Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frittata Di Zucchine (Zucchini Frittata) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frittata Di Zucchine (Zucchini Frittata)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2004

      Dee, this is so delicious that we use this as our base recipe for all our frittata's now, no matter what we add to them. Although zucchini is a favorite with me, we add other veggies that we have on hand. Thank you for getting us out of our egg rut! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I absolutely adored this lovely frittata! I love the sweet onion and zucchini combination with the thyme. I subbed cheddar for the Parmesan and added 1 t Dijon to the eggs. I will absolutely make this over and over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Very nice frittata! I served it with fresh fruit and coleslaw. I followed the recipe except for some chopped garlic thrown in with the onions. I used dried thyme and fresh basil as that is what I had. I think that sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms added to the frittata would be good, but as is I want to thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Great base recipe/method for cooking frittatas -- I'm so pleased with how this recipe turned out. I have no confidence as a cook. I don't have that knack for throwing things together in great combinations. That said I choose this recipe because I had a ton of eggs and zucchini. But I also had from my garden a bell pepper and two small stalks of broccoli. In the fridge I had a partial jar of mushrooms and a handful of small-chunked steamed red potatoes leftover from lunch. Knowing that using up leftovers and what you have on hand is the secret to budget cooking, I got brave. I'm so glad I did. I sauteed the pepper with the onions. I added the broccoli probably too soon, but it was okay. I probably should have added at the same time as the zucchini and mushrooms. I threw the cooked potatoes in at the last minute because it suddenly occurred to me and they were already cooked. I used mozeralla cheese with a little parmesan (from the jar in the fridge -- definitely not freshly grated). I was worried because I of course added ingredients, added an extra egg, extra cheese, and used too small of pan --a large cast iron skillet but not 12". I don't think I got my pan hot enough before adding the egg mixture. I panicked over the low setting and my thick mixture due to pan size, so I bumped the heat up a bit probably overcooking the eggs more than designed. Yet despite all this, the frittata was great and eaten completely up by DH, 1 year old son, and 2 year old daughter. This method of cooking a frittata really distinguishes this dish from a quiche or an omelette. Cooking on the stovetop and then under the broiler gave the egg a yummy flavor. I will definitely be repeating this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I loved the flavor of this one, but not the texture. It was a little runny. I'm going to try it again with grating and draining the vegetables, rather than slicing, and then baking in the oven, rather than on the stovetop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      This gets 4.5 stars! Very easy to make and you can modify this in so many ways to use up whatever fresh veggies, herbs, and spices you have on hand! We ate this for dinner the other night and everyone loved it! Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      This was delicious. Mine took longer than 15 minutes to set on the stove, so I popped it in the oven at 500 degrees to finish cooking. (I didn't use the broiler because mine is broken.) I'm looking forward to serving this for Easter brunch. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      I followed the instructions exactly as written and ended up with the most delicious frittata that was equally good hot or cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Directions were easy to follow and results were tasty. I made it for myself with one large zucchini and two eggs in my smallest skillet. Thanks for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      I made the full recipe which fed 3 of us for a light dinner with a salad on the side, one a very light eater and the other medium and big serves. The only changes I made was to tear the fresh basil and grate the zucchini and then squeeze and drain in a sieve (I knew it would be the only way I would get the DM to eat it), once the onion was softened I added it to the pan till heated through and releasing liquid, I then put this mix in the sieve and squeezed out excess liquid and continue as per recipe. A very enjoyable and light dinner, thank you Dee514, made for May "Farm Cooking" Photo Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! The instructions were great. I've always been afraid to attempt a frittata, because even though I cook a great deal, my eggs never turn out great. This was easy and fabulous. It even turned out of the pan and looked beautiful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I used fresh thyme and basil in making this frittata. I cut the zucchini back to 1 pound, as I thought it was a lot of zucchini compared to the number of eggs used. I think it could have used more thyme for me or maybe a minced clove of garlic. I used my flexible silicone spatula to get this out of the pan and it worked perfect. Thanks for a delicious lunch. Made for *Healthy Choices ABC Tag 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Delicious! I added a little bit of fresh mozzarella cheese, and freshly grated romano cheese. I served with roasted asparagus and potatoes that were tossed with olive oil and kosher salt. My husband admitted to, "Being a little freaked out about this at first," but totally LOVED it. Thanks Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I has a little angel hair pasta leftover, so I decided to make a frittata, and I am so glad I picked this easy recipe. I used up my zucchini, and the half of tomato left also in it. This will be my frequent, easy, fast, recipe from now on. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      So hooked on this fabulous recipe I cook it almost every week. Got my daughter & co-workers hooked also. Fantastic!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      What a delightful way to use the abundance of zucchini! I used only 1 tablespoon of olive oil and added garlic and the fresh thyme to the sauteeing veggies. Also used 6 eggs for the two of us. The thyme really shines in this recipe. I used parsley rather than basil. Served with Kohlrabi Slaw and some fresh raspberries and vanilla yogurt for dessert. Thanks for sharing!! My partner and I enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      This was great made almost as directed but added a couple cloves of garlic when I sauted the onion no thyme but parsley (don't like basil) and some hot pepper flakes. I did grate the zucchini and squeeze out the excess water just to make this a little quicker. Thanks for the great recipe. I love frittatas, they are so versitile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This is my favorite way to deal with our gluttony of garden zucchinis in the summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Wow my whole family liked this! We add all sorts of veggies and greens, Swiss Chard is fantastic in this. Great directions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frittata Di Zucchine (Zucchini Frittata)

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.9
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    69%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 239.7 mg
    79%
    Sodium 565.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes