Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frosted Rhubarb Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frosted Rhubarb Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2010

      Wow! These were spectacular! No need for frosting, if you ask me. I did increase oven temp to 375 because of the use of shortening. The coconut has a great complement to the tartness of the rhubarb. I also let the cut rhubarb set in a couple of tablespoons of sugar while I mixed up the cookie dough to get the juices out. And, my secret little touch was a teaspoon of five spice. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I thought these were great! I just found this recipe yesterday and was immediately intrigued - I never heard of rhubarb cookies before. So I just had to make them, and my husband and I really loved them. I haven't had one cold yet, but warm out of the oven they were so wonderful. I did however add 1 tsp cinnamon to the flour mixture because I love cinnamon. I would add more rhubarb next time too, can never get enough of that. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I was a little nervous about these too, but they turned out great. The sweet frosting is a great contrast to the slightly tart rhubarb cookie, although I suppose you could make it without. I chopped the rhubarb pretty small, and would probably do it that way again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      One of my favourites. Freezes well too. The cream cheese frosting adds that special touch and have always had raves over these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      The only one to make if you like moist wonderful cookies.....Yummy!<br/>They freeze well....That is ....if you have any left over to put in the freezer..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      Excellent! Used half butter, half shortening and grated in a touch of orange rind. Didn't bother with the frosting. Took them to work and they vanished - even people who said they didn't like rhubarb loved these cookies. A real keeper and great different way to use some of all that rhubarb. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Really very good I love anything where you can taste the rhubarb. I did change a couple of things. I used half butter and half shortening; I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and after tasting a cookie from the first batch I added some pecans, and they are great with nuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

    • on May 19, 2010

      I'm humming while I eat a cookie & type this review! I got this exact recipe from TOH and love it. I use half shortening, half butter. I made these on the bigger side and got about 3 dozen, & i baked them for only 10 minutes- the combo makes them softer. I like to eat them straight out of the fridge so they're even MORE refreshing! The frosting holds sprinkles well, too. (kids helped me!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Wow! These caught my eye as a different way to use up our garden rhubarb. They were fantastic- moist and delicious. Even great without the frosting (but isn't anything in life better with some cream cheese??). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      These are AMAZING with or without the frosting. Everyone inhaled these, including those who claimed they were not rhubarb fans. This is going in my "Six Stars" cookbook. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Even rhubarb haters love these. They have a wonderful cakelike texture. I added vanilla and grated lemon peel to both the dough & the frosting. Next time, I'm going to try them without the coconut but with crushed almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      This cookie is wonderful. Have had this recipe saved forever and am so glad we finally made them. They are moist and tasty even without the frosting. Thanks for submitting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Different but really good...suprisingly sweet and chewy. Was a little scared to try something new like this but excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      YUMMY!! Sweet enough that we didn't even frost them, but I can only imagine....next time! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      These were wonderful cookies. DH, who isn't a big cookie eater, couldn't leave them alone. My Sister, who doesn't like coconut, enjoyed these. I have 5 rhubarb plants,so I am thrilled to find this recipe. Am making my second batch today! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Both my husband and I loved these. I did not use the coconut since I didn't have any, but I imagine that only makes them even better. They are soft, tart and not too sweet- the frosting takes care of the sweetness. Thank you for a new (to me) way to use rhubarb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Too good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      These cookies are wonderful. I have 4 kids who don't like rhubard, they love these cookies. I've given this recipe out to many people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Rhubarb is a favorite at our house but I had never made Rhubarb cookies. Made these with those first lush shoots this spring and must get to another batch soon! I rarely eat cookies but I had more then one of these! The cream cheese frosting did so add a special touch! Thank you for sharing this Rhubarb recipe which has been added to my cook book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frosted Rhubarb Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1557 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1206.6
     
    Calories from Fat 498
    41%
    Total Fat 55.4 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 19.1 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 99.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 646.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 167.3 g
    55%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 105.4 g
    421%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites