Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Friedel's Old-Fashioned Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Friedel's Old-Fashioned Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2002

      Friedel, Thank you for posting this recipe. It is the best baked bean recipe I have tried AND I have tried many recipes in the past 6 months. It is well worth the time spent in cooking these beans. I was thinking that the vinegar must help to soften the beans. My family loved them. I am actually eating baked beans on toast for breakfast right now as I type this review. I just couldn't wait to tell you that they turned out fantastic!!! The addition of bacon was so self-indulgent but I ain't complaining. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      these are the best baked beans I've ever tasted! A little tangy, a little sweet - just plain good. Absolutely worth the time and effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      I agree - the best ever! Try cooking them in the crockpot, if you don't want to have your oven on all day. I still simmered for 30 minutes, then cooked in the crockpot, adding a bit more water, on high for 8 hours, then on low for 2. Still a lot of cooking time, but less confining...and still AWESOME! I'll never buy beans again. Thanks for a great recipe! wmg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      These really were awsome baked beans. I doubled the recipe and it was easy and very yumpy! We had a big BBQ on July 1st with LOTS of people, and everyone was very impressed. We all agreed that they are SO much better than canned beans. Thanks so much for the great recipe, I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      My husband could not stop commenting on how delicious these beans were while he was eating them. He had two huge bowls, and gave them five stars, a rare compliment from him! I heartily agree with him! I did add the bacon and was very happy I did. The only thing I found was that eventhough I added just enough water to cover the beans when I started, there seemed to be a lot of liquid about half way through. I vented the beans after that and took the cover completely off for the last hour. I also let them stand about 25 minutes after taking them out of the oven and they thickened quite nicely. Otherwise, I made them exactly as stated (I used black-eye peas and they worked pefectly!) DH has already asked me to make them again! Terrific recipe that is highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I did not use bacon because we had a vegetarian with us. I also put in the crock pot to simmer as I was very busy that day. The flavor and aroma was wonderful - 5 stars but the color came out so light and odd and the sauce did not thicken at all so I'm giving it 4. This could have been caused by the crock? I don't want to deter anyone from trying this as we did not have any leftovers they just weren't what I would call baked beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This turned out pretty good! If my kids will eat beans from scratch, it's good. They will only touch Busch's. I used 5 C cooked beans (black/gr. north./pinto) and 5 C water and cooked in the crockpot on high for 4 hours and low for 3. I cooked the bacon first and used ground mustard (1 tsp) and added cooked ground beef at the end. It had too much liquid, so next time I might do 4 C water and 5 C beans. Will be serving to company in a few weeks- this was a dry run and it turned out well. Thansks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Excellent, worth all the time. The flavor was excellent and I will definantly be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      This is a terrific recipe. Great flavour. I put mine in the crockpot for 4-1/2 hours, then baked it uncovered for 1/2 an hour at 350*, just to get rid of some of the liquid. This is the perfect recipe. It may be a little time consuming, but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      great beans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Nice fresh baked bean taste. We really liked them. However, I think I would have gotten a similar result (with much less effort) from opening two large cans of Bush's Baked Beans and heating and then broiling briefly in the oven to darken the beans. It is nice to know what goes into making baked beans and they were good for subsequent breakfasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      What a recipe! Much better than canned baked beans! My husband absolutely loved them as is but I added a half cup of brown sugar as I like mine sweeter. I couldn't find white pea beans so I just used pinto beans and that worked great. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      Great recipe! The only comment I got was this is not Cambells. I wouldn't change a thing. The recipe can't be improved on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Friedel's Old-Fashioned Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (456 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.6
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    93%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1497.9 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 22.6 g
    90%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes