21 Reviews

Dee, this is so delicious that we use this as our base recipe for all our frittata's now, no matter what we add to them. Although zucchini is a favorite with me, we add other veggies that we have on hand. Thank you for getting us out of our egg rut! :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP January 09, 2004

Very nice frittata! I served it with fresh fruit and coleslaw. I followed the recipe except for some chopped garlic thrown in with the onions. I used dried thyme and fresh basil as that is what I had. I think that sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms added to the frittata would be good, but as is I want to thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe. Carole in Orlando

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando June 29, 2009

Great base recipe/method for cooking frittatas -- I'm so pleased with how this recipe turned out. I have no confidence as a cook. I don't have that knack for throwing things together in great combinations. That said I choose this recipe because I had a ton of eggs and zucchini. But I also had from my garden a bell pepper and two small stalks of broccoli. In the fridge I had a partial jar of mushrooms and a handful of small-chunked steamed red potatoes leftover from lunch. Knowing that using up leftovers and what you have on hand is the secret to budget cooking, I got brave. I'm so glad I did. I sauteed the pepper with the onions. I added the broccoli probably too soon, but it was okay. I probably should have added at the same time as the zucchini and mushrooms. I threw the cooked potatoes in at the last minute because it suddenly occurred to me and they were already cooked. I used mozeralla cheese with a little parmesan (from the jar in the fridge -- definitely not freshly grated). I was worried because I of course added ingredients, added an extra egg, extra cheese, and used too small of pan --a large cast iron skillet but not 12". I don't think I got my pan hot enough before adding the egg mixture. I panicked over the low setting and my thick mixture due to pan size, so I bumped the heat up a bit probably overcooking the eggs more than designed. Yet despite all this, the frittata was great and eaten completely up by DH, 1 year old son, and 2 year old daughter. This method of cooking a frittata really distinguishes this dish from a quiche or an omelette. Cooking on the stovetop and then under the broiler gave the egg a yummy flavor. I will definitely be repeating this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teachmetocookplease July 27, 2013

I absolutely adored this lovely frittata! I love the sweet onion and zucchini combination with the thyme. I subbed cheddar for the Parmesan and added 1 t Dijon to the eggs. I will absolutely make this over and over and over again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 25, 2011

I loved the flavor of this one, but not the texture. It was a little runny. I'm going to try it again with grating and draining the vegetables, rather than slicing, and then baking in the oven, rather than on the stovetop.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soozaler June 30, 2013

I made the full recipe which fed 3 of us for a light dinner with a salad on the side, one a very light eater and the other medium and big serves. The only changes I made was to tear the fresh basil and grate the zucchini and then squeeze and drain in a sieve (I knew it would be the only way I would get the DM to eat it), once the onion was softened I added it to the pan till heated through and releasing liquid, I then put this mix in the sieve and squeezed out excess liquid and continue as per recipe. A very enjoyable and light dinner, thank you Dee514, made for May "Farm Cooking" Photo Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 13, 2010

Delicious! I had an orange bell pepper, 1 zuccini, 1 tomato and a red onion hanging around. I sauteed these (except for the tomato) with a little garlic and seasoned with Herbs de Provence. I combined the eggs with heavy cream and feta cheese and poured over the sauteed veggies. I sliced the tomato and placed the slices around the top of the pan. I then baked for 20 minutes in a 400F oven. (My pan handles are only oven proof up to 400F) I love trying new frittata flavor combinations!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianM May 18, 2015

This gets 4.5 stars! Very easy to make and you can modify this in so many ways to use up whatever fresh veggies, herbs, and spices you have on hand! We ate this for dinner the other night and everyone loved it! Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramsey_penegar June 26, 2012

This was delicious. Mine took longer than 15 minutes to set on the stove, so I popped it in the oven at 500 degrees to finish cooking. (I didn't use the broiler because mine is broken.) I'm looking forward to serving this for Easter brunch. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc April 04, 2012

I followed the instructions exactly as written and ended up with the most delicious frittata that was equally good hot or cold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 09, 2011
Frittata Di Zucchine (Zucchini Frittata)