Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fruit Fly/Gnat Trap Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fruit Fly/Gnat Trap

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2009

      Folks, I purchased some fresh fruit the other day. About two days later, I started seeing gnat looking things all over the place. Mostly near the fruit, kitchen sink, and pantry trash container which are all within a 6' radius. I read this "Fruit Fly / Gnat Trap post, went to the store and purchase the Apple cider vinegar, came home, built the trap and within 10 minutes, these gnat things were dying to get in and dying once inside. It's been about 1.5 hours since placing the trap and I'm guessing there are 50 dead gnats in the mixture and many more hanging out on the paper funnel. Works Perfectly!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This worked great! We had a MAJOR problem with fruit flies and this took care of it very quickly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      WOW!!!! Within one minute of placing the funnel in the jar and walking away, I had captured and killed TWO gnats! Within five minutes I was up to SIX!!! This stuff is amazing!!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!! I was dreading getting that nasty fly tape and hanging it around the kitchen. Ugh!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      A

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I started using this last year, and forgot to review it. I just set out the soap and vinegar in a small bowl no paper, and it fills up fast with those pesky little buggers. This is great, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      It couldn't be easier to make, and it works every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Thank you for saving us from those pesky flying critters! Works like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I've also been using this method for years. Within one hour you can see results. Instead of using white paper, I have always used plastic wrap rubberbanded tight covering the top of glass or jar. the poke pencil round holes in it. The flys crawl in but can't get out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I've been using this for several years, but don't use the white paper funnel. The little critters find the apple cider vinegar and dish soap without it. This recipe works great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      We had a pretty bad fruit fly problem. I tried this out and a huge group of fruit flies started swarming on the jar/funnel right away. It worked really well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Sorry, this didn't work for me. I had done a test where I had apple cider vinegar out in a jar and used my method of a jar with fruit peel covered with plastic wrap with a small hole cut in the plastic. I had some fruit flies flying around and they got caught in my trap. So I think I am going to stay with my version!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      So glad I found this. Fruit flies drive me crazy in the summer and this really works! I buy those cheap plastic sandwich containers and cover them with saran wrap (instead of making the paper cone) and put a rubber band around the rim to hold the saran wrap in place. I poke small holes in the top and they all go in there. I also usually add a splash of fruit juice to the mixture. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Update - Jan 09 - I find it easier to cover the jar with Saran Wrap and poke a few small holes in it with a wooden shisk kebab stick. The little flies still find their way in easily. Thank you - those fruit flies were making me wacky! I had a bit of trouble getting the funnel made to fit correctly but the review by BethHallKelley helped me out. Took a few hours to get them all but they seem to be gone. Thx.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This really works! We were out of cider vinegar so I used beer with the dish soap in my trap. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Worked like a charm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Right now I have tomatoes, pears and squash sitting on my table in abundance. The fruit flys were seeming to multiply faster than we could eat the fruit. I can here as I had seen this recipe. I also say Thank You!. I didn't use a piece of paper though, I used a paper coffee filter and just cut a small piece out of the bottom corner. Worked perfectly! The flies fly in and don't fly back out :) I keep this sitting on the table next to the fruit. At first I thought it wasn't working, but I used bragg's apple cider vinegar which is cloudy, so I had to look on the bottom and there they were. Pesky buggers were enjoying a nice pickling bath. Thank you anonymous23 for posting this successful recipe. Shirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Thank you!! This worked awesome, got all those little pests in less than a day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Works GREAT!!!! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Worked like a champ for me! Made as directed. I trapped a ton of those nasty things. The best recipe I've found. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I made two of these for our ice cream parlor, as we were having a fruit fly problem because of all the bananas and fruit topping we have there. I didn't want to call the exterminator because I didn't want them spraying chemicals around our food and food counters. The very first day each trap had about a HUNDRED fruit flies dead at the bottom! I didn't even think we had anywhere near that many in our shop...don't know where the little buggers were hiding, but they're dead now! I used clear plastic quart containers and white cone coffee filters. I snipped a "v" out of the bottom of each cone that made about a 3/4" hole when the filter was opened. I used double faced tape to attach the filter to the inside of the containers. Thanks for posting this...it worked miracles!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fruit Fly/Gnat Trap

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 9.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid dish soap

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites