Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Zucchini Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Zucchini Batter

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2011

      These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written except I used seasoning salt instead of salt. These were good but I thought they could have had more flavor. The batter could use more seasoning. I also cut back the water to 1/3 cup as others suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      By far the best batter I have found for vegetables. Could probably work for just about anything else too! Like others, I found I needed to adjust the amount of water. I believe 1/3 cup is what you should shoot for. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I have made these twice and froze them. I did add some seasoning salt, and I think one time some Parmesan cheese. Hubby says they are even better than the ones I serve at work. That is why I made them twice. To reheat he just puts them in the oven, I don't know what temp, or how long. He does the when I am at work. Finally know how long to reheat them, at 425 F for 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      I loved this recipe. It was nice and easy! I hate dipping stuff in egg and then this and then egg and then that. This is just one dip and then fry. It reminded me of a tempura batter. I will try this with other things. I'm gonna try green beans next...YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      When I see a recipe with so many good reviews, I expect it to be something special. Sorry to say, this was not. Although the consistency of the batter was ok, I thought the taste was very bland, very disappointing...just not worth all the mess. I ended up peeling the crust off my zucchini slices and reheating them with garlic and parmesan and eating it that way instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I think my shoes would taste good dipped and fried in this batter, that's how light, crisy & flavorful it was! Will use many times again. I followed the recipe exactly, but let the batter sit as others had suggested. It thickened, and it seemed to stick beautifully to everything, except the zucchini! It was well worth the challange because the end result was out of this world! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Very simple and tasty recipe. I found stirring the batter frequently help "the goodness" really stand out while frying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This was great! Very good consistency using 1/3 cup water ... 1/2 cup would be too runny. As was, when we added the veggies, the mixture became too runny, so we added a bit more flour. The finished product was crisp, flavorful, and we loved it! Hubby told me to keep this recipe for use with all kinds of foods, which is a high compliment, coming from him!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Having read some of the other reviews, I started out with half the water in this recipe. I ended up adding the rest, though. The batter clings to the vegetables and makes for a beautiful, crisp finished product. I was looking for a batter recipe that doesn't use beer, as I didn't have any on hand and very much wanted something deep fried! This certainly lives up to my expectations! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Delicious! I made this the other night with french dips and we will make these again. The kids asked what they were and when told they decieded not to try them. But....after DH and I ate ours and commented on how good they were thekids tried them and ate the rest of them!! DS thought they were the "best ever".....lol. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Wonderful basic batter recipe. I love simple and tasty and this one fits the bill. I add 1/2 tsp of onion powder as well. Monday is now "fry day" as the local farmer's market offers a variety of veggies to toss into the fry pan. Pat veggies dry to ensure maximum sticking! I use safflower oil and a thermometer (350F) and always get crispy delicious results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is a nice tasting recipe and very easy to make. Be sure to serve them right after cooking or they may seem soft instead of crispy.. but overall a wonderful recipe and it can be used on any veggie we even used broccoli and it was great :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2014

    • on August 20, 2013

      I give it a 5 with some changes. I read there was too much water in the recipe...not the case. Like a good cook add all dry ingredients first then add the (pre-beaten) egg and water. I used 2 tsp. of salt. 1 tsp. of garlic powder. 1 tsp. of onion powder and 1/4 tsp. of paprika. It turned out tasting like a beautiful Fair Zucchini! Seasoning is important. Please add dry ingredients first and then judge how much water to use. I actually used a smidge more water than required. Great recipe with more spices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Excellent! Light and crispy batter. I added a touch of cayenne and the family loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Very good recipe--makes a light crisp crust that is very tasty. A little like a tempura batter in texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      Once again, I didn't read through the reviews because I was in a hurry. It just seemed to be a good recipe...and it was, after I tweaked it a bit. Definitely use less water. My first round of zucchini slices, the batter didn't really stick to them and they were a bit disappointing. It was while they were frying I read the reviews and noticed the comments on the water (I kind of wondered while making it, but just made it like it was because I was running short on time). I added more cornstarch and flour and the next round was terrific. If you're looking for something with a lot of seasoning, you'll have to add your own...salt, garlic powder and pepper are minimal seasoning in my opinion. I liked it as it was (when the batter was thicker, it stuck to the slices and fried up very nicely), even with the minimal seasoning, and think it's a great base for something even zestier or spicy, just add more seasoning. I'd give it 5 stars if it weren't for the fact that as written, the batter is just kind of disappointing. But, I will definitely use this recipe again, just making a note to use less water next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      My kids were never really fans of zucchini until I tried your recipe tonight. They loved it! Based on other reviews, I used less water when making the batter, but found it to be too thick to stir. I ended up using the full amount of water and the batter turned out perfectly. I also added a little onion powder to the mixture. The zucchini sticks came out nice and crispy and the coating was delicious. This is a definite 5-star in our household!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! Was a little messy but awesome flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Great batter. We really loved the zucchini cooked this way when we are not watching our fat grams. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Zucchini Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    27%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 656.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites