11 Reviews

this is excellent...have made it several times now... due to lack of ingredients in my pantry and patience,I did substitute 2tsp of unsweetened baking cocoa and 2tsp additional sugar for the hot chocolate powder and used 1/3cup semisweet chocolate chips for the chocolate..instead of melting the choc in a double boiler, I dissolved the cocoa and sugar in the 1/2c milk, added the choc chips and stuck it in the microwave to melt the chocolate then I followed the rest of the recipe as stated. I love this stuff!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpestrada June 04, 2008

SO delicious and so easy! I used two bars of Ghirardeli semi-sweet, 1 packet of Nestle hot chocolate mix, unsweetened rice milk, and chocolate whipped cream. Turned out perfect! Thank you so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salad savior July 28, 2012

This recipe has a lot of potential...I followed it exactly and it wasn't as chocolatey or rich as Serendipity's version (I don't even have a huge sweet tooth). The amount of chocolate should be increased (maybe even to 6 ounces) and the amount of ice cubes should be waaaay less. I only had a 3 oz chocolate bar and ended up squeezing extra squirts of chocolate syrup into the drink. That said, thank you for the recipe, I'm excited to try it with the tweaks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeartInSF July 20, 2009

My DH and I thought this was so-so, but I made it especially for my DS who loved it--so that is why I'm giving it 4 stars. It was a bit more of a pain than other cold chocolate bevvies I've made him (like chocolate shakes), so I'm not sure if I'll make it again. I cut it down to make one serving, but even so it was enough to fill 2 large milkshake glasses with some left over. So if you want a single serving, probably a 1/2 serving would be enough unless you have really super-huge glasses to serve it in. I used good-quality milk chocolate chips, melted in the microwave instead of in the double boiler since it was such a small amount. I used whole milk and Swiss Miss milk chocolate hot choccy mix. Thanks for posting, Sharlene! Made for Comfort Cafe January 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve January 10, 2009

I never do reviews on recipes normally, but I absolutely HAD to write one for this recipe. OMG! I reduced the 1 cup of milk to 1/2 cup and just about fell over in my kitchen when I tasted this. I couldn't even finish it.... I can't wait to make this again with Dove chocolate and share it with my girlfriends!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cutie3pie5Chef March 31, 2008

Based on another review for a similar recipe, I reduced the ice to two cups and increased the hot chocolate mix a lot to 4 tablespoons and didn't bother adding the sugar. I just think that frozen hot chocolate should have a large portion of hot chocolate in it :) I thought it was wonderful. It says that it makes two servings but those must be some huge servings because my son and I had our fill and we have half a bleder full still!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus February 17, 2008

I've had the genuine article at Serendipity, and I think they use cream instead of milk. As a result, it's a real gut-buster. This version seems lighter, but has ALL of the flavor. my other half can't wait for me to make them again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsDoty August 13, 2006

I made this for my boys while they were home for the Christmas holidays! We had this at Senedipity in NYC, so I wanted to compare the two. The one at the restaurant is more chocolaty. I believe they bump up the chocolate and skimp a little on the ice used in this recipe. However, this recipe is excellent! If you want to make this into the peanut butter version (my fav), just add 3 TBS to the blender ;) Thank so much, Sharlene!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 14, 2006

I have made this several times for my girlfriends on movie nights in college! mmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha R September 24, 2005

Excellent! This fixed my chocolate craving in a flash! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi June 11, 2005
Frozen Hot Chocolate