Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frog Eye Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frog Eye Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2014

      It's a two day process, or at least a few hours, but SO much better than the ones that use pudding as an easy sauce. My husband LOVES this, but like my mom says, "a mans favourite salad usually contains mini marshmallows."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Love this salad!! I am not big on the mixture, so I just add sugar and applesauce to the pineapple juice and pour that in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I made this for my husband's Thanksgiving potluck and I would love to tell you how it tasted, but it was wiped out! DH said it was delicous and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I discovered this recipe when my cousin began making it for family dinners and potlucks. Its now a favorite of all my friends and family. To this recipe I also add maraschino cherries and flaked coconut. And yes the pasta can be hard to find. Sometimes the store I know that carries it tends to be out of stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Last week I was at a pot luck and had this wonderful salad. I'm so glad that I overheard the lady in front of me saying the name of the salad or I would have not had the pleasure of making it. I used colored mini marshmallows and put 4 drops of green food color into the whipped topping before I added it to the salad. It make for a very colorful dish. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      YUM YUM YUM! I could eat this with just the pasta and the "sauce". Acini di Pepe pasta is really hard to find. I always buy several boxes when I find it. I've been looking for this recipe since college. It used to be on the back of the box way back then! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My gram used to make this for our family reunion. Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I had this at a picnic many years ago and loved it but could not find the recipe back then. I am so happy to find it here on recipezaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      Great desert on a summer night!!! Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      I would have given this a 5 star rating but had a terrible time finding the described pasta for ths recipe. After much time hunting I decided to try using tapioca. The tapioca bound to heavily to the sugar mixture and became a big lumpy mix. I seperated the mix up and break it up into the salad to blend it...after all the flavor itself was very good. The texture was abit off though. I also used pistachio pudding to make it green for the "frog" part. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      Yep - THIS recipe is most like the one that I have made for my family for many, many years!! My mom [who died this last summer] first introduced this to our family during a family reunion. My sisters and I decided that "well, frogs are green - SO we ought to make this stuff green!!" So we added the coloring to the frog-eye mix. My mom started making it and she freeked! She said "It NEVER looked like this before. WHAT happened to it?" Well, my sisters and I were just DYING!! We were laughing SO HARD at the look on her face. So - green is the color of our Frog-eyed salad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      This is a personal preference but I hated this recipe because of the pasta. Its texture was gross to me and it kept getting stuck to my teeth. This did not go over well at all and just a warning if you think it might apply to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      I didn't think I would ever find this recipe! My Grandma used to make it, minus the marshmallows, it was awesome...making it with dinner tonight (the marshmallow-less way!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2001

      This is an excellent light dessert!! THREE THUMBS UP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frog Eye Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.0
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    17%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 49.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 203.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.2 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 57.2 g
    229%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites