16 Reviews

These are great. Very healthy and delicious. I made them with half a cup of walnuts and half a cup of almond meal, 2 cups of dates and 2 table spoons of cocoa powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 November 02, 2013

Absolutely wonderful, at least the 1st version is ~ I figured I couldn't go wrong with a combo like nuts & dates & chocolate! They definitely make for a great chocolate fix, & these "babies" will be made more than once again in my kitchen before the end of the year, & I look forward to adding some of them to my holiday gift bags! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 11, 2010

Delicious! I added some cardamom and frozen orange juice concentrate (for flavouring) and used Brazil nuts instead of walnuts; I also didn't bother measuring the ingredient, just eyeballed it, and they turned out great - though a little too sweet to my liking. Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie September 02, 2010

Very fudgy! I made using medjool dates so my mixture was a little drier than if I had used packaged dates with sugar added. But easily fixed by adding 2 teaspoons water. I used pecans and 4 T cocoa powder. The mixture smelled like brownies....yum! A nice healthy alternative. I made about 2 dozen balls (approx. 3/4-inch diameter). Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms July 09, 2010

Extremely delicious and totally addictive--my DH and I fell madly in love with these little "babies"!! I made a quarter of the original servings, and got 4 truffle-size Fudge Babies; 2 for each of us. Plus, I used pecans, carob powder (1 Tbsp), and a tiny drizzle of raw honey (the dates I used were a bit dry)--and all of that worked great. These would be perfect for the holidays...but who can wait until then?! :) Thanks so much for posting, Boomette!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal April 29, 2010

Although this recipe itself is great, I'm even more excited about the variation possibilities for making snacks a la Larabar. I've only ever had one or two of them before, but thought at each time that it should be possible to make something so simple at home. I also think the ball/small bite format is better than a bar of something. I'm surprised they haven't come out with Larabites, actually. So I made these with almonds because they're what I had around, used only 1 cup of dates (all I had, and I like chocolate less sweet), and 4 T cocoa. I think a slightly higher date to nut ratio is needed than the 1:1 that I ended up with, but I was still able to get these to stick together in balls, although at first I thought I'd have to add some liquid. I am looking forward to trying dates/ cherries/ pecans and maybe dates/ apples/ raisins/ cinnamon/ pecans and all kinds of others. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville March 13, 2010

Yummy, these taste soooooo amazing. Have been "Eating Clean" and wanted a little treat these fit the bill perfectly! Thanks for a delicious treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic March 09, 2010

These are great when you need a treat. I made these exactly as written. I gave these to my teenagers and even they liked them. They are easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada March 08, 2010

I was about to start typing "these are dangerously good," but what's dangerous? The walnuts are full of Omega-3 fatty acids. The cocoa powder is full of antioxidants. And the dates are packed with fiber and potassium. They are super delicious - just like brownie batter! Thank you so much for posting! I can't wait to try the variations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway March 06, 2010

These are UNbelievable! I have made these 3 times now -- the last at the request of my husband who can't stop popping these yummy treats! Not only do they taste fabulous, I feel much better about eating them since they're actually good for you. Thanks so so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodlookin' Cookin' March 02, 2010
Fudge Babies