14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone loved itwhen I took it to work and wanted the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leggsxx7 August 19, 2002

Great Recipe---My kids love it and I give them each turns picking the filling. We h ave used strawberrys and cherry's so far--next time is blueberry---------

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gerald markee April 02, 2002

Wow! Just what I was looking for! The cake and filling stay elegantly separate while cooking. We used a 9x13" pan, 1 quart homemade pippin apple filling, topped with crumb topping before baking, then drizzled powdered sugar icing after cake cooled. Rave home reviews! (The real test will be how it tastes leftover tomorrow a.m. for breakfast! :-) Doubtless a winner still!) Would also be good if icing omitted and served with tiny pot of heavy cream to pour. Crumb topping: 2/3 cup flour 2/3 cup brown sugar 2/3 cup finely chopped walnuts 6 tablespoons butter Blend first three, then cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara Watts August 22, 2008

This was an easy to create treat. My first one didn't turn out so good. I used a square 8x8 pan and it didn't cook. Second one i used a quarter sheet pan and it baked to perfection. It wasn't to sweet and plenty moist. I'll be making this one over and over again. Thanks for this delicious and easy recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2DobeMom May 01, 2010

Here in Australia there is no "pie filling" so I made my own - mixed berry. I didn't realise how un cake like the batter would be, more like a biscuit or cookie consistancy. A great recipe, albeit a bit dry (it needs a glaze or melted butter on top). I made as written but did sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on top just prior to baking. My DH took what was left to work today and came home with an empty container. I will make again as the family enjoyed it, thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom August 07, 2013

Came out fine and the appearance was pretty, but something was missing. It could have been my choice of blueberry pie filling (plus 1 cup of fresh blueberries) that made me feel something more was needed to compliment the fruit. Maybe if I added slivered almonds that would have helped. I was expecting the cake part to be more of a sweet roll dough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( June 06, 2013

I have this recipe and was just going to post it (am in process of getting ALL my recipes onto RecipeZaar), but decided to search for it instead. It's a winner, and I appreciate not having to post it myself. However, my version only uses 1-1/2 c sugar, and I think that's probably more than enough with the sweetness of the pie filling. My version also suggests that you top it with a basic powdered sugar glaze, which gives a very finished, professional look if you want to impress people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccferne April 25, 2008

Very good with cherry pie filling. I like a lot of filling so I used two cans, probably 1 1/2 would have been better. I toasted some almond slivers and put on top before I drizzled it with powdered sugar icing. It disappeared quickly at my meeting today. I would make it again for a party. Makes a large pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Lynn February 08, 2015

I made this recipe today to take to a potluck tonight. I followed directions explicitly and am an experienced cook. What a goopy disgusting mess this turned out to be. I changed pans, changed to parchment paper, did everything I could think of and then ended up throwing it all away. Waste of ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shellie P. December 09, 2014

I found the batter to be so thick that it made it difficult to spread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icandoit185 October 03, 2013
Fruit Filled Coffee Cake