Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fruity Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fruity Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2009

      This is an excellent sandwich! The BF doesn't even like anything apricot, and he thought it was delicious too. I made it with Smucker's apricot spread and brick cheese. Puts a whole new spin on plain old grilled cheese, especially for the summertime! Next time I may try muenster cheese with raspberry preserves and cheddar with strawberry spread, though it'll be hard to venture away from this combo. Maybe monterey jack with blackberry...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      OUTSTANDING SANDWICH, REALLY OUTSTANDING! Made the recipe exactly as written (well, I doubled it, for 2 of us!) & this sandwich is amazingly satisfying! What I'd like to do another time is to have an assortment of preserves on the counter along with a number of different cheeses, so that guests can decide their own combo before the grilling is done ~ Sort of like a salad bar where you get to pick & choose what goes in! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Potluck tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      What a great grilled cheese twist. I had it for breakfast today! I used fresh mozzarella which was very mild, but also very creamy, it made for a very yummy sandwhich. The combination of the apricot preserves and cheese was very good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This was SO good, could not believe how tasty. I used provolone on Alvarado Street Bakery 100% Whole Grain Bread with Dickinson's Pure Patterson Apricot preserves - JUST AWESOME :) Thanks Toni for the great sandwich idea. I'll be trying different combos in the future. Made for Potluck Tag, Dec 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      So wrong but so right! I used reduced fat mozzarella and sugar free apricot preserves to make it a little less sinful. It tasted heavenly though and I am sure a load of different flavors of preserves would work well with it. Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      What a simple and simply delicious idea! I loved this sandwich - it reminded me of a Monte Cristo sandwich but without the guilt! I used Italian bread and made it with provolone and strawberry preserves. I think that pepper-jack with peach preserves and cheddar with apple butter would also be great. Looking forward to trying differend combos...thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Oh *YUM* what a treat! I made mine with whole wheat oatnut bread, veggie _cheese_ slices and mango jam. My belly couldn't decide - is this lunch or dessert? ;-) Thanks for sharing such a terrific idea! No more boring cardboard sandwiches for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Really, almost any combo of bread, cheese and jam/preserves will work. I saw an episode of the "Ham on the Street" TV show on Food Network, and they played Grilled Cheese Lotto. They basically randomly selected a type of bread (white, wheat, rye, sour dough, etc.), a type of cheese (brie, swiss, cheddar, etc..), and a type of jam/preserves (strawberry, hot jalapeno, orange marmalade, etc..) and regardless of the combo they were good. We tried it at home and everyone said it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Yum. I had put my sugar free peach spread on the bread when I realized we were out of mozzarella. Bummer! So I used a slice of low fat cheddar and it was quite tasty. Cooked it in the sandwhich maker and it was lovely. Great concept toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This is a wonderful taste treat. I used reduced fat swiss cheese and low-sugar orange marmalade. For a nice change one could add a slice of ham or smoked turkey breast. I served this for a solo lunch with Tossed Romaine and Orange Salad to complete the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Unusual ingredients but pretty good! Used 1 slice white whole wheat bread (cut in half), sugar free strawberry preserves & 1/2 slice swiss cheese. Will try mozz cheese next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      YUMMMMM. What a great twist on an old favorite. I love the fruit spread with this. I used a strawberry fruit spread and mozzarella cheese and it turned out great. Loved it. I can't wait to try the provolone cheese. Thanks Toni. I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fruity Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.2
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    35%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 27.2 mg
    9%
    Sodium 498.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    apricot fruit spread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites