41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delish! I had to buy caraway seed, as it isn't something I normally use, and I'm glad I did. A definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crochet Mama December 18, 2010

I have had this before but without the caraway seed and sour cream. Enjoyed the sour cream but the caraway seed had a strong flavor that didnt work well for me. For folks that arent sure if they like caraway seed start with !/2 teaspoon or less and add more if needed. Nice comfort food and inexpensive! Thank you Laudee for posting this recipe. Made and reviewed for The Secret Ingredient tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 April 03, 2009

When my BIL asked for noodles and cabbage, this is the one I selected. He says "Thumbs up!". The next time he asked for soul food, this is what he will get.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter November 05, 2003

GREAT RECIPE, My husband really enjoyed it. I did fry the noodles in a seperate pan, then added them to the cabbage that I had prepared. My husband loves just plain fried noodles. The onion and caraway seed gives it a nice flavor.Thank you for posting the recipe I will be making this again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz October 12, 2002

Nice touch with the caraway seeds...never tried that before, caraway seeds gave it a bit more 'depth'. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueski December 18, 2014

Wonderful recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
854567 December 02, 2009

I used pre-shredded coleslaw mix, omitted the caraway seed, added chopped garlic, and cooked the onions and cabbage until it was all caramelized. I also used olive oil instead of butter. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed the meal! We topped our plates with extra sour cream and some grated Asiago cheese. Pretty cheap, quick and YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel November 24, 2009

This is one of my favorite comfort foods! Late Fall & early Spring when the weather is cool and cabbage is at it's peak, I make this almost once a week. This time I paired it with kindcooks Delicious Homemade Egg Noodles & it was (((AMAZING)))!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceres Secrets November 01, 2009

Very delish and easy vegetarian dish. I cut the cabbage into thin strips and cook a little longer on med-low to get some pieces caramelized. I also add a dash of paprika and red pepper flakes. It tastes good with a sprinkling of parm. cheese if you're feeling decadent. : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doleful September 13, 2009

This recipe is as simple as it gets. It was quick, cheap, and tasted good! I didn't make it with sour cream, but will try it again with some. I am sure it will be better yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mr_capatosta August 18, 2009
Frugal Gourmet's Polish Noodles and Cabbage