Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fudge Babies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fudge Babies

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2013

      These are great. Very healthy and delicious. I made them with half a cup of walnuts and half a cup of almond meal, 2 cups of dates and 2 table spoons of cocoa powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful, at least the 1st version is ~ I figured I couldn't go wrong with a combo like nuts & dates & chocolate! They definitely make for a great chocolate fix, & these "babies" will be made more than once again in my kitchen before the end of the year, & I look forward to adding some of them to my holiday gift bags! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Delicious! I added some cardamom and frozen orange juice concentrate (for flavouring) and used Brazil nuts instead of walnuts; I also didn't bother measuring the ingredient, just eyeballed it, and they turned out great - though a little too sweet to my liking. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Very fudgy! I made using medjool dates so my mixture was a little drier than if I had used packaged dates with sugar added. But easily fixed by adding 2 teaspoons water. I used pecans and 4 T cocoa powder. The mixture smelled like brownies....yum! A nice healthy alternative. I made about 2 dozen balls (approx. 3/4-inch diameter). Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Extremely delicious and totally addictive--my DH and I fell madly in love with these little "babies"!! I made a quarter of the original servings, and got 4 truffle-size Fudge Babies; 2 for each of us. Plus, I used pecans, carob powder (1 Tbsp), and a tiny drizzle of raw honey (the dates I used were a bit dry)--and all of that worked great. These would be perfect for the holidays...but who can wait until then?! :) Thanks so much for posting, Boomette!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Although this recipe itself is great, I'm even more excited about the variation possibilities for making snacks a la Larabar. I've only ever had one or two of them before, but thought at each time that it should be possible to make something so simple at home. I also think the ball/small bite format is better than a bar of something. I'm surprised they haven't come out with Larabites, actually. So I made these with almonds because they're what I had around, used only 1 cup of dates (all I had, and I like chocolate less sweet), and 4 T cocoa. I think a slightly higher date to nut ratio is needed than the 1:1 that I ended up with, but I was still able to get these to stick together in balls, although at first I thought I'd have to add some liquid. I am looking forward to trying dates/ cherries/ pecans and maybe dates/ apples/ raisins/ cinnamon/ pecans and all kinds of others. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Yummy, these taste soooooo amazing. Have been "Eating Clean" and wanted a little treat these fit the bill perfectly! Thanks for a delicious treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      These are great when you need a treat. I made these exactly as written. I gave these to my teenagers and even they liked them. They are easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I was about to start typing "these are dangerously good," but what's dangerous? The walnuts are full of Omega-3 fatty acids. The cocoa powder is full of antioxidants. And the dates are packed with fiber and potassium. They are super delicious - just like brownie batter! Thank you so much for posting! I can't wait to try the variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      These are UNbelievable! I have made these 3 times now -- the last at the request of my husband who can't stop popping these yummy treats! Not only do they taste fabulous, I feel much better about eating them since they're actually good for you. Thanks so so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      These are grand! The texture is so chewy and satisying, I couldn't stop eating them. I followed CoffeeG's advice and froze them. They didn't last a day in our house, between my 4-year old and myself. I'm concerned with the glycemic index of everything I eat, and I think these are a perfectly acceptable treat. The fat from the nuts offsets the date sugar. And I even found a study that claims dates are generally a low-GI food. So HURRAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Ready for a shock DS who can be finicky asked if he could have some of these tasty little bites to take home. Made the original version as written. Thought they were better the next day. Am looking forward to trying the Cashew version. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Very easy and fantastic recipe, except we couldn't stop eating these. So I had to make another batch. Hopefully these will last. I made the original version. Plan to make more soon. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I did the original version of these and I must say they are excellent. I can see where the nuts, raisins and/or coconut would also be wonderful. So easy, simple and practically guilt-free. I keep mine in the freezer to popout whenever as they really don't freeze completely thru. MMMmmmm. Made for TYM tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I love that they are made from healthy ingredients but also taste awesome. My 14 year old son loved them, too. He couldn't believe there was no sugar added. I accidently used almond extract instead of vanilla. But I would like to try vanilla or other extracts, too. I plan to make alot of these for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      OK, Boomette - HOW DO I STOP EATING THESE??????? They are delicious, nothing that will spoil (like they would be around long enough to spoil - HA) AND healthy. THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fudge Babies

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.9
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    48%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites