Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frizzled Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frizzled Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2010

      I grew up on cabbage cooked just like this but my mom used to take a huge cake pan (double the size of a full sheet cake pan) and spread cooked white rice on the botton, layer the cooked cabbage over it, layer fried slices of kielbasa and then sprinkle shredded mozzarella all over it and put it in the oven until the cheese melted and started to brown a bit. Oh so good! A family of 6 almost always wiped it out and there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I love this recipe! I grew up eating a Hungarian version of this that my grandmother made. We start with chopped bacon, fried until it's crispy, then remove it. (I often don't use the bacon since my husband is vegetarian). Next, we fry onions slowly until they're brown and remove them from the pan. Finally, we fry caraway seeds until they smell good, then fry the cabbage slowly until it's golden. We return the bacon and onion to the cabbage, mixing well. We then add seasoned salt. We eat this scrumptious Hungarian 'peasant' food as is, or mix it with cooked egg noodles for a real winter treat, like my Grandmother did. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      The whole family loves this. I replace 1/2 the butter with olive oil. I also cover it as it cooks. It's always yummy and always perfect. Thanks for posting this recipes. I've made it 2x in 2 weeks and plan to make it more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      MMMMMMM! This is such a wonderful way to prepare cabbage! I used just salt and pepper to season and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Super simple and delicious. The only change I made was to add some Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb seasoning. What a good recipe for us cabbage lovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      Took me a second try to get this one right. The first time I used too much salt and over cooked it, so I tried again a few days later. The second time I made it, I was really happy because it tasted so good and complimented the evening's meal. We served the cabbage with Chicken Souvlaki (30391) and Tzatziki (59336) with some avocado slices. The flavors of the three dishes combined to make a new trinity of cooking in my house.

      Handle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This one brought a tear to my eye. My Dad who passed away in '85 did much of the cooking while we were growing up and this was the only way he'd get the kids to eat cabbage. I haven't even thought of it since then but had to try it. Added onions as he did and loved it. Warm memories, comfort food that tastes wonderful and a good Chardonnay to toast Dad. Tough to beat. Thank you so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I personally liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This is one of those wonderfully simple, yet devilishly delicious 'Zaar recipes that I've made a half dozen times and always forget to review. I just love the natural flavor this recipe brings out of the cabbage and it's just so quick and easy to prepare. The only thing I do different is to add a few shakes of hot sauce. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Love, love, love it! I usually use leftover bacon drippings to cook the cabbage in. It's not the most healthy way to prepare this, but it does impart some good "southern" flavor nonetheless. Also, I sometimes plate this with a very small dab of sour cream, as my DH likes it this way. FYI: This reminds me of Mrs. Wilkes' Fried Cabbage recipe (found in "Mrs. Wilkes' Boardinghouse Cookbook"). As a Savannah native, I'd be crazy not to recommend her cookbook or the family-run restaurant (Mrs. Wilkes' Dining Room). If you ever find yourself in Savannah, don't miss it...but get there early, the lines can get long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I have been making this for awhile now and have gotten my daughter hooked on it. only complaint, the usual with cabbage, makes you fart! but worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      So very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      excellent cabbage I am on a low carb diet I am going to try it with a meat sauce on it thanks for the recipe I love it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Nothing left to say that hasn't already been said. This recipe is the bomb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Fabulous! Succulent! Yummois! ( I added a red onion, pre-sauteed, as well as some of the broth from #158342 Crock Pot Corned Beef Dinner). Deeeee lish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      My Dh and I really enjoyed this. It is so much better than just cooked cabbage. I want to try it with all sorts of other seasonings and an added onion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      We really enjoyed this. I used Pam as someone suggested, and added onion. The caramelization was really good. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I made this a year ago, made it too often, got tired of it. A very easy side to make. I made it again last week, my sis said she could eat it more often. I use a little bit of olive oil instead of the butter. Great diet food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Just made this for dinner this evening...it was fabulous! I'm not the biggest cabbage fan and I'm not sure what I was expecting (maybe the nasty taste of boiled cabbage...) but I was pleasantly surprised! Used 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of bacon drippings, seasoned first with Paula Deen's House Seasoning then followed that up with a bit more salt and pepper. Next time I think I'll add some caraway seeds and a bit of cooked pasta and see what happens! Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      FANTASTIC!!! I didn't think this was going to come out as delicious as it did but, upon reading other reviews I decided to try it. It was wonderful!! I added a 1/2 clove of garlic to it while it was cooking and it came out great. I will add this recipe to my regular rotation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frizzled Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.1
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    80%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 121.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites