26 Reviews

Everyone raved! This is such a simple dish, yet very well recieved. I cooked the potatoes a bit different, making this a 1-pan meal. I diced the potatoes small, and used goosefat for the oil. I heated the goosefat in my large skillet, added the potatoes (seasoned with S&P). Covered and let them steam in the oil for about 20 minutes, turning occasionally. When they were semi-tender, I removed the cover and added the remaining ingredients, tossing every so often until done. My nephew has already asked me to make this again. Thanks for a keeper recipe. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu September 13, 2009

WOW This was delicious! I also used one onion instead of two because mine was rather large. I also used an extra clove of garlic because in this house theres never too much garlic, lol! Fantastic recipe, thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut August 13, 2012

I love to use kielbasa for nites I am not in the mood to cook. This recipe was very easy and tasted really good! Will definitely make again...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkerbell's Mommy October 04, 2008

This is one of my family's favorite one dish meals. I grew up eating this with crusty dinner rolls and salad. Comfort food at its finest! Try it with scrambled eggs mixed in during the last few minutes of cooking. It's a delicious change of pace! Thanks for posting this excellent dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina June 10, 2008

This was a delicious Sunday dinner. After boiling the potatoes, I just cooked it all together adding some cabbage, salt and pepper. I had to add some water to keep it from sticking to the pan, causing it to steam more than brown. I thought it might taste a little bland, but the smokey flavor of the kielbasa was absorbed by the potatoes. We topped this with a little Franks, and Polish mustard on the side. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 09, 2012

I used pork sausage, so needed to kick up the dish a bit, added green, red and yellow peppers chopped up along with mushrooms I had in the fridge. For seasonings, I used Montreal Steak Spice for Chicken.
my picky son picked out the peppers (as always) but my husband and I loved the dish. It needed the peppers for colour and depth of flavour because of the pork sausage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaPatricia September 23, 2012

We really enjoyed this dish! I added some seasoned salt because I thought the potatoes would be bland without it and it was perfect. This is a great, hearty meal on a cold winter night. Thanks for posting, I'll be making this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle January 03, 2012

I make a dish similar with beef smoked sausage and canned sliced potatoes, but this is 100% better!! Made as written, just used one whole onion. DH and I both really liked it, this will be my new sausage/potato recipe! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH August 23, 2011

I just lost the review I worked on for 10 minutes, so here is the short version:

I used Tofurky kielbasa, and my produce was oversized so I doubled the other ingredients to match, with a couple extra cloves of garlic on top of that (because I love it).

The potatoes were bland, so I added dry mustard, black pepper and garlic powder. I had to cook the potatoes forever, so I added water to keep them from drying out.

Next time I'll chop the potatoes before cooking and steam/saute them like I do with aloo gobi, because boiling left them mushy, with some hard spots and some overcooked spots. The Tofurky got mushy, too, which was good because that let it blend with and add flavor to the potatoes, but next time I'll try browning it first, just for kicks.

It's really good! It took forever to make but I think next time will be easier. Definitely making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wiciousbeasts July 01, 2011

I am not going to rate this as I cooked the potatoes too long. I did not care for this recipe personally as I found it very bland. My own personal preference is also a crispier fried potatoe. Thank you for posting and I am glad I had the opportunity to try this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 December 25, 2010
Fried Potatoes With Onion and Kielbasa