Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Rice

    Average Rating:

    243 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 243

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2002

      What a great way to use up little bits of leftover ingredients! I was looking for a recipe that would use up a small amount of leftover meat and rice and this fit the bill perfectly. This was very quick, easy, inexpensive, and tasty. This was indeed nothing like Asian style fried rice - this has a completely different taste. My family enjoyed this very much and we will make this again. The only changes I would make would be to decrease the amount of butter - I halved the butter and still felt I could have used nonstick butter flavor spray instead. I also thought the amount of soy sauce made this a little bit too salty - I would either reduce the amount or use lower sodium soy sauce. I suspect that the author perhaps eyeballs his soy sauce as he adds it to the rice - he instructs you to add soy sauce until the rice turns brown (so maybe he guessed approximately 1/4 cup and it is actually less?) Anyway, I still thought is was a very good family dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      Oriental Fried Rice is equivalent to the Western casserole. My parents are oriental, and the ingredients that go into their fried rice would be whatever leftover from the previous nights. This recipe, in my opinion, is excellent. The secret to a successful fried rice dish is to use leftover rice, since it is less sticky and easier to manipulate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2002

      I'm kind of on Walt's side. In my opinion, the peas, green peppers, overdose of soy sauce, and butter are the recipe's downfall. The second time I made it, I threw in bamboo shoots, diced red peppers, sliced water chestnuts, bean sprouts, chopped mushrooms, and diced carrots, all of which I stir-fried in a mixtute of peanut oil and sesame oil. As for meat, I included shredded, almost crispy, roast pork. Now THAT was fried rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2002

      This is a great recipe! I left out the green pepper and the peas, and made it more traditional with fresh bean sprouts and green onion shoots(chopped)... it was very close to my favorite take out fried rice! Thanks Robbie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2001

      WALT!ARE YOU MINUS TASTEBUDS? I dont have to have tasted fried rice all over the world to know this is killer rice. Maybe I should prepare this dish for you, you must have not prepared it properly. You can also intensify the taste by cooking the rice in beef or chicken or vegtable broth. THIS IS A TERRIFIC DISH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      This wasn't bad but not great either. For my money, the recipe's major downfall was too much soy sauce. Next time I'd use about half as much and I think I'd likely add a couple more veggies as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      I just made this today, and realized that I didn't have any peas, so I used about 1/3 of a bag of frozen mixed vegetables (peas, corn, carrots, and green beans), thawed, and it was WONDERFUL!!! I looooove this recipe!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2002

      I cooked the rice in chicken broth and I wouldn't do that again. The chicken flavour was too overpowering. I also thought there was too much soy sauce. I only used half of the soy sauce called for and it was quite enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2002

      I put mushrooms in and kinda messed with the quantities (I used about 3 cups of rice) and everything came out yummy yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Great recipe, I've used left over bbq pork and beef, it was fantastic. Used only half of the soy sauce as the meat was salty allready. Frist time didn't have "mushed" rice, hehehe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2001

      This is great. My family are not fond of green peppers so I diced up some baby carrots instead and put them into my rice as I turned off the heat. When all was added to my wok w/chicken...my kids ate it up for lunch today. Walt you have no clue to whats good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2001

      I made this dish once using shrimp and later beef. I have made it regularly ever since, freezing portions, then reheating them in the microwave in their plastic containers as a breakfast entree or snack. I find it convenient, fast, nutritious and tasty. Add a piece of fruit and you have a good breakfast. -Freeman Price-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2001

      I found that if you sautee your meat immediately beforehand and use the same pan for the rice the flavor is greatly intensified.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2001

      this recipe was very easy to make. i truly liked the taste n aroma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2001

      Cooks very fast, in fact I prepared everything in under 30 mins (including the rice, which I didn't chill) and tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2001

      I loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      We really enjoyed this dish, I used about a cup of leftover chicken, added the peas and also some mushrooms. Didnt find the soy sauce 'too much' at all. Thanks for a quick, easy and tasty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      This is an Excellent rice recipe! Next time we'll make it with more veggies, cooked until they are nicely sautéed in butter til veggies are still crisp, will use more eggs, and will use pork next time (we used chicken last time). I Love the versatility of this recipe with all the optional ingredients. We added carrots and celery, and I add whatever veggies I have on hand and it always turns out great. We don't think it's too salty, we used regular soy sauce and just added barely enough so that it was evenly colored. This is a definite hit at our house! I don’t care if it’s “authentic” fried rice or not, I just know we love it! Thank-you Robbie for the Awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      This fried rice is very much like what I've gotten at family-run Chinese restaurants for *years.* I added baby corn and left out the peppers and it was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2001

      This is simple and great tasting. This is just fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chicken Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.4
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    17%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1093.0 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes