Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frito Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frito Pie

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2008

      Being from Texas, Frito Pie was the 6th food group....especially at a football game! Wolf Brand Chili is the only way to go (NO BEANS!). I eat mine with diced red onion, cheese and sour cream on top. I absolutely hate mustard so I'll have to leave that one out. :-) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      also a great recipe to use for fund-raising events! our p.t.a. sold them at fun night recently and served them directly out of snack-size bags of fritos corn chips. a fun presentation, yummy and very popular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      This was a fun Sunday night dinner. I used Kelly's Chili for the chili. We've never had Frito Pie before & DH felt a pie should have a top, so I topped with crushed corn chips & grated cheese. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      Yummy! I made these for the "Tailgate Potluck" and they turned out quite better than the football game I was watching (my team lost). These are like chili nachos and taste great with either jalapenos on top or a splash of tabasco sauce. Nice easy football snack! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      i have to agree with everyone else -- hard to mess this up -- what i love is that it works whether i am using vegetarian chili, chicken chili, canned chili or homemade chili and i can control the spices depending on who i am making it for -- mine is always hotter then the bowl i make for anyone else

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      No better way of using left over chili.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      What a great walk down memory lane! When I was young I used to live in West Texas and had more than my fair share of frito pies, lol. I haven't had one for years, so totally enjoyed this one. Thanks for the blast from the past JustaQT! Made for Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Can't really go wrong with this one. YUMMO!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Definately one of my favorite comfort foods. You cannot improve this recipe...well maybe you can spice it up to your heat level preference with chopped jalapenos, but that's all. I love this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I love Frito pie. Moving to Idaho from Oklahoma, people thought I was crazy when I mentioned Frito Pie. I love to make it with leftover home made chili. Thanks for posting this, so it won't be just a southern thing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      Pretty yummy! I've never heard of this dish but it sounds like it's a STAPLE munchie to everyone else! I've decided that I will only make it on Superbowl Sunday, though. Or when I want to indulge! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I live Frito Pies!! It must be a Texas thing. They are the best with mustard. I always thought adding mustard was gross when my mom used to add it when I was young, but she sure knew what she was talking about when she said it's the only way to eat a frito pie. I sometimes use Doritos instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Always look forward to having this as one of the meals a day or two after making a big pot of chili. Sometimes I'll substitute the corn chips with some good, greasy, salty french fries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Even better with a glob of sour cream on top.I have eaten this since my school days 50 years ago.Anyway,I always had to fix it for my yankee hubby when we were in Texas but I had the pleasure of using wolf brand chili.I have not found it up here in the north.And I have looked.I still remember the commercials when the weather turned cool back home,"it's wolf brand chili weather."That meant to us it was time for frito pie!Thank you for posting this one justaqt.It is suppose to snow today, so guess what's for dinner?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Being from Arkansas - I LOVE Frito Pie, I actually prefer the little frito chips b/c you are really supposed to eat frito pie with a fork - one question though - are those TORTILLA chips in the picture? uh, no no no no :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I love frito pie. Try using the Fritos Scoops. You can pick them up better and eat them like nachos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      The first time I had ever even heard of a frito pie was at a military summer bash that they were being served at. Now, I have southern roots so I would have expected to know what a frito pie was, but I guess those southern roots aren't as deep as I thought. lol! These are very good, though, and it was better late then never that I discovered these. Thank you for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      I'm from TX and Frito Pie is the only way I eat my chili! Gotta have the bed of Fritos and the cheese and sour cream (never heard of mustard on chili...) on top! YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Frito Pie was a standard fare on Wednesdays at South San Antonio High School. I have made it for many years and have added sliced black olives. Today I put shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes on top. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      This was a great, easy lunch for our camping trip. Everyone had 2nds(and 3rds).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frito Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.5
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    52%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 73.1 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1511.7 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    45%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corn chips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes