Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Potato Patties Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Potato Patties

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2009

      These turned out great for me. I followed the recipe step by step. I sprayed my pan with Pam instead of using the vegetable oil. Cooked on low heat and they turned out so good. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      I used some leftovers from Pam's Mashed Potato Casserole#66442 to make this with. I subbed cheddar for the mozzarella,but otherwise folllowed the instructions pretty much to the letter. My mix was a teeny bit wet,but my mash did have cream cheese and milk in it before hand,so it was to be expected.They did hold together very well though..I just was very careful while frying them to ensure that they didn't break up. They went down a storm,beautifully crisp and crunchy on the outside and so soft and cheesy in the centre. We loved them,and as they were no trouble to prepare will certainly be cooking extra mash potato in the future,as an excuse to make them! Thanks gailanng..this was a winner! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      These were so good. A really great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. Nice and crispy. I did use cheddar instead of mozzarella.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Great potato recipe. So nice and crunchy. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      Very good and easy recipe! I followed this one step by step and they came out amazing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Great little potato pattie! I managed to keep mine together without adding flour, but may add some in the future. Used panko for a delicious crunch. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Great little patties for breakfast. I miss read and added the egg to the patty but turned out great anyway. Just used panko and they fried up nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      We used chilled mashed potatoes, but the mixture was still a little too wet so I added about 1 heaped tablespoon of flour to bind it. Used panko instead of breadcrumbs. Surprisingly, even though the patties were soft, they held their shape during frying. My daughter said they were delicious albeit a little bland, so we added a sprinkling of salt on the patties and they were perfect. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      We liked these. Mine were a little mushy because I used leftovers, and I should have added the flour but didn't. We really liked the crisp coating,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      These turned out so perfectly! WOW! I've made a lot of potato patties,. but none of them ever turned out like these! The only change I made was that I use cheddar/Jack mixed.Mine always turned out like poor little lumps of something or other, poor things. lol Many thanks for these, Gail, hubby loved them! A keeper for sure! Made for KK's forum event!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Yummy! These were really good. I made them exactly as written and they were perfect. They had a really nice flavor. I have tried making potato patties several times but they've never turn out well until this time. Thanks, GailAnn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      these are so delicious, I added in 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper and used the green onion but used the whole green onion, I don't think you will find a better tater patty recipe, thank you for sharing this Gail!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      These were a nice change for a side tonight other than the normal potatoes of any kind. Really tasty and not all that hard to put together. Served these with meatloaf. A great keeper Gail. Made for KK's Chef's Pick~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      These were great!! I made them with Quick-Cube-Steaks #136338 and I felt like I had a quick version of sauerbraten and dumplings... ohhh so good... and easy too! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will definitely be making again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      These were so good! I made them with fork-mashed potatoes as gailann suggested. I rehydrated some onion flakes instead of the onion powder (I know, I know, I was lazy..). Somehow, coating these in breadcrumbs elevates the plain old potato cake to new levels. I fried them in a veg & olive oil mix and made assorted thicknesses to see what we liked best. They all tasted good, but we preferred the ones we made thin. They were reminiscent of a potato pancake+. A definite make again! Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag, Nov '09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I have learned from pierogi making that chilling mashed potatoes always makes them easier to work with. Likewise here, I chilled the mashed potatoes first, then made patties and chilled again. They turned out great, although tasted a little bland. Perhaps with the right meal that might be the perfect combination. Next time I will use gailanng's alternate green onion suggestion (rather than onion powder) to provide a bit more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Delicious! I used mozzarella, minced garlic, minced onion and I added some cumin. There was a time when I would have been worried that these would break up, but now, when making patties, I use lightly oiled egg rings (ones that are okay to use in a non stick pan) and by the time the patties need to be turned the egg rings can be removed as the patties have cooked sufficiently to no longer be in danger of breaking up. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil (personal preference). Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe! We greatly enjoyed these with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt, lamb chops and salad greens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      yummy yummy. I used yellow flesh taters, simply mashed them with some butter so they were nice and stiff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!!! I too had a problem with the first potato patty that I made, it fell apart. I then made smaller ones and that worked fine. I only made half of the recipe. Next time I would add a little less of the onion & garlic powders as toward the end it seemed to be overpowering, but thats just personal taste. I used a combination of mozzarella and cheddar cheese and that was wonderful!! Thanks for sharing Gailann!! Made for 123 Tag!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      I'm so sorry but these just didn't work for us. Mashed potatoes are usually creamy as were mine and they were extremely hard to work with as far as the dipping in the egg and bread crumbs. I ended up spreading the egg mixture on with my fingers and then tossing them in the bread crumbs and then using a spatula, turn them over before adding to the oil. Very greasy. Made for PRMR UPDATE: I made these again with stiffer mashed potatoes that I chilled first and it worked much better for me. A lot easier to work with. Still a little on the greasy side, but we really enjoyed them. Thanks GailAnn :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Potato Patties

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.2
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    52%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 115.1 mg
    38%
    Sodium 704.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites