12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I soaked the oats in 3cups water and 1cup apple juice on the stovetop overnight and then finished it in 5 minutes the next morning, adding the remaining ingredients. I like chewey fruit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 16, 2008

I really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfectly after 6 hours in my crock pot. I did use my very old one, so a newer one would probably be done in less time. Hubby wasn't terribly impressed, but then he didn't put full fat 1/2 & 1/2 on it, like I did. Yummy, warming, and filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest January 16, 2012

This oatmeal is awesome! We had expected bad weather, and i decided I'd make this for the kids to have something hot and filling before trudging out into the snow. They LOVED it! I couldn't find steel cut oats in my grocery store, so I used regular old fashioned oats. I put everything except the oatmeal into the pot the night before, to let that all simmer together and added the oats in the morning about an hour before waking everyone. it was perfect! I topped each bowl with toasted walnuts, and brown sugar, and to be extra decadent, I poured on just a splash of cream..The only sound I heard as they ate, was "mmmmmmmm"..Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PWatt January 07, 2011

I can't believe I've never rated & reviewed this. This is my go to recipe for oatmeal, and I can't imagine preparing it any other way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BetterOffBread December 08, 2010

I made this recipe last night to serve this morning to a houseful of guests. I followed the directions but I subbed mixed dried berries for the cranberries and raisins and dried apples for the apricots. I used Spenda brown sugar instead of the syrup (b/c I didn't have any). I turned on the crockpot at 11:30pm and checked it when I got up at 7:45am. The oatmeal was very dry (most likely b/c it cooked longer than 6-7 hours) but added about 1/2 c water and it was perfect.... thick, but perfect consistency for adding milk on top. I put out chopped walnuts for folks as well as demara sugar, and milk, for folks to help themselves as they got up. Everyone enjoyed it as did I. While this recipe makes too much for one, I will make this again when I have company... it is SO nice to have breakfast ready when you get up. I like being able to sit and talk with folks rather than slave in the kitchen preparing breakfast all morning! The only thing I will change next time is to add a little more water at the start and double the cinnamon (we LOVE cinnamon!). Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe... definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna December 31, 2007

This is a really good recipe. I substituted brown sugar for the maple syrup because that is what I had on hand and I added chopped up granny smith apples as recommended by another reviewer. It took five hours in my slow cooker but that is probably because it is a six quart one and so it was just under half full. Luckily, I had anticipated this and only programmed it for that long. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay September 16, 2007

Easy and delicious. Mine was ready to eat in 4 hours. I added 2 chopped granny smith apples. Thanks for another great recipe Nurse Di!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in Texas June 08, 2007

This was sooo and comforting! How easy is it to put everything in a slow cooker and go to bed!! I had never had steel cut oats before but it will be really hard to go back to instant. I used 1/2 cup of golden raisins and 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and in place of the apple juice I used apple berry juice! Great recipe NurseDi!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacy S. June 03, 2007

i make this every saturday night for a hot flavorful sunday morning breakfast. i have tried all types of dried fruits, but apple and golden raisin is my favorite. thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somemome September 10, 2005
Fruited Irish Oatmeal