Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frito Chili Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frito Chili Pie

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2014

      Nice version of the standard frito pie. Loved the addition of the tamales. Thanks for sharing. Made for Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is just sooo goood. I took it to a potluck and everyone loved it. I forgot to rate it (months ago - sorry) but my daughter is having a pot luck and I thought about this recipe again! Love the addition of the tamales.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      Nice easy supper. I added 2 cans of chili as it looked alittle 'dry' with one. Will make again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Frito Chili Pie has been one of my favorites for years. The tamales add a nice addition to regular Frito Chili Pie. Quick and easy. Thanks islandgirl77551. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      My family loved this. I have very picky kids, I never know what they are going to eat. I made this one night last week and they ate the entire pan in one night. It was super easy to prepare and one that I will do again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This was a great fast and easy recipe to fix. I used homemade tamales that I had frozen. Used two cans of turkey chili and 2% cheese. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      A+ for ease of preparation...however I didn't enjoy the canned tamales flavor (maybe just the brand - I had Hormel). I thought that the inside Fritos got soggy during baking - and the leftovers didn't reheat well at all! No big loss, since the ingredients were inexpensive and the recipe was so easy, however I don't think I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      My family has been making this recipe for many years now.I love it and so do my children...DD requests it often.I use a 9x13 pan and double everything. We also garnish it with extra fritos. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Another simple dinner for busy (or lazy) nights! :) I used frozen tamales (thawed in the microwave and corn husks removed) and increased the chili to 2 cans. I was craving some comfort food, and this hit the spot. We served it up with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and onions, sour cream and Spicy Guacamole (Spicy Guacamole). Mmmm. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      I really hoped my family would like this but was disappointed with the results. I followed the recipe exactly but the top layer was very dried out. It certainly was easy to prepare. I'm sorry it didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      This deserves 5 stars alone just for being so easy to throw together. I made this the other night and I have to tell you, I was very skeptical about tamales in a can. In all my 29yrs...I have never touched the things because I thought they would be gross...I was so wrong...they actually taste good. Getting back to the Frito Chili Pie though...the only thing I did differently was saute my onions in a little bit of butter first and mixed it in with the chili. Good recipe, my DH and I enjoyed it...thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      I just have to give this a high rating--super easy, quick, and, of course, tastes great. :) I had never made Frito casserole using tamales, so after I saw this recipe I decided get the ingredients to have on hand for the next night I either did not feel like cooking, or had to throw something together at the last minute. When at the store, I couldn't remember the size can of tamales, and I bought a 28-ounce can. I ended up using 2 cans of chili, but kept with the original 2 cups of cheese (used a Mexican blend) and only about 5 ounces of Fritos. Left the onions out for the sake of my son, and my husband and I just added them (and jalapenos) at the table. I hadn't eaten canned tamales since I was a kid--enjoyed them as a base for this casserole. Great comfort food for a cold night, or for any night you are short on energy or time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frito Chili Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1014.3
     
    Calories from Fat 514
    50%
    Total Fat 57.1 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 113.8 mg
    37%
    Sodium 2361.2 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 17.0 g
    68%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 37.6 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes