243 Reviews

What a great way to use up little bits of leftover ingredients! I was looking for a recipe that would use up a small amount of leftover meat and rice and this fit the bill perfectly. This was very quick, easy, inexpensive, and tasty. This was indeed nothing like Asian style fried rice - this has a completely different taste. My family enjoyed this very much and we will make this again. The only changes I would make would be to decrease the amount of butter - I halved the butter and still felt I could have used nonstick butter flavor spray instead. I also thought the amount of soy sauce made this a little bit too salty - I would either reduce the amount or use lower sodium soy sauce. I suspect that the author perhaps eyeballs his soy sauce as he adds it to the rice - he instructs you to add soy sauce until the rice turns brown (so maybe he guessed approximately 1/4 cup and it is actually less?) Anyway, I still thought is was a very good family dish.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather January 21, 2002

Oriental Fried Rice is equivalent to the Western casserole. My parents are oriental, and the ingredients that go into their fried rice would be whatever leftover from the previous nights. This recipe, in my opinion, is excellent. The secret to a successful fried rice dish is to use leftover rice, since it is less sticky and easier to manipulate.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan April 13, 2002

I'm kind of on Walt's side. In my opinion, the peas, green peppers, overdose of soy sauce, and butter are the recipe's downfall. The second time I made it, I threw in bamboo shoots, diced red peppers, sliced water chestnuts, bean sprouts, chopped mushrooms, and diced carrots, all of which I stir-fried in a mixtute of peanut oil and sesame oil. As for meat, I included shredded, almost crispy, roast pork. Now THAT was fried rice!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® February 26, 2002

This is a great recipe! I left out the green pepper and the peas, and made it more traditional with fresh bean sprouts and green onion shoots(chopped)... it was very close to my favorite take out fried rice! Thanks Robbie!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. January 09, 2002

WALT!ARE YOU MINUS TASTEBUDS? I dont have to have tasted fried rice all over the world to know this is killer rice. Maybe I should prepare this dish for you, you must have not prepared it properly. You can also intensify the taste by cooking the rice in beef or chicken or vegtable broth. THIS IS A TERRIFIC DISH.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula giles October 19, 2001

This wasn't bad but not great either. For my money, the recipe's major downfall was too much soy sauce. Next time I'd use about half as much and I think I'd likely add a couple more veggies as well.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville September 16, 2002

I just made this today, and realized that I didn't have any peas, so I used about 1/3 of a bag of frozen mixed vegetables (peas, corn, carrots, and green beans), thawed, and it was WONDERFUL!!! I looooove this recipe!! ~Manda

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda August 25, 2002

I cooked the rice in chicken broth and I wouldn't do that again. The chicken flavour was too overpowering. I also thought there was too much soy sauce. I only used half of the soy sauce called for and it was quite enough.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie_411982671 January 25, 2002

I put mushrooms in and kinda messed with the quantities (I used about 3 cups of rice) and everything came out yummy yummy.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jared Hodak January 23, 2002

Great recipe, I've used left over bbq pork and beef, it was fantastic. Used only half of the soy sauce as the meat was salty allready. Frist time didn't have "mushed" rice, hehehe. Thank you.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rick August 02, 2002
Fried Rice