Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Potatoes With Onion and Kielbasa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Potatoes With Onion and Kielbasa

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2012

      WOW This was delicious! I also used one onion instead of two because mine was rather large. I also used an extra clove of garlic because in this house theres never too much garlic, lol! Fantastic recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Everyone raved! This is such a simple dish, yet very well recieved. I cooked the potatoes a bit different, making this a 1-pan meal. I diced the potatoes small, and used goosefat for the oil. I heated the goosefat in my large skillet, added the potatoes (seasoned with S&P). Covered and let them steam in the oil for about 20 minutes, turning occasionally. When they were semi-tender, I removed the cover and added the remaining ingredients, tossing every so often until done. My nephew has already asked me to make this again. Thanks for a keeper recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I love to use kielbasa for nites I am not in the mood to cook. This recipe was very easy and tasted really good! Will definitely make again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This is one of my family's favorite one dish meals. I grew up eating this with crusty dinner rolls and salad. Comfort food at its finest! Try it with scrambled eggs mixed in during the last few minutes of cooking. It's a delicious change of pace! Thanks for posting this excellent dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      This was a delicious Sunday dinner. After boiling the potatoes, I just cooked it all together adding some cabbage, salt and pepper. I had to add some water to keep it from sticking to the pan, causing it to steam more than brown. I thought it might taste a little bland, but the smokey flavor of the kielbasa was absorbed by the potatoes. We topped this with a little Franks, and Polish mustard on the side. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I used pork sausage, so needed to kick up the dish a bit, added green, red and yellow peppers chopped up along with mushrooms I had in the fridge. For seasonings, I used Montreal Steak Spice for Chicken.
      my picky son picked out the peppers (as always) but my husband and I loved the dish. It needed the peppers for colour and depth of flavour because of the pork sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      We really enjoyed this dish! I added some seasoned salt because I thought the potatoes would be bland without it and it was perfect. This is a great, hearty meal on a cold winter night. Thanks for posting, I'll be making this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      I make a dish similar with beef smoked sausage and canned sliced potatoes, but this is 100% better!! Made as written, just used one whole onion. DH and I both really liked it, this will be my new sausage/potato recipe! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      I just lost the review I worked on for 10 minutes, so here is the short version:

      I used Tofurky kielbasa, and my produce was oversized so I doubled the other ingredients to match, with a couple extra cloves of garlic on top of that (because I love it).

      The potatoes were bland, so I added dry mustard, black pepper and garlic powder. I had to cook the potatoes forever, so I added water to keep them from drying out.

      Next time I'll chop the potatoes before cooking and steam/saute them like I do with aloo gobi, because boiling left them mushy, with some hard spots and some overcooked spots. The Tofurky got mushy, too, which was good because that let it blend with and add flavor to the potatoes, but next time I'll try browning it first, just for kicks.

      It's really good! It took forever to make but I think next time will be easier. Definitely making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      I am not going to rate this as I cooked the potatoes too long. I did not care for this recipe personally as I found it very bland. My own personal preference is also a crispier fried potatoe. Thank you for posting and I am glad I had the opportunity to try this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      More yummy comfort food on the table tonight. This was made by the directions with one wee swap, I used veggie Italian Style sausage. It tasted great and I'm sure going to keep this in mind for use throughout the winter. Great flavors that, of course, meld beautifully. It somehow reminded me of being back in mom's kitchen as a kid. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I made this recipe on 9/7/10 as part of mine and my SO's dinner. The only change that was made to the recipe is, beef smoked sausage( that's all I had ) was used instead of the kielbasa. I don't know if that made too much of a change, but to us it was just o.k.. If this is made again, I'll use regular smoked sausage and see if there is any difference. Thanks for taking the time to post, and " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Very tasty meal for DH and DS. They enjoyed it with all the flavors men like. I followed your recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing. ~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Very Good WiGal. We had for dinner with eggs. Next time I would not cook the potatoes all the way done before adding to kielbasa mixture -- they were a little mushy for us. My husband added a few drops of hot sauce and said he thought that added to the recipe. Thank you for a great meal. Made for Ausie Swap #31.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Great comfort food!!! Made 1/4 of the amount for lunch today and it was so good. I have never cooked the smoked sausage with the potatoe mixture and it kind of got a caramelized texture and was so good. I did sub sliced potatoes from the refrigeratored section of the grocery store, but otherwise made as written. Thanks for bringing back fond memories of my families comfort food. Made for potluck tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Loved this recipe. I made this the other night with a simple salad for an easy weeknight supper. It was really good. The whole family enjoyed. Comfort food at its finest! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Totally yummy comfort food. I halved the recipe for the two of us and it was perfect. I followed the recipe as directed except for adding some chopped green pepper for personal choice whenever eating fried potatoes. It is now safely stowed away in the to be made often catagory. Thanks so much for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This recipe was a big hit with guys in the family. I did add some salt and pepper, but was otherwise true to the recipe. Very tasty comfort food. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      ok - this is my 3rd attempt to get this review on this recipe! Sheesh! Very good. I followed the recipe as directed, except that I added some additonal Hungarian paprika both for flavor and for color. Very simple, very good, and a great comfort meal. Thanks WiGal. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I like this dish and it was a easy recipe to make. The recipe was halved for the two of us and it was enough for 3 people as a main dish. I added reconstituted dried mushrooms, doubled paprika, and as was suggested by another reviewer added some eggs toward the end of cooking. Thanks you WiGal for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Potatoes With Onion and Kielbasa

    Serving Size: 1 (641 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 821.1
     
    Calories from Fat 374
    45%
    Total Fat 41.6 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 74.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1054.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.7 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 23.9 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes