16 Reviews

These were okay but had a dry, cakey texture. I wonder what size cookie sheet was too be used - mine was 11X15 & the bars were really thick. I also had to fiddle with the frosting, adding extra pb & milk to get the flavour & consistency right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb March 17, 2013

A delicious memory of my childhood. I take a bite, close my eyes and remember a simpler time. I had no trouble with this recipe, frosting turned out delicious and spread fine on the warm bars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 29, 2015

Oh my gosh! I have been wanting this recipe for YEARS! I haven't had one since High School! They were my FAVORITE item from M.E.'s cafeteria! I'm super excited to try this recipe! Thanks! -Michelle-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 20, 2015

The bar part was very good but the frosting was not the greatest, it wouldn't spread! I added extra milk and peanut butter to make it the consistency and flavor I wanted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethegdorf April 07, 2014

These are great!! Just like I remember in high school! I followed the recipe as stated and they turned out great! Will definitely make again! Thank you for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alysleach April 26, 2010

FIVE SOLID STARS from all the boys! That never happens. These immediately took me back to hot lunch days. Easy to make and makes a big bunch. Will definitely be making this one often. The boys were in nirvana. Thanks flower7!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 March 01, 2010

These were edible but not what I was expecting. I followed the directions to a T and even cooked them less than called for so they were not over baked yet the bar was very dry especially the first night. Did soften up some over the next few days but still remained a bit dry. Not sure if next time I should decrease the oatmeal or the flour some??? Any suggestions would be helpful. Also added more peanut butter to the frosting mixture. It was way to sweet with little PB taste to it at first. With more PB it tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamawheezy July 10, 2008

These are such a pretty dessert to make...pretty easy, little mess...and taste is wonderful, esp the icing! I think I did make a mistake of using self rising flour instead of all purpose and the bottom part rose pretty high, like a thick brownie type, but still turned out fine. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Bama December 12, 2007

very good. tasted nice and peanut buttery! great texture too. thanks for a really easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icetea May 14, 2007

Very good! Hubby takes to work in his lunches. I have made these at least 3 times, (making 4th) can't believe I never reviewed it! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi April 27, 2007
Frosted Peanut Butter Bars