy to handle and roll. I am going to try lemon cake mix next, and then maybe spice cake with walnuts and raisins. Good luck! I posted a couple of pics so you can see what mine looked like!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      I just made these cookies. I thought I had sugar, but found out after I mixed the batter that I didn't. Rolled the cookies in hot cocoa mix. They turned out AWESOME!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      These cookies are just as the reviews say it is, easy and delicious. My son loved them and made them himself for his school halloween party, came out perfect for him as well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This is good . Maybe it is the ease of making that makes people want to rate it so high. But I don't think it worth 5 stars. I loved the notes. I let rest 1/2 hour before rolled in sugar and sugar did not melt. I made 1/2 box vanilla betty crocker and 1/2 box devils food duncan hinz I must say the duncan hinz was a lot prettier. Must be partly the reason for instructions specifying devils food. The devils food I used 1/8 c. oil and 1/8 c. applesauce so that would be 1/4 cup each for the whole recipe. I read once it is wise to only substitute applesauce for half of the fat called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Only found Pillsbury cake mix, but worked fine. I did make larger balls, and got 30. Started baking at 8 minutes, then added 2 more, twice, before I thought the center was "set". As suggested, let the balls sit a few minutes before rolling in sugar, and they all had a lovely cracked appearance. I don't think I will make these for Christmas batches, since the sugar was absorbed overnight, and the cookies lost their "fudgy" consistency, but would be wonderful for dessert the same day. Thanks for posting, Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      not that this needs another review, but OH MY GOSH!!!! I am not a cookie fanatic, but I cannot stop eating these! I used a prepackaged serving of applesauce in place of the oil and made them the same otherwise. I also made them with half applesauce and half oil, and you cannot tell the difference with only applesauce. I am hoping that takes out alot of the calories, because I haven't eaten less than 4 of these at a time! If you have a cake mix, make these right now! I have used vanilla as well, but the chocolate are the BOMB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      This cookie is very yummy and super easy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I used the Duncan Hines red velvet cake mix, added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract and 1 cup white chocolate chips to make it more festive for a holiday cookie exchange I attended tonight. After a vote, these cookies were tied for first place. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      wow - super easy - this would be a good one for school - when the kids tell you at 7pm they need a treat for the class the next day. I crushed some candy cane and stuck some pieces on the top before baking - turned out great & gave them a Christmas look. Nice flavour with the chocolate & peppermint too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Fantastic and so easy! I made these for a christmas cookie exchange and put a hershy candycane kiss in the middle of each one when they were hot out of the oven. Big hit with my family not many left for the exchange, will definitely be making more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Made these with Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake mix and rolled in granulated sugar. Fresh out of the oven they tasted just the same as Archway's Dutch Cocoa cookies which I loved as a kid... I'd know too since my mom worked at the factory for 20+ years. I'm probably gonna under cook them towards 8 minutes even when they still look sorta gooey...got a little too crunchy after sitting! But very yummy~thanks for an easy treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      These are amazing and sooooo easy!!!! I made them with granulated sugar, Duncan Hines Devils Food cake mix, and followed the tip for letting the cookies dry out a little and they turned out awesome---like the fudgiest, most chocolatey brownie you ever had, but in cookie format. Generally I share my baking with my coworkers, but my fiance and I gobbled these up in two days. I can't wait to try this with other mixes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I made these for a Red Hats Christas party and was embarrassed that someone else had made them too - from scratch and they were soooo much better than mine. I did add the vanilla. The flavor wasn't the problem, the fact was that they were way small, and a dull grayish brown, not rich and fudgy looking like the ones made from scratch. Think I'll go back to the old fashioned way. Somethings just don't do well to take short cuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Wow these are good! I don't buy cake mix so I didn't have any on hand or any other sweets either when DH said he wanted something sweet, we were celebrating his earning his martial arts black belt today so I decided to make him some cookies and I'd been wanting to try this recipe. Well I made my own "cake mix" from the Hershey's chocolate cake recipe and stopped at the dry ingredients, then continued with the rest of this recipe. On top of making that substitution I only made half a batch so it took me a little longer cause of all the ingredients I had to mix plus cutting down ingredient portions. I used canola oil instead of vegetable, and let them rest a few minutes after rolling before dipping in sugar as suggested, once a little dry I dipped them first in Bakers sugar, then in confectioners sugar - this kept it from absorbing all the pretty confectioners sugar, so they turned out beautiful as well as delicious! Bake time was exactly 8 minutes for me on a cookie sheet covered by parchment paper. Thank you for a gem of a recipe - EXCELLENT! Even with all those alterations and potentials for failure - they are DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)

    Serving Size: 1 (727 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    54%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 147.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes