10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wrap these in foil packets to bake instead of microwaving. They lightly steam in the foil and the edges do get a nice crispy chew to them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Two Hearts May 22, 2009

I made these using ground turkey and cooking the chopped onion and garlic in with the meat. This eliminated the need for lard or vegetable shortening. In place of the canned chili I added a can of well drained Rotel tomatoes. The cheese was melted into the beans and added in some salsa. My yield was 14 well filled burritos which were wrapped in foil and frozen. Thanks for a quick frozen lunch idea.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 15, 2010

These are very tasty burritos. I halved the recipe and omitted the beef as we are trying to eat more vegetarian dishes. Next time I will make a full recipe so I will have some for freezing. This made a great lunch -- they are easy to put together. Made for PRMR, February, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry February 19, 2013

These are great to have in the freezer for a quick, easy meal for me. And have got to be better for you than the frozen burritos you get at the store. (I hope!) I, too, just cooked the onion and garlic with the meat (ground turkey since that's what we had) and left out the shortening/lard. Will keep these on hand for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 August 11, 2012

These are really good! I heated one up, wrapped it in foil, and put it in a preheated thermos. It was still nice and warm at lunch time. I can see lots of variations! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon December 17, 2009

These are wonderful. I used 1 can of pinto beans and instead of the tomato paste I used 1 jar of salsa. I will be making these often. Thanks for a easy and great tasting recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Bailey July 15, 2008

These turned out great! I forgot to add tomato paste and I added a chopped jalapeno instead of green chilies but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The kids LOVED them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wkdlady May 20, 2008

I made a huge batch of these several months ago. I learned my lesson - always make a small test of a recipe before doing it for OAMC! I found these to be kind of dry and flavorless. I think some sort of sauce inside of them would help. They also needed more salt. We still have several of them left in the freezer. My 9 yo daughter gets one out and eats it now and then, but she smothers it in salsa and cheese. I definitely want to tweak the flavors before I make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimberLovesTMBG March 04, 2008

Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and made 12 really fat burritos. Heated frozen in microwave about 1 1/2-2 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadget_Queen August 27, 2005

I can't believe I'm the first reviewer on these! They are soooooooo GOOD! I just had one fresh, and I'm going to freeze the rest for quick and easy lunches. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly..substituted chili powder and salt for the adobo seasoning. I added quite a bit of the cooking water from the beans.. What else can I say? It's easy on the budget, and the flavor is great! I'll be making them over and over again! Thank you, SueL! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LA28 May 28, 2005
Frozen Beef and Bean Burritos (oamc)