Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Frijoles (Mexican Style Pinto Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Frijoles (Mexican Style Pinto Beans)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2009

      Arriba, arriba, andele! I don't know if that slang is appropriate or not, but I couldn't help thinking the phrase throughout my cooking process. I cooked 2 lbs of pintos using a ham bone for seasoning and purposely cooked them thick to be used in burritos and dip. Excellent recipe...muchas gracias!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      These were very tasty. I made them re-fried and everyone enjoyed them. I only used 1 jalapeno and next time will bump up the spice becuase our beans had more of a bacon flavor than spicy but still very good. I made the whole batch re-fried and plan to freeze the leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      this is how i make the beans better than canned guys thanks for posting this recipe you can also use a hamhock add have a really fine dinner of beans and corn bread before you mash the little suckers lol dee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2014

      Wow, these were amazing. I used salt pork and it gave the beans fabulous depth of flavor. Will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      OH MAN...this was the BOMB. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      These are great! I am still loving them. I'm a big rice and beans fan and these are the beans! I did sub two items because I did not have what was called for. Chipoltle chilles in Adobo sauce (I turn it into a paste in a food processor and refrigerate for later), and ground cumin. Other than that, I'll be making these over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      These are lovely! Thank you for the very detailed, easy to follow recipe. I used bacon, and am very happy with the flavor. I haven't mashed any yet. I'm not sure they will last long enough to do so. Well, maybe next time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I made these many times following the recipe as posted with one exception - I use ground cumin instead of cumin seeds. It is a great recipe if you are looking for authentic tasting mexican pinto beans. Living in So Cal I have had my share of Mex beans - and this recipe is as good as the great ones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Frijoles (Mexican Style Pinto Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.0
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    73%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 9.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 817.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes