25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good one to get picky eaters to eat. From my husband down to my 3 kids (ages 13, 12,and 5) they all love it. The only difference that I do to this recipe is I use whole milk sometimes. It works just as great and works in a pinch if you don't have buttermilk on hand. Even though I believe the buttermilk method is better myself. My grandma and mom made it that way and it reminds me of them and home everytime I make it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Teshon July 14, 2002

I used Greek yogurt to soak them in and it was amazing! Also used Jiffy corm bread mix instead of cornmeal, Melted in your mouth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marydaddy June 24, 2009

I didn't have any buttermilk so I used one cup of milk 1 T. cider vinegar, which gave this a really nice flavor. I also fried up some sliced green tomatoes and some overgrown green beans using this method. We loved it! I loved that I didn't need a big pot of oil to fry these....I used just about 1/2 to 3/4 inch in my medium frying pan. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude August 22, 2011

I have never done the soaking in buttermilk step and that really does improve the texture of these "chips." I will make them this way from now on, but probably use only flour as per my preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech May 27, 2009

Tried this with Zucchini instead of yellow squash, and it came out wonderfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChezPuppy March 15, 2009

I wish I could give this 10 stars! I used both yellow squash & zucchini, no flour, just white stone-ground cornmeal, salt, pepper, and 1/2 tsp. sugar. Used Southerngals' suggestion with milk & lemon juice for soaking. Fried in cast iron skillet... Pure Heaven!! I can't wait to do this with green tomatos. Thank you for a definite keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate January 23, 2009

Not sure if we will make again my husband wasn't a fan. As it cooked I was nervous but I did like it, the flavor was like eating a potato chip. my 1.5 year old ate several!!! We were shocked usually new food he ignores or we try to hand feed him at least one bite. So I may make again for him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m August 11, 2008

We really did like this recipe. It was so nice and crunchy. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 03, 2008

So very good. Equally as good for breakfast! Yes breakfast. Ummmm, cold squash with crispy bacon and white gravy- ahh to die for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan49 April 09, 2008

It was GREAT, It was everyone's favorite dish at the table. I made a few minor changes. I used a deep fryer instead of skillet frying. I also put the multiple batches into the toaster oven to keep them all warm, while the rest of the squash was cooking. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emeraldfire May 23, 2007
Fried Yellow Squash