Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fruited Irish Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fruited Irish Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2008

      I soaked the oats in 3cups water and 1cup apple juice on the stovetop overnight and then finished it in 5 minutes the next morning, adding the remaining ingredients. I like chewey fruit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfectly after 6 hours in my crock pot. I did use my very old one, so a newer one would probably be done in less time. Hubby wasn't terribly impressed, but then he didn't put full fat 1/2 & 1/2 on it, like I did. Yummy, warming, and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This oatmeal is awesome! We had expected bad weather, and i decided I'd make this for the kids to have something hot and filling before trudging out into the snow. They LOVED it! I couldn't find steel cut oats in my grocery store, so I used regular old fashioned oats. I put everything except the oatmeal into the pot the night before, to let that all simmer together and added the oats in the morning about an hour before waking everyone. it was perfect! I topped each bowl with toasted walnuts, and brown sugar, and to be extra decadent, I poured on just a splash of cream..The only sound I heard as they ate, was "mmmmmmmm"..Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I can't believe I've never rated & reviewed this. This is my go to recipe for oatmeal, and I can't imagine preparing it any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I made this recipe last night to serve this morning to a houseful of guests. I followed the directions but I subbed mixed dried berries for the cranberries and raisins and dried apples for the apricots. I used Spenda brown sugar instead of the syrup (b/c I didn't have any). I turned on the crockpot at 11:30pm and checked it when I got up at 7:45am. The oatmeal was very dry (most likely b/c it cooked longer than 6-7 hours) but added about 1/2 c water and it was perfect.... thick, but perfect consistency for adding milk on top. I put out chopped walnuts for folks as well as demara sugar, and milk, for folks to help themselves as they got up. Everyone enjoyed it as did I. While this recipe makes too much for one, I will make this again when I have company... it is SO nice to have breakfast ready when you get up. I like being able to sit and talk with folks rather than slave in the kitchen preparing breakfast all morning! The only thing I will change next time is to add a little more water at the start and double the cinnamon (we LOVE cinnamon!). Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe... definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

    • on September 16, 2007

      This is a really good recipe. I substituted brown sugar for the maple syrup because that is what I had on hand and I added chopped up granny smith apples as recommended by another reviewer. It took five hours in my slow cooker but that is probably because it is a six quart one and so it was just under half full. Luckily, I had anticipated this and only programmed it for that long. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Easy and delicious. Mine was ready to eat in 4 hours. I added 2 chopped granny smith apples. Thanks for another great recipe Nurse Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This was sooo and comforting! How easy is it to put everything in a slow cooker and go to bed!! I had never had steel cut oats before but it will be really hard to go back to instant. I used 1/2 cup of golden raisins and 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and in place of the apple juice I used apple berry juice! Great recipe NurseDi!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      i make this every saturday night for a hot flavorful sunday morning breakfast. i have tried all types of dried fruits, but apple and golden raisin is my favorite. thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2004

      I love Irish Oatmeal and make it every Sunday on the stovetop. But I decided I wanted to try and overnight version of it since making it on the stovetop takes over half and hour. And this is ready to go when you get up in the morning. This is a fantastic, versatile recipe. I love the addition of apple juice, and in fact did a 4/2 ratio of water to juice. I did not have dried apricots or golden raisins, so I just used the dried cranberries and regular raisins. Next time I try this, I will do finely chopped apples or maybe dried cherries or dates. Top this with a couple tablespoons of buttermilk and some additional cinnamon and brown sugar and you can't beat this! Steel-cut oats are DEFINITELY the way to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      I made this last night before going to bed for DH in the morning. It goes together so easily. I thought I had apricots, but did not so I subbed dried pears, and DH does not like cranberries so I used dried cherries. DH said the flavor was fantastic, but wanted me to let everyone know that is VERY filling and a very thick oatmeal. The only thing I would suggest is to spray your crockpot with Pam for easier cleaning! I was asked to make it again another time so it is a KEEPER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fruited Irish Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    11%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 136.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes