289 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I grew up on cabbage cooked just like this but my mom used to take a huge cake pan (double the size of a full sheet cake pan) and spread cooked white rice on the botton, layer the cooked cabbage over it, layer fried slices of kielbasa and then sprinkle shredded mozzarella all over it and put it in the oven until the cheese melted and started to brown a bit. Oh so good! A family of 6 almost always wiped it out and there were no leftovers!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves To Cook but NOT clean up August 28, 2010

I love this recipe! I grew up eating a Hungarian version of this that my grandmother made. We start with chopped bacon, fried until it's crispy, then remove it. (I often don't use the bacon since my husband is vegetarian). Next, we fry onions slowly until they're brown and remove them from the pan. Finally, we fry caraway seeds until they smell good, then fry the cabbage slowly until it's golden. We return the bacon and onion to the cabbage, mixing well. We then add seasoned salt. We eat this scrumptious Hungarian 'peasant' food as is, or mix it with cooked egg noodles for a real winter treat, like my Grandmother did. Wonderful!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandynbill July 27, 2009

The whole family loves this. I replace 1/2 the butter with olive oil. I also cover it as it cooks. It's always yummy and always perfect. Thanks for posting this recipes. I've made it 2x in 2 weeks and plan to make it more.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse December 05, 2011

MMMMMMM! This is such a wonderful way to prepare cabbage! I used just salt and pepper to season and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F January 28, 2011

Super simple and delicious. The only change I made was to add some Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb seasoning. What a good recipe for us cabbage lovers!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young October 07, 2010

Took me a second try to get this one right. The first time I used too much salt and over cooked it, so I tried again a few days later. The second time I made it, I was really happy because it tasted so good and complimented the evening's meal. We served the cabbage with Chicken Souvlaki (30391) and Tzatziki (59336) with some avocado slices. The flavors of the three dishes combined to make a new trinity of cooking in my house.

Handle

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Mojo January 27, 2011

This one brought a tear to my eye. My Dad who passed away in '85 did much of the cooking while we were growing up and this was the only way he'd get the kids to eat cabbage. I haven't even thought of it since then but had to try it. Added onions as he did and loved it. Warm memories, comfort food that tastes wonderful and a good Chardonnay to toast Dad. Tough to beat. Thank you so much for posting

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned September 27, 2008

I have been making this for awhile now and have gotten my daughter hooked on it. only complaint, the usual with cabbage, makes you fart! but worth it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kongsberg February 20, 2008

I personally liked this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms May 26, 2010

This is one of those wonderfully simple, yet devilishly delicious 'Zaar recipes that I've made a half dozen times and always forget to review. I just love the natural flavor this recipe brings out of the cabbage and it's just so quick and easy to prepare. The only thing I do different is to add a few shakes of hot sauce. Excellent!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefTraylee May 12, 2010
Frizzled Cabbage