Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frizzled Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frizzled Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2007

      How did I ever live 60 plus years and never heard nor tried cabbage cooked this way? And, yet I am a cabbage lover! This dish was exceptional! It's better than chocolate and that is saying a lot! We thoroughly enjoyed the flavor and will definitely have it again. I added a small amount of chopped sweet onion. Low heat is the key and I do think the chef needs to be standing right there stirring and watching. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      This IS great. I add diced Spam or canned or fresh corned beef to mine sometimes. REALLY good. :p

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      This is my favorite side dish now. Some weeks, I follow the recipe exactly. Some I add curry or caraway. I usually fix an entire head of cabbage, and just warm it up all week. Best leftover ever!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      totally not what I thought it would taste like, but it was delicious. I had to fight the urge to call it done when it was completely wilted, and cooked it the extra 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      LOVE IT! I didn't know cabbage could taste so good. My husband had sworn off cabbage until this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      This was so good, and so very easy!! I've made this a number of times and forgot to rate it (like it needs more). My husband is not a vegetable lover, and definitely not a friend of cabbage. He ate it all, and said he was surprised that he liked it so much. <br/>I followed the instructions exactly, but can see that it would be a great launching point for other dishes - casserole it with leftover meats, add onions and noodles...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      Second time making this. The cooking level needs to be much lower and the amount of time cooked needs to by less than half as much even with a lower cooking level. I would recommend more butter too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      This is a wonderful basic recipe that you can add things to. I decided to do what one person did: spread cooked white rice on the bottom of a pan, layered the cooked cabbage over it, layered fried slices of kielbasa and then sprinkle shredded mozzarella all over it and put it in the oven until the cheese melted and started to brown a bit. Made for Chef Alphabet Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      I can now say I like cabbage 2 ways- cole slaw and frizzled!! I made pretty much as directed, and we loved it! Served on the side of pork bbq. It didn't need 20 mins. on the stove- 10-15 is plenty. I added some carrot ribbons, for color. I think the 2 of us could eat twice this amount, no problem! I love how the cabbage gets sweet...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      Delicious and easy. I also added some thinly sliced onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I absolutely love this!! Added two slivered carrots and cooked until brown and lightly caramelized ~~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      have made this several times now. at times i add onion and garlic powder along with hot sauce. definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I had no idea it was this easy to prepare cabbage! This will become a regular in our household -- cheap, fast, and easy. I made this as a side to some veggie pasta and felt it was pretty filling. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      We love cabbage and use it in recipes often or as side dishes, but this is probably the best way we've ever eaten it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      I, too, grew up on this, although it took a bit of maturing before I began to appreciate it properly. My version starts out with a big cast iron skillet, very little oil instead of butter, cooking until just short of fork tender,then about a 1/4 cup beer and into the oven, perhaps with a bit of red pepper flakes or spicy sausage, topped with shredded cheddar and under the broiler til the cheese gets brown and bubbly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      What more can I add...another winner. My family & I love this. I have used a similar fried cabbage recipe in the past, so I did add onion & bacon. Definitely will be making again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Oh yes! This is as simple and as good as it gets. My favorite way to prepare cabbage. I also like to cook sliced onions along with the cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      We love cabbage and this recipe made us love it even more. This would be a great noodle replacement if low-carbing. I'll be making this recipe often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      Fabulous! I'm putting this into my new whole-foods, plant-based recipe recipe cycle. Thanks for posting! Healthy tastes good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This is very good. Made corned beef with all the trimmings for St. Patty's day. One of our friends is vegan so I made this dish using olive oil. I pre-sauteed onion as one reviewer suggested, and added a little hot sauce as another person mentioned. I had cole slaw mix on hand so used that. Even the non-vegan guests liked it. I will definitely make this as a side dish more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frizzled Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.1
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    80%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 121.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes