Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frito Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frito Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2013

      A flavorful twist to Mexican cuisine. Quick and easy. Made exactly as written although I made my own Mexi-corn. Served as Super Bowl dinner with plenty left-over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Delicious!! This is so simple to make and tastes awesome. I made a couple of adjustments: first I chopped up one Jalapeno pepper, which I fried up with the ground beef, instead of the can of chilies; second I only put in half the bag of Frito's and left some to top after it was done cooking. I baked for about 25 minutes, it was heated through and the cheese was melted. My husband suggested next time leaving all the Frito's out and just topping each individual serving as they get mushy in the fridge for leftovers...so that is something I may try!! Overall this is a fantastic recipe, thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      It was a Thursday evening, didn't feel like running to the store, so I needed a fast and easy recipe. I made this with some minor substitutions. Used ground turkey, frozen corn and mexi-blend cheese. Otherwise, followed directions. My husband kept repeating, this is good! This is good! Next time I may add some jalapenos. Thank you for a quick, easy, and great tasting recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      I had my husband raising an eyebrow when I told him I was making "Frito Casserole" for dinner last night. The kids were also skeptical about it. The only thing I did differently was to add a can of black beans to the meat & corn mixture. My son tasted it first and let out a resounding, "THIS IS GOOD!" Definitely a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This was pretty good. I used plain whole kernel corn and mexican blend cheese. Perhaps next time I will add a layer of refried beans on top of the chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      I made this today- just as written- and we loved it! It was so easy but so favorful too! Will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      Very tasty! Very addictive! I followed the recipe with a few alterations. I sauted my onions in a TBS of bacon grease (hard to lose those southern roots-and yes, it was guilding the lily!) It seemed to add a subtle smokiness to the whole dish. Then I browned up my beef--seasoning the beef as it cooked. Once the beef was browned, I mixed in the onions. Finally, I add the minced garlic cloves and cooked very briefly. Removed the pan from heat and mixed in soup, corn, and chilies. Only briefly heating the garlic seemed to kick up the garlic flavor a bit--not overpowering just a strong hint of it. The only other alteration I did was use all pepper jack cheese on top. All of this was so easy to throw together. The greatest amount of time was spent browning the beef. Quick and easy! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      Wow..I invited the children from next door. Mind you I have no children at home. They had a blast. Seved with Fruit and Buttered Bread. It was a wonderful time. Thank You Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      Made this for my son's birthday party. The kids sure loved it and I saw quite a few adults chowing down on it, too. That it is quick and easy doesn't hurt, either. This one is great kid food. Thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2003

      This is a great quickie meal. Like the idea of using sour cream and peppers. Will try that next time. This will be a regular in our home!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2003

      I made this in a 9 X 13 pan. I didn't have any mexicorn so I added regular corn and about a teaspoon of tabasco. I used a mixture of pepper jack and cheddar for the cheese. Other than that I made it exactly the way the recipe said. I had five adults for dinnner and the pan was scraped clean before we got to dessert. I was a little skeptical at this dish but it really is addictive! I think any age group would enjoy this. And it would be great for a potluck. Definitely different! Thanks for a great main dish that's so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      We really enjoyed this casserole. I used those large restaurant chips in lieu of actual Fritos 'cause that's what I had ---kinda' like doritos, actually---; I added 1 tsp of chili powder and 1/4 tsp of Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy seasoning to the meat, soup, corn & green chilies mixture. This was a really quick dish to prepare and my family liked it A LOT! Our daughter ate hers with extra sour cream and DH and I added jalopenos. Thanks for the recipe NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frito Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 679.7
     
    Calories from Fat 362
    53%
    Total Fat 40.3 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 84.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1471.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes