Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fruit Cocktail Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      Wonderful!! This is sweet, moist, tastes great! We loved the topping! This was a very easy recipe to make. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      This was very good and easy to make. It was a nice change to the usual dessert cakes. Very light and refreshing. I served it with a little vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2001

      This was something really eye-catching, I was attracted to it's name and tried it today. I added 2 tsps. mango essence, 3/4 tsp. pineapple essence and 1 tsp. banana essence also in addition to the other listed ingredients. Its - A REAL NICE CAKE WITH AN EVEN LOVELIER NAME:) It tastes equally as good as it sounds and has been fun making it. Thank You for sharing it:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2001

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I had been looking for it. This was the first cake that I had ever baked and I baked one this one a lot when I was a teenager because it was so easy and everyone loved it. Mom lost the recipe, so thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      My DH thanks you a bunch, Mirj. This is a cake his Mother made him...uhmmmm...shall we say many, many years ago. She passed away and I didn't get the recipe from her. The cake is very moist, and very easy to make. I thank you, 'cause I finally made DH smile and was able to serve up lots of memories. Very good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Easy, and you do have everything you need in the cupboard. A bit too wet of a consistancy for us, and very, very sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      I thought this was just ok while hubby liked it. It was easy to make and nice and moist but just nothing great. It's worth making because it is good, I just probably won't make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      A wonderful recipe Mirj. Tastes better the next day once the cake absorbs the icing. Very easy to make! This will be a regular at home! Thanks a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Loved the name of the cake and there is always a can of Fruit Cocktail lurking in the pantry. However, this didn't make quite a hit in my household. Had cut back on sugar in cake part and butter in icing; the cake was still very moist and sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      Wonderful, wonderful! I have made this for years for my children. My fruit cocktail was 15 oz. and I used evaporated milk in the icing. My son and I like this cake best out of the refrigerator. Quick and easy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This is a great quick cake! Had family over and prepared this in a manner of minutes! Used low-fat milk. Baked for 30 minutes. Came out moist and delish! Thanks Mirj! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I have such a long story about making this cake. It is one my aunt used to make all the time, and I tried to recreate it, with flour that my roommate had used to shake in a bag with fish...then put the leftovers back in the cannister. I thought the cake had smelled and tasted funny, but she found it OK. Served it at a party. Turned out to be the best practical joke ever....only people were running to the balcony to spit it out. This one is much better...Minus the fish flour of course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Made this with our seniors at work and it was a big hit. Used rum extract instead of vanilla because that is what we had and it was awesome. Thanks for sharing Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I have been looking for a recipe like this for umpteen years.Thanks a million,just what I was looking for.I make this at least twice a week for my D>H>who loves it.jackie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      We've made this cake in my family for years as well. We like it with coconut in the frosting and a shot of vanilla in the cake batter. The boiled frosting especially nice since I almost always forget confectioner's sugar at the market and don't always feel like running out in the Sacramento heat to buy more. This is made with things I always have on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      My mother has made this cake for many years. Sometimes she sprinkles crushed pecans on top after icing. This cake is always good, never flops and is especially reminiscent of autumn. Warm & Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      sorry but was a faliure in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This was awesome!! I cooked this for a little less than 30 minutes and it was very brown! Other than that it was wonderful! The kids loved it! This is a definate keeper for our family! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      I really liked this. Not sure if it's due to altitude, but my cake browned FAST, so I took it out at 20 minutes. I think I will use something like whipped cream on top to lighten it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I love short recipes with simple ingredients. I halved the sugar and topped it with cool whip. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fruit Cocktail Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.5
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    26%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 57.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 378.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit cocktail-juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes