35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written except I used seasoning salt instead of salt. These were good but I thought they could have had more flavor. The batter could use more seasoning. I also cut back the water to 1/3 cup as others suggested.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 06, 2011

By far the best batter I have found for vegetables. Could probably work for just about anything else too! Like others, I found I needed to adjust the amount of water. I believe 1/3 cup is what you should shoot for. Delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shylocke April 28, 2010

I have made these twice and froze them. I did add some seasoning salt, and I think one time some Parmesan cheese. Hubby says they are even better than the ones I serve at work. That is why I made them twice. To reheat he just puts them in the oven, I don't know what temp, or how long. He does the when I am at work. Finally know how long to reheat them, at 425 F for 10 minutes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasb March 28, 2010

I loved this recipe. It was nice and easy! I hate dipping stuff in egg and then this and then egg and then that. This is just one dip and then fry. It reminded me of a tempura batter. I will try this with other things. I'm gonna try green beans next...YUM!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze's Mom August 08, 2009

When I see a recipe with so many good reviews, I expect it to be something special. Sorry to say, this was not. Although the consistency of the batter was ok, I thought the taste was very bland, very disappointing...just not worth all the mess. I ended up peeling the crust off my zucchini slices and reheating them with garlic and parmesan and eating it that way instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 31, 2010

I think my shoes would taste good dipped and fried in this batter, that's how light, crisy & flavorful it was! Will use many times again. I followed the recipe exactly, but let the batter sit as others had suggested. It thickened, and it seemed to stick beautifully to everything, except the zucchini! It was well worth the challange because the end result was out of this world! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
time4takeout June 27, 2010

Very simple and tasty recipe. I found stirring the batter frequently help "the goodness" really stand out while frying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uncle tim May 20, 2010

This was great! Very good consistency using 1/3 cup water ... 1/2 cup would be too runny. As was, when we added the veggies, the mixture became too runny, so we added a bit more flour. The finished product was crisp, flavorful, and we loved it! Hubby told me to keep this recipe for use with all kinds of foods, which is a high compliment, coming from him!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel'sWife May 14, 2010

Having read some of the other reviews, I started out with half the water in this recipe. I ended up adding the rest, though. The batter clings to the vegetables and makes for a beautiful, crisp finished product. I was looking for a batter recipe that doesn't use beer, as I didn't have any on hand and very much wanted something deep fried! This certainly lives up to my expectations! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabeau November 02, 2009

Delicious! I made this the other night with french dips and we will make these again. The kids asked what they were and when told they decieded not to try them. But....after DH and I ate ours and commented on how good they were thekids tried them and ate the rest of them!! DS thought they were the "best ever".....lol. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 13, 2009
Fried Zucchini Batter