10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The fried zucchini went really well with the garlic and yogurt. Nice appetizer or a late night snack. Made for Ramadan Tag 2010

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pali's Favorites September 02, 2010

For whatever reason, I had a difficult time getting the batter to stick to the veggies. Mystery! I used fresh organic zucchini and yellow crookneck squash. A real treat as we only deep fry (well, use more oil, it's not really "deep" frying) once or twice a year. Bottoms up! cg

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 29, 2009

I followed most of the instructions, but in addition to the process, added smashed garlic to the oil for aroma and used eggplant as well - both zucchini and eggplant were sliced and rubbed in salt to take off the bitter taste and to prevent discolouration. I also used self-raising flour for the batter and then coated it with all-purpose flour. This gave it a lighter, more puffy texture. I thought the yoghurt was a bit too subtle, couldn't really taste the garlic yoghurt. The yoghurt was also too thick for my liking so I whipped it well, and added garlic-infused olive oil, as well as roasted pressed garlic. Overall, it's a wonderful idea and relatively simple to make. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Deux Petits Chefs! January 29, 2008

I loved this recipe Bethie. The fried zucchini and garlic yogurt sauce was perfect. The method for frying the zucchini was excellent, resulting in beautiful crisp, puffy, soft and tender zucchini. The garlic yogurt was the bomb. It was so good, I did use a nice thick greek yogurt. Thanks for sharing this treasure. Made for NA/ME

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 11, 2012

Dugan and I loved these tasty and crispy morsels. I served these as finger food while we played Scrabble with friends. We all loved them. I added some cayenne pepper to the dry flour mixture. The spicy was nice with the cool yogurt. Our Scrabble tiles were a little greasy from our fingers but we thought it was worth it. By the way... I got a triple word score using the word "Yum". Thanks, dear!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber August 13, 2007

Loved it. The zucchini were lovely, not too hard to put together and fry because the batter was a good consistancy. I took note of the other reviews and used only a pinch of salt and it wasn't too salty at all. Although I cut the recipe down for less servings I did keep the sauce rather garlicy and it was a sharp contrast to the crunch of the batter and the cripsness of the zucchini. The flavours went well together. Lovely dish to have on the table for a crowd and a "dip it" theme. Please see my rating system: an excellent 4 stars for a new take on Zucchini that was tasty indeed. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 07, 2007

I crushed the salt with the garlic, then added the yoghurt. I thought the salt brought out the other flavors; very good. The zucchini fritters were straightforward enough...simple to prepare and tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mme M January 03, 2007

I am not going to rate it as such because I only took the garlic sauce from this recipe. However, I thought the sauce was way too salty so for anyone who is not used to salty food, you may want to add the salt to the yogourt very slowly and taste it as you go.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay November 11, 2006

yum, yum, yum. Don't often eat fried food but these are worth it! They are easy to make and re heat well in the oven the next day (i actually preferred them the next day) I made the garlic yoghurt which went well but I also had some Gingered sour cream left over from one of Mirj's recipies and that went VERY well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom September 30, 2006

We enjoyed these yummy disks of pure delight! I used a mandoline to slice one zucchini into uniform slices. These are similar to ones I had at a local bar. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I bought one of those little one serving organic yogurt cups since it is only two of us and adjusted the amount of garlic to it. These would also be good with powdered sugar sprinkled on them. Made for Happy New Year NA*ME tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo January 18, 2013
Fried Zucchini With Garlic Yogurt