25 Reviews

I am rating this recipe a five star because it's a great and simple idea. We got out the food processor last night and whizzed up a 5kg bag of potatoes. We left the skins on the potatoes this time. For a bit of variety we did plain french fries and Cajun fries. There was a bit of a production line going with 3 shelves in the oven in use. I was thinking of putting the chips in zip lock bags after they cooled but I am glad that we used the ice cream containers so thumbs on the ice-cream container idea as this will prevent the fries from being squashed in the freeze. We had fries for lunch thed next day!!! *wicked smile* They were far far better than the store bought ones. Another one of your great ideas, Sackville Girl. Please keep your ideas coming. Thank you!!!!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo February 05, 2003

Doesn't get much easier. I used Tony Chachere's seasoning and we really loved the flavor of these fries. I won't be buying frozen fries in the store anymore, these are so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe April 30, 2008

Worked like a charm! I love that we can have these ready to go whenever the mood for fries hits. I had to bake mine for about 25 mins. to get them crispy. Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 25, 2014

Loved this idea. I had several potatoes that needed to be used before they went bad so found this recipe. I made several zip lock bags with different seasonings: some plain, some Cajun, some Italian. The grandson loved to be able to get into the freezer to grab some great fries. Thanks for sharing Sackville. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 18, 2013

Great use of potatoes I needed to use up - yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner June 20, 2010

Delish!! I made these for my lunch today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
couponmommy123 January 05, 2010

This recipe was recommended to me by Nathan's Nana and I'm so happy it crossed my path. I've also purchased the Ore-Ida bags of frozen fries, which are tasty, but loaded with extras DH and I don't need, plus they're expensive! With an extra bag of $2.99 new potatoes in my cupboard, I was able to make 3-4 meals worth of potatoes that are nothing but wholesome potatoes and a little seasoning! Took a bit longer to reheat, but still super easy to prepare as I'm making other dishes. Thanks for the money-saver!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend February 19, 2009

Great! DIdnt want to review this until I had actually tried them after they were frozen. The recipe worked (omitted the cajun seasoning for my 4 yr old daughter) and tasted delicious. Great way to have healthier french fries without all the added junk in the kind you get at the store, and organic ones are very expensive. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey March 03, 2008

Loved this idea! I thought I had overbaked them a bit, but after freezing and reheating as directed, they crisped up nicely. I also baked them on parchment paper and it worked great! I cut them with a crinkle cutter & my 3 year old just loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yenners February 02, 2008

These were really yummy and surprisingly easy to make! I was really impressed with the taste and texture. I cut mine with a fry cutter from the bed and bath store, left the skins on, skipped the cajun seasoning, and added salt and pepper post-second baking. I found that baking on parchment paper during both trips in to the oven resulted in no stuck or broken fries and super easy cleanup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustStartingOut December 25, 2007
Frozen French Fries