35 Reviews

I had four bananas just waiting for a recipe, but I didn't want to make banana bread again--I wanted something different. This recipe is incredible; very moist with really good banana flavor. I cut the sugar down to 1 3/4 cup, and might try even less next time, since the ripe bananas are so sweet on their own. I was in a hurry, so I frosted them with storebought vanilla frosting & added some chopped walnuts on top; although I think these would also be very good even without frosting. The bars would be awesome served while still warm, with some vanilla ice cream -- mmmmmmmm. I will make this recipe again! -M

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert March 24, 2002

These were incredible!!! I made them, flipped 'em over to let them cool, and part of the bottom tore off. These were more like a cake, or a banana bread. I tried them before and after frosting, and think that I liked them better before (but I don't like very sweet anyways). This is my new banana bread of choice!! Great recipe, thanks!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat March 04, 2002

This was very good. The frosting was excellent. I will make this again when the banans start getting too ripe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 April 17, 2002

After reading some of the reviews I decided to cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups. On a whim, I tossed in 2 additional tablespoons of brown sugar at the very end. I frosted them with a chocolate glaze made from 1 cup of chocolate chips (half milk and half dark chocolate), 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of corn syrup. These have a beautiful texture and are super delicious! I'll be saving this recipe and making it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanita August 23, 2010

Excellent! I had to use a 9x13 pan and just baked it a little longer. The texture is perfect. As other reviewers have said, it is pretty sweet so I just used half the frosting and will use the other half for something else. It's too tasty to toss. Thanks for sharing the keeper recipe, we really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 01, 2015

Made this today to use up some really ripe bananas. It is delish! I used vanilla buttercream as my hubby thinks he does not like cream cheese icing (he does)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl September 07, 2014

Mapleleaf, you didn't follow the recipe and didn't have enough moisture. Of course they are going to be dry. I have used this recipe for years and it comes out perfect every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy52 November 16, 2012

Delicious! I have made these twice since the amount of frosting was alot. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown November 10, 2012

Made it before work this am- very simple quick recipe- rave reviews from coworkers. Frosting is delish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arebromashko May 05, 2012
Frosted Banana Bars