90 Reviews

I'm not going to pull the "Well I decreased the salt by 8 grains and made it even better!" And I'm not going to say that this was as good as Lay's...

...because it's better! OMG! You're looking at someone who has craved Lay's since he was a teen boy! I made your recipe tonight for my dad and best friend and they wolfed it down!

Thank you! You're a genius! :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wondercookie January 29, 2011

Made this on a whim -- and because we love FL bean dip but I hate the price :). This is dead-on for a replacement. DH and his buddy who eat this cans at a time did not know it was homemade -- thought I just put a couple of cans into a chip/dip bowl to the party!!! Can't get any better than that! Thanks for posting

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixie735 April 22, 2010

Made as directed with fat free refried beans. Very good and similar to the real deal.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister December 14, 2010

I've been making this for months now and am just now getting around to reviewing it. It is Wonderful!!! I use Pace refried beans and throw everything into a blender since I dont have a food processor. Thanks so much for the recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxSweetchick80 December 14, 2008

The overall taste of this dip is really good! The reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it it WAAAY to Salty. It does not need salt or sugar. The can of beans I bought had salt, plus I am going to eat them with Fritos Corn chips , which have allot of salt. The rest of the ingredients I would say are pretty good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie #7 August 18, 2013

I used to drive a route truck for Frito Lay.
Often times lunch would be a can of bean dip and a small bag of Fritos Scoups.

I gotta tell ya, this is as close as it gets! Good stuff!
It took longer to clean the food processor bowl than it did to make the dip.

Thank you for a tasty treat that isn't always available in this rural area.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7SlotFever November 17, 2012

This is a perfect clone. I'd have to taste them side by side to try to tell the difference but that won't happen because I won't buy the overpriced Frito Lay dip anymore. A great use for this other than dip is to buy one of the hard/soft taco kits. Spread a Tbl or more of this dip over the soft taco then using the adhesive quality of the dip wrap it around the crunchy taco and then fill as usual. You'll wind up with 6 hard/soft tacos instead of 6 hard tacos 6 soft tacos, but they are so good! And filling, too.
I see that Meijer's is having a buy one, get one free on Frito Lay Scoops in a couple of days so I've got to make up some more of this delicious dip. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redox April 20, 2012

Fantastic! I made this once for co-workers, and its been requested ever since, I use it in a layer dip, and I also use it to make bean burritos! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matahari's revenge August 20, 2011

My husband wanted me to try to duplicate the Fritos bean dip, but i altered the recipe a little. Zatarains has a seasoning called Blackened Seasoning and a substituted all the spices for it and just added a teaspoon and a half of the Zatarains and it turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilynjake02 January 03, 2011

My DH and I loved this recipe. It was super easy to make, and super yummy to eat! Thank you for sharing an economical alternative to one of our favorite dips! We will be making this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paigeisme June 24, 2010
Frito Lay Bean Dip