Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Yellow Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Yellow Squash

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      This is a good one to get picky eaters to eat. From my husband down to my 3 kids (ages 13, 12,and 5) they all love it. The only difference that I do to this recipe is I use whole milk sometimes. It works just as great and works in a pinch if you don't have buttermilk on hand. Even though I believe the buttermilk method is better myself. My grandma and mom made it that way and it reminds me of them and home everytime I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I used Greek yogurt to soak them in and it was amazing! Also used Jiffy corm bread mix instead of cornmeal, Melted in your mouth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      I didn't have any buttermilk so I used one cup of milk 1 T. cider vinegar, which gave this a really nice flavor. I also fried up some sliced green tomatoes and some overgrown green beans using this method. We loved it! I loved that I didn't need a big pot of oil to fry these....I used just about 1/2 to 3/4 inch in my medium frying pan. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I have never done the soaking in buttermilk step and that really does improve the texture of these "chips." I will make them this way from now on, but probably use only flour as per my preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Tried this with Zucchini instead of yellow squash, and it came out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I wish I could give this 10 stars! I used both yellow squash & zucchini, no flour, just white stone-ground cornmeal, salt, pepper, and 1/2 tsp. sugar. Used Southerngals' suggestion with milk & lemon juice for soaking. Fried in cast iron skillet... Pure Heaven!! I can't wait to do this with green tomatos. Thank you for a definite keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Not sure if we will make again my husband wasn't a fan. As it cooked I was nervous but I did like it, the flavor was like eating a potato chip. my 1.5 year old ate several!!! We were shocked usually new food he ignores or we try to hand feed him at least one bite. So I may make again for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      We really did like this recipe. It was so nice and crunchy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      So very good. Equally as good for breakfast! Yes breakfast. Ummmm, cold squash with crispy bacon and white gravy- ahh to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      It was GREAT, It was everyone's favorite dish at the table. I made a few minor changes. I used a deep fryer instead of skillet frying. I also put the multiple batches into the toaster oven to keep them all warm, while the rest of the squash was cooking. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Made this with fresh squash from our garden. Soaking in buttermilk was a new step for me when preparing fried squash. The squash were crispy and had a nice flavor. Thanks M. Messer. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      My mother used to make this when I was small...I have looked all over for a recipe that tasted like hers...this is it! What would I do without Recipezaar...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      A friend gave me some fresh out of the garden yellow squash. I used some in a casserole but had 3 left over so I tried my hand at this. I'm normally pretty impaired when it comes to frying. Don't know why but I've just never had much luck...until now. These turned out beautifully. Nice and crisp but not at all greasy. I love that the batter was light enough to still be able to taste the squash. Followed the recipe exactly and cannot wait to make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      My 5 and 3 year old loved it!! I got them some ranch to dip it in and they ate it all before the rest of dinner was done! I also thought it was good but not great. I think I would like it better with bread crumbs. So I will try that next time. Dh didn't like it (he isn't a squash fan anyway).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      Oh my gosh! This was so good! And the best part is that it was so simple and not messy. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 cup of milk with about 1 Tbsp. of lemon juice added to it. (This is the substitute if you don't have buttermilk.) I used yellow squash and zucchini from our garden. I soaked the slices in the milk for about 20 or 30 minutes. And I believe that this is the secret. They had a buttery taste to them and were equally good alone as well as with dipping in ranch dressing. Thanks M for a great recipe. I've fried zucchini before but I think this is the recipe I'll use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      Excellent recipe for fried squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      AWESOME! I loved this way of frying squash. From now on there is no other way! Thank you so much for sharing your way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      SUCH A GREAT RECIPE! I used extra fine italian bread crumbs in place of corn meal (that's all I had!) I also added seasoning salt as someone else suggested. So DELICIOUS! Next time I'll use the corn meal, but the bread crumbs did work wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      I'm sorry, but this didn't work for me. I made two batches. The first one i did exactly like the instructions. The coating was too hard and it just did not appeal. The second batch I also followed the instructions, but when I put them on paper towels, i left them a few hours. The coating was slightly better, but it was still not to my liking. I'm not sure whether I'm just not crazy about a cornmeal coating, or what. I had assumed i would love it by the other reviews, but it just didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      Absolutely delicious. I followed your directions exactly as written, the only change I made was using 2% milk, since I didn't have buttermilk on hand. This was the first time DH and myself ever had fried squash and we LOVED IT!! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Yellow Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (564 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 579.6
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    67%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 9.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 295.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 112.4 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites