Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)

    Average Rating:

    649 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 649

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2002

      I have always had trouble making the usual Chocolate Crinkles - they always turned out crunchy! These are so easy - I have made them three times for Christmas already and will probably make more today. I do chill the dough which makes them a little easier to work with. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      A super easy and fast recipe. I had a bit of trouble getting the cookies to "set" -- a few passes back through the oven did the trick. I recommend a beginning bake time of no less than 12 minutes. Also, really dredge the cookie balls in the sugar ... much is absorbed during baking, which leaves the cookies with only a minimum of white powdered coating. I plan on decreasing the oil to 1/4 cup to see if this helps stop the powdered sugar from "disappearing."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      I had to re-review this simply because I tried the same recipe using STRAWBERRY cake mix and wanted to tell y'all about it. I increased the oil to 3/4 cup because even though I LOVED the chocolate ones, I ended up overcoooking them by just a couple minutes and when they cooled, they were very hard. So I wanted to ensure that even if I overcook them again by accident, that I'll still end up with a soft, chewy cookie. This worked wonderfully with 3/4 cup oil!~!! Sent a batch of the strawberry ones to hubby's work and everyone asked how in the world strawberry cookies can be made? They'd never heard of them and LOVED 'em!! Karen, this will be my ALL TIME FAVORITE cookie recipe for the rest of my life!~ 10 stars at least! Karen, you're awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      Karen, these were AWESOME! I have three words for anyone thinking of making these: QUICK, EASY, DELICIOUS! I only wish I had made a double batch of these! You can bet next time I will! BTW, these were for my Christmas goody trays, and everyone loved them, especially my husband, who would rather not have parted with them...but you know, Christmas, better to give than to receive, all that.:) Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Awesome; just adding a tip that I learned from Julie VanRosendall: for the chewiest cookies (with any recipe) it's more about not overMIXING than it is about not over cooking. Of course, overcooking them doesn't help... but they may end up too doughy if you undercook. Basically... after you combine the wet and dry ingredients, only mix until the dough comes together or else the flour/gluten gets overworked and becomes tough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      Yummy! Made these for Christmas using a Red Velvet (Duncan Hines) cake mix. Excellent. The dough is tough to mix; I used my hands and it worked very well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      These were wonderful! So easy and so fudgy! My kids loved them. They formed perfect circles and held their shape so nicely, they looked like a professional made them. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I took these to a party and I couldn't believe how fast they were all eaten! I used yellow cake mix and a half a bag of mini chocolate chips and rolled in powdered sugar. I got about 35 cookies in the first batch and close to 60 in the second batch (I think I made them smaller) Kids and Adults loved them! Thanks for the recipe!!

      UPDATE: I made these with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce to cut down on the fat and calories and they are delicious. They are a bit more "fluffy" but hey, at 51 calories and 0.75 gm fat per cookie, I can deal with that! They are delicious and I can now eat guilt free (unless I eat them all!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      Oh these are GOOD, GOOD, GOOD! I added 1/2 a bag of semi sweet choc chips to these and they just melt in your mouth. These look as well as they taste. TY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      It couldn't get any simpler than this!! I was munching on them in no time at all!! Extremely chocolatieeee and a great fix when I was having a major craving...totally hit the spot. I just made them yesterday, and I have gone and bought more devil's food cake mix to make more of these...two boxes actually, just so that I can double the batch...and they look so so so professional!! If you are looking for something quick, but looks great with very little effort...this is the one for you!!! Try it, you won't regret it. 5 +++ stars for taste, presentation and ease!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      WARNING--THESE COOKIES ARE ADDICTIVE! I made exactly as specified, except I wound up with 58 cookies, baking for 9 minutes they were PERFECT! Not too sweet, or heavy, but decadent just the same. Thanks for a great recipe that I can make anytime. And darn you because I'll be making it often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Funny cookie story time... I made 5 different kinds of cookies for my Christmas baking this year, many more complicated recipes, lots of expensive ingredients.. made these last, as sort of an afterthought, was just curious about them. Hands down our favorite cookie! Can't get over it! Going to make more batches, adding peanut butter chips, then using the strawberry cake mix and white chocolate chips. The possibilities boggle the brain! But just as written, they are delicious! (I rolled the balls in granulated sugar) Thanks SOO much for posting this recipe! Update: I made them with the peanut butter chips, and they were awesome, but when I made the strawberry with the white chocolate chips.. well my daughter almost cried! She said they were the best cookies EVER! (2 of her favorite things) A total hit with all who have tried them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      **NOTE**
      Dec, 2012
      Following are the adjusted ingredient amounts from the Betty Crocker website (http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/fudge-crinkles/9b11c0b4-37d5-45ed-b417-a218792ebc35) for the new smaller (15.25 oz) size box of cake mix.

      1 (15.25 oz) box Betty Crocker? SuperMoist? devil's food cake mix
      1/3 cup vegetable oil
      2 eggs
      1 teaspoon vanilla
      Powdered sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      What a fun and easy recipe to do with my toddler. I cracked the eggs and oil into containers, and he poured and mixed. He loves to help in the kitchen, and kept saying "made it" every time he ate a cookie. Thanks KAREN.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      When I made these the chocolate ones were disappearing so fast I decided to make more right then and there. I had a french vanilla cake mix so I made them with it, and rolled them in coconut and a little sugar. EXCELLENT! Both variations didn't last long (our friends were over watching football with my husband, they would clean a plate full and ask when the next would be ready! lol) VERY easy too! ~Lana~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      I made these tonight with a Moist Pillsbury strawberry cake mix and half a bag of white chocolate chips. I did not roll them in sugar at all. They were AMAZING!!! Some people posted that they were too "cake like" but I think they were over mixing the dough. I could not tell that these were made from a cake mix at all. Next time I think I will try a spice cake mix with raisins. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      OK, all I can say is Mmmmmmmm and EASY! They are still baking and I keep eating them as they come out of the oven. My 17 year old taste tester says "Pretty good Mom". This is a compliment! Of course he keeps eating them too. Instead of oil, I used unsweetened applesauce. I try to do this as much as possible to cut down the fat. They still turned out great and very soft & chewy. I'm thinking that spice cake with applesauce in place of the oil would make a very good applesauce spice cookie. That's next on my list. These will be my cookies of choice for bake sales from now on since I always wait until the last minute to make things. Thank you so much for this recipe. It's definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      We make these at work but use brownie mix for them and just subtract a cup of water out of the mix. We use foodservice box size mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I have been making cake mix cookies ever since I was a little girl...so easy to make with endless possibilities. ~ I loved the idea of rolling white cake mix cookies in coconut! My daughters and I made these the other day. Yummy! ~Try substituting a 1/2 softened margarine (or for a crisper cookie, butter) in place of the oil for even more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      I made these to bring to work the other day, and they actually caused a "traffic jam" in the break area! I doubled the recipe, ended up with just shy of 5 dozen cookies. I also added a bag of Skor bits to the mix (because I add those to just about every cookie I make). Great recipe for those hour-before-bedtime, "Mom, I volunteered you to make cookies for the party tomorrow" occasions, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fudge Crinkles (A Great 4 Ingredient Cake Mix Cookie)

    Serving Size: 1 (727 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    54%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 147.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes