27 Reviews

I really liked this recipe. I tried it with a carob substitution for the unsweetened chocolate and it is difficult to tell the difference. Substitute 6 tablespoons of carob powder, 6 tablespoons of Roma coffee substitute and 4 tablespoons of water. The texture, taste and appearance were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwilliams September 03, 2007

Now THESE are some good brownies. These were absolutely 100% perfect. Sigh... yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX August 31, 2007

This recipe turned out very well, but there was a lot of batter. I had to use two pans for it. It was so good, we ate a whole pan in like, two hours. I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, so I used chocolate chips as another person said, and about 3/4 a cup of hot fudge sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The lurvley cook : ) July 08, 2007

These brownies are outstanding! Moist, fudgey and wonderful. Thanks for a rich and delicious dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bwilliams March 26, 2007

This recipe makes the perfect brownie for me: super-dense, fudgy and incredibly moist. It is also a very accommodating recipe, as I had to make two substitutions and it still made my friends moan with delight and roll their eyes heavenward while eating them. When melting the butter, I added a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of unsweetened chocolate. Since I was out of granulated sugar, I used one cup of light brown sugar and two cups of 10x sugar. One reviewer was correct about the large quantity, though. I placed my batter in a 9 x 13 glass pan and still had inch-thick fudgy brownies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meccatx February 15, 2007

I actually made these in an 8 inch round pans and then put a sweetened whipping cream in between and on top. It is really rich this way so a little slice is all you would need, but it was so good I had people ask me if they could buy them from me. This one is a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee February 02, 2007

EXCELLENT BROWNIES!!! I wasn't even looking for a brownie recipe when I stumbled across this!! With all the positive ratings I HAD to make them myself! I am so glad I did! This is going in my recipe file for sure!! Thanks Dancer^!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommiBadami December 19, 2006

Texture was all wrong for me. Perhaps my mixing was not properly done. Thank's all the same though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids November 02, 2006

These are the best brownies I've ever had I believe! I made half with and half without nuts. These are so good, I liked the without nuts the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriH October 30, 2006

Unfortunaly I didn't take Violet1no's advice, and used a 9" square pan. BIG mistake. Brownie was wayyyy too thick. Definatly use 9X13 pan for this recipe. Great tasting though; I will try again using bigger pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kearl January 23, 2006
Fudge Brownies