12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Your description of the dish is very accurate. It was easy and very good. It was much better than the traditional wok fried rice. And basmati was a great change from long grain rice. Thank you Shereen.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo May 28, 2002

Well - I was desperate for a side dish - and the only rice I had on hand (don't laugh!) was instant brown rice...so that's what I used! I lowered the water amount to about 2 cups, and cooked it for less time. I also used 2 T. sesame oil, and 1 T. canola for extra authentic flavoring. I didn't have turmeric, so skipped that, and didn't want to take time to grate carrots, so cut large carrot into slivers....and MMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmm - this was PERFECT! After it was finished, I added approximately 2 T. soy sauce, and mixed into the rice. Barely had enough to go around! All the adults ate 2nds and 3rds of this - so THIS is a new addition to my cookbook! Thanks for sharing this quick & easy YUMMY recipe! Flavor was wonderful - and we'll enjoy this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing June 25, 2003

It was OK. Easy to make and looked good. We did however find it a tad bland, but-adding spices should be no problem to zing it up a bit. What we did not fancy was the egg. It sort of curdled up in the rice and just felt out of place. On the other hand the rice was moist and could easily be eaten on its own. I will try it again with more spices and without the egg. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo May 16, 2010

Yummy and easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cincichic January 15, 2008

Made this tonight for our family, and would have given it 5 stars, but the amounts of onion and carrot could have been doubled for our tastes. My children loved it though and will be making this again. Easy to make and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the Magic Ingredient is... August 20, 2007

As we eat alot of curries I found that this recipe was especialy good with leftovers the next day. Also yummy and satisfying on its own with yohgurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynsky43 November 30, 2006

quick and easy to follow i added chicken and peppers a little more chilli was a lovley meal on its own

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukzorro January 05, 2006

This was a nice quick fix dinner. To reduce the glycemic load, I used half lentils and half basmati rice, I also used a biryani pre-mix for seasoning. To serve for myself, I added a little ghee (clarified butter) and yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anju1979 November 09, 2005

This was probably one of the most delicious rice dishes that we have ever tasted - and we made it! Having followed the base recipe closely, all we did was add some prawns and peas. The authentic aroma and flavour was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturalcook August 22, 2004

Needed a side to go with fish tonight and found this delicious quick fried rice recipe, thanks Shereen, it fit the bill very nicely! I added some chopped mushrooms and 2 chopped jalapeno peppers which gave it a nice zing. Loved the idea of the tumeric, it did give it a nice colour; we will definately make this again. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 09, 2004
Fried Rice