Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frosted Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frosted Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2002

      I had four bananas just waiting for a recipe, but I didn't want to make banana bread again--I wanted something different. This recipe is incredible; very moist with really good banana flavor. I cut the sugar down to 1 3/4 cup, and might try even less next time, since the ripe bananas are so sweet on their own. I was in a hurry, so I frosted them with storebought vanilla frosting & added some chopped walnuts on top; although I think these would also be very good even without frosting. The bars would be awesome served while still warm, with some vanilla ice cream -- mmmmmmmm. I will make this recipe again! -M

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      These were incredible!!! I made them, flipped 'em over to let them cool, and part of the bottom tore off. These were more like a cake, or a banana bread. I tried them before and after frosting, and think that I liked them better before (but I don't like very sweet anyways). This is my new banana bread of choice!! Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      This was very good. The frosting was excellent. I will make this again when the banans start getting too ripe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      After reading some of the reviews I decided to cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups. On a whim, I tossed in 2 additional tablespoons of brown sugar at the very end. I frosted them with a chocolate glaze made from 1 cup of chocolate chips (half milk and half dark chocolate), 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of corn syrup. These have a beautiful texture and are super delicious! I'll be saving this recipe and making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Made this today to use up some really ripe bananas. It is delish! I used vanilla buttercream as my hubby thinks he does not like cream cheese icing (he does)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

    • on November 16, 2012

      Mapleleaf, you didn't follow the recipe and didn't have enough moisture. Of course they are going to be dry. I have used this recipe for years and it comes out perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      Delicious! I have made these twice since the amount of frosting was alot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Made it before work this am- very simple quick recipe- rave reviews from coworkers. Frosting is delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Very nice banana bars. These were good even without the icing. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This recipe was in another cookbook of mine. I made it and wow LOVED it. The frosting was the best part. At first I thought that there was going to be so much left over being in a 15x10x1 pan but when the pan was empty I was left wanting more. Definately will make this recipe again and again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Very sweet, but very good. I agree with the other reviewers that the frosting makes these bars a little too sweet. Without the frosting though, these bars are super moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I just made this exact recipe from TOH and they were excellent! The only thing I will change next time is I will cut the frosting in 1/2. For me they were way to sweet. The frosting is good but too much, you miss out on the actual banana flavor from the bars. But very, very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      My sons group loved these- scarfed them up in no time. I used frozen bananas I had. I used a larger jelly roll pan but still had to bake a tad bit longer along with pre-made frosting to speed things along. Will make again since I'm usually the only one who will eat banana bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      These are hands down amazing!!! My husband absolutely loved this. I agree with some of the others that it is more like a cake but what a nice change from tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I am in love with this recipe. It makes such a divine cake! It looks lovely, and tastes so moist. I wouldn't change a thing about it. I did sprinkle some nutmeg mixed with cinnamon on top of the frosting, for some decoration. I used a lined pan and it came out fine. (looked like it would be sticky, though) Cut it in half, and made two small cakes from it. Cuts beautifully, and Mr. Foxx says this is the best cake I have ever made! I thought it was rich, but so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      These are FABULOUS and my hubbys fav, I use only half the frosting because they are too sweet to me with all of it. I also bake mine in a 9x13 inch pan. Save the rest of the frosting for your second batch that you will have to make soon because these will go FAST!! Very addicting but more like a cake than a bar ..LOVE THEM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      These were wonderful!! I am so happy to find a new way to use ripe bananas. I read other reviews, and based on their comments about the sweetness, I just cut back on the amount of frosting I put on top. This did the trick for me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Read previous feedback and decided to cut sugar to 1 1/2 cups which I think is fine. Fyi, texture was on the cakier side rather than dense and I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 cake flour. Frosting was good; kids liked it; neighbors liked it; I liked it. Will definitely make again. Great Snack Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      These are very good, but I have to agree, they are too sweet. The frosting itself is very good, and the bars are great, but for our preferences it was just too much. The bars themselves sprinkled with just a little powdered sugar are excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frosted Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.4
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    35%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 36.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 111.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes