12 Reviews

This was really tasty and easy too. We decreased the oats to 1 1/2 cups and added in a 1/2 cup of protein powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RussianMama January 22, 2009

These are REALLY tasty. I followed someone's suggestion and combined dry ingredients first and then microwaved the next ingredients (butter, br. sugar, and honey) then later added egg and vanilla. This worked very well. The bars still didn't stick together as well as I would have liked....with just a few crumbles so it's nothing I'd complain about but why I didn't give it 5 stars. But the boys LOVED them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktreeps January 03, 2009

I used the suggestions given already and these bars turned out great! exactly what I was looking for as a quick breakfast, and sooo much better than store-brought... for fruits I used a mixture of raisins, apricots, pineapple and banana, and instead of sunflower seeds I used chopped walnuts, almonds and flax seeds. I didn't have wheat germ so I used flour instead. I overbaked it a bit so it came out more crunchy than chewy, but still very very tasty! For my taste, this is 12 servings and not 18, though. Thanks for a great recipe! Update: These also freeze very well. Also, I tried to add 3 tbsp peanutbutter instead of the oil, salt, cinnamon and vanilla (and if I'd do it again, instead of the honey as well). Heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsavir November 12, 2007

These are excellent! And thank you to all for the comments. I took the advice to microwave the oil, brown sugar, and honey to make it easier to dissolve. Unfortunately I didn't see that until I was ready to make it (meaning I had already completed steps 1-3) so I had to wait around for it to cool. I also used 1/2 cup vanilla whey protein powder and 1.5 cups quick oats (rather than 2 cups quick oats) and they came out great! I love the flavor (enhanced I think by the vanilla protein) and can't wait to use them for fuel before (and during) going running. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev August 18, 2007

Followed the modified directions suggested by Anne - melting the brown sugar oil and honey together before mixing with the dry. This worked extremely well and made these bars easy to put together. I also replaced 1/4 cup of oats with soy protein powder to give my bars a little extra charge. For the dried fruit, I used a combination of golden raisins, apricots and cherries. My bars were very moist and chewy, not at all dry. To evenly pat the batter into the pan, I placed a sheet of waxed paper on top and smoothed it down - no sticky fingers. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni May 01, 2007

My husband and I love the recipe, especially when I substituted cranberries for the raisins. I have made it twice and have some recommendations for improvement. 1. It is impossible to dissolve 1/2 cup of brown sugar in 1 T of melted butter (or oil). To remedy this, I have the following recommendation: (a) Delete step four and insert a new step one. (b) The new step one would be to mix the brown sugar, butter (or oil), and honey in a small pan or microwaveable bowl, and heat the mixture on low heat until a smooth liquid forms (with bubbles on the surface). Set aside to cool. (c) Revise step five to delete the honey, but add the egg and vanilla to the cooled sugar mixture. 2. Recommend emphasizing in step nine that the bars are very fragile when warm, but firm up as they cool. Thus it is important not to remove them from the pan until completely cool. 3. Recommend using safflower oil instead of butter (better nutritional value).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne V May 24, 2004

We loved these.The only changes I made were I decreased the butter to 1/2 tbls and added 1 tbls of natural peanut butter.Also as per other reviewers I added 1/2 cup vanilla protein powder and decreased the oats to 1 1/2 cups.I didn't have wheat germ so I subbed it for Spectrum ground flax seed with mixed berries....Delicious :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilVixen June 01, 2015

made these vegan - sub agave for honey and flax/water for egg. smells fantastic. definitely crumbled on cutting (not horribly). but yummy tastey. will be good over soy yogurt for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kati Black May 02, 2009

Flavor was good, but the bars just crumbled and wouldn't hold together when I cut them into bars. I ended up sprinkling the crumbled bars on top of plain yogurt. It was really good this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra June 18, 2008

I just made these yesterday and was very happy with the result! I followed Anne V's suggestions with the sugar. They were a little crubly but not enough to complain. I used dried cherries and dried bluberries instead of apricots and raisins. I WILL make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Veliquette March 09, 2007
Fruity Granola Energy Bars