9 Reviews

yum! I always love pineapple fried rice that is served in the Thai restaurants. We are not vegetarian so I added some scrambled egg. Also I used 3-4 cups of brown jasmine rice and at least 2 cups of fresh pineapple. It the end it could have used more flavor so I may need to up the spices if I use those quantities again. I don't keep curry powder on hand so I used about a teaspoon of red curry paste which I mixed into the Bragg's, sesame oil, tumeric, salt and pepper. No raisins on hand. If DH didn't mind it, I would add some green or red bell peppers to this. The brown jasmine rice that I got hasn't impressed me. It has a musty flavor so this was a great way to use up the leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker January 30, 2013

This was really good, a nice twist on an old favorite...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe August 24, 2012

This is really good. Like another reviewer, I would increase the pineapple next time, leave out the raisins (dd doesn't like them) and reduce the curry and/or turmeric as my family prefers a less intensely flavored rice. Definitely a great addition to an Indian meal. Made for ZWT8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 23, 2012

What a terrific tasting rice dish! I loved all the flavors and it couldn't look any prettier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens August 20, 2012

Delicious rice! I made half of the recipe and got 3 generous servings. I love that it's made with brown rice, goes great with the pineapple, raisins and spices. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 19, 2012

Excellent recipe! I made it exactly as written. It was easy to make, looked fabulous and tasted great. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY August 16, 2012

Easily prepared and delicious! Whenever I make rice I tend to double what I need, so that I will have rice in the fridge ready for stir-fried rice a day or so later. I did leave out the rasins because I just dont care for them, and I think I could have upped the pineapple,, I garnished with snipped spring onions, and there you go! delicious! Thank you Sharon! Made for PRMR tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth February 20, 2012

Made this with the 3 cups of rice & a generous 3/4 cup of the pineapple, along with everything else, & it was outstanding ~ A great accompaniment to baked chicken breast, at least this first time around! Another time I plan to serve it with pork chops! A great keeper of a recipe! Thanks for posting it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 19, 2011

this is a visually stunning dish and if you are a fan of sweetand sour you will probably like this . i wasnt for certain about the raisins but they worked this would go very well with plain chicken breasts or a pork roast since it has alot of flavor going on

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 23, 2011
Fried Pineapple Rice(Vegan)