Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frosted Brownies or Texas Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frosted Brownies or Texas Brownies

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2009

      I baked mine at 325 for 30 minutes, as we like our brownies chewy rather than cakelike. It worked great and they were just the way we all like them. The subtle coffee flavor was awesome, and with the addition of 1 c. walnuts we were happy campers in this house! From one Main-e-ack to another, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Yes, these are superb and a great party dish! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      We were having an impromtu gathering at my house one evening and I wanted to serve something with our coffee... at the last minute, found this recipe and managed to bake it up before the neighbors arrived. Needless to say, this was EXACTLY what I was looking for and is now placed prominently in my recipe database!! THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Absolutely the very best brownies..........Especially divine just barely cooled after baking...Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Uh oh! These are so delicious; I'm definitely going to have to hide them away from myself! Mine do not look nearly as pretty as the picture, but man, they're tasty! I remember my mom made these a couple times growing up and I always loved the icing and the way it kind of hardens/crinkles. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      yes...as Red Hook says..these are cake like brownies but to be fair..that's what a Texas Brownie is. So, if you are looking for a wonderful cake like brownie with a frosting that gets that crispety texture to it..then this is it! Personally, I never met a cake brownie I like but this one changed everything. I had a jewelry party and served a brownie bar with five different brownies from Zaar. This one was by far the best..and very easy to make too. Thanks, Mimi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This recipe makes a yummy cake, but I was trying for brownies, and these have absolutely no chewy factor to them. This is just a thin, large sheet cake. I gave this recipe a 2 because I was craving brownies (which require no frosting), and now I have cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      My sister-in-law used this recipe and I LOVED the brownies. They are super moist and perfect for that sudden sweet tooth attack. I tried the recipe myself and they were a hit with my father-in-law who is a HUGE chocoholic. This is definitely listed in with my favorite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Fantastic brownies!! I would not change a thing. Perfect just as written. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Best brownies I have ever eaten! I did add pecans and they really went over big with the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

    • on February 18, 2009

      My kids devoured these sweet treats! I added nuts to the frosting for a little change and they were so good! Mine were nice and chewy, chocolaty and yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I added lots of chopped walnuts to these, as we love them with nuts. I have to tell you these are so good I had to have 3 before I let anyone else have any! What a great dessert this is with a hint of coffee flavor. I can't wait to have them again and neither can my kids! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      The coffee flavor in this is very unique and delicious. The cake was exceptionally light, more so than my older Texas Sheet Cake recipe. I would add a little more cocoa next time though. My very picky 12 year old ate more than one piece. That is a huge recommendation. We will surely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Oh my!! I am speechless!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      So Simple, So Yummy! Thank you for the awesome brownies. Made it for my son's 11th birthday party and it was a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This is a great recipe! I had all the ingredients in the house already and they are soooo YUMMY!!I had already made a pot of flavored (Witches Brew)coffee this morning, so I just used a cup of that coffee and they still turned out great! Thanks for giving me a new favorite :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      My Mom also made the same recipe it came from her Mother. My parents moved out of their home and packed away the recipes. Thanks for posting the recipe. My daughter and I are making them tomorrow, time to pass on the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      The brownies turned out perfectly! It made so many that I gave some to my husbands grandparents and brother. The frosting was too sweet for my liking so I used a can of chocolate frosting instead. My son had so much fun making them with me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      It was very chocolatey and very rich. Too much butter for my taste, but otherwise this recipe works perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frosted Brownies or Texas Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (1966 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.3
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    39%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 18.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 66.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites