16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I enjoyed this not only because it's a frozen dessert, but also because it uses frozen strawberries which are available even in the colder months! This recipe is great ~ easy to make & the dessert tastes great! I didn't have fresh strawberries for the top, so used banana slices ~ Nice!! [Tagged, made & reviewed for Cupid's Choice Beverage Tag game]

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 15, 2008

Reviewed for AUs/NZ Forum Recipe Swap October 2010- Great recipe. Both my daughters want to give you 10 stars...so that's 5 stars from me and twnty from my girls :lol: I used a blended gluten-free flour and added in about 1/4 cup almond meal to make this recipe gluten-free suitable. TUrned out perfectly. An easy recipe and tasted great. a dessert worthy of serving ata dinner party and great that it can even be made days in advance. I left ours in the freezer for about three hours.....it needed a little longer (as you can see from the photo)....but we couldn't wait any longer to taste this very yummy dessert. 2nd day- definitely nicer more frozen. Photo has been posted also

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** October 12, 2010

Absolutely wonderful. :) This is tasty and easy, and best of all, it's ready when unexpected company arrives. I tasted the mixture before adding the whipped cream, and loved how strong the strawberry taste was. It was slightly 'diluted' after adding the cream, but no less delicious. However, I think I may increase the strawberry amount just to give it a stronger taste. Thanks so much Julie. I love 'ready' desserts, and this is at the top. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #34

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 November 07, 2009

This was one of my mother's favorite summertime desserts! She called it "Mile High Strawberry Pie". I made it a few weeks ago as directed and it was as delicious as I remember! I'm going to try it again, soon, using a frozen berry blend of blackberries, raspberries and blueberries. I'll bet it will be just as good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove July 25, 2011

Very tasty! I made this to use up some local strawberries from our farmers market that were about to turn. I had to make some substitutions, but they turned out very well! I used almonds instead of pecans, which turned out great because I prefer almonds to pecans anyways! I also had to use Cool Whip instead of real whipped cream. When I make this again, I will try to use the true whipped cream. I did find my version a tad on the sweet side, so using the "real thing" will likely help with that. Overall it was a hit with my family - thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian WesternGirl July 23, 2011

Yummy! This was such a easy and delicious dessert that was perfect for Summer. I really liked how it was not too sweet and I liked the contrast of the light filling with the buttery crumble. Instead of using walnuts I used pecans since I really like pecans. Instead of baking the crumble on a cookie sheet I just baked it in the 9 by 13 pan and only topped the top with a 1/2 cup of the crumble. My Dad told me that this was the best dessert I've made the whole Summer! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cupcake-Princess August 14, 2010

Great recipe! Easy and quickto prepare. I made this for Sunday dinner and got great reviews, then I made it a few days later for a BBQ. Everyon was begging for the recipe. Thanks for this posting Julie B's Hive.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Polar Bear August 27, 2008

My family has been making this for decades. It's amazingly good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook August 04, 2008

Tagged for Bev Tag 2008. I love the simplicity of making this recipe. I liked that all ingrediants are readily available and of course bought a quart of just brought to the store fresh strawberries for the topping. The texture of the crust is light and crumbly so have a napkin. The filling is great, loved the flavor combination. I can see sme versatility in this with other berries, a little chocolate fudge drizzled across the top, possibilities are endless. YUMMMMM better than ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie February 23, 2008

I made a half recipe using a 9 inch pan. I used some light Cool Whip since I didn't have whipping cream on hand. It worked beautifully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott June 24, 2013
Frosty Strawberry Dessert