13 Reviews

It had good flavor, but the breading didn't stick enough for my family's taste. Next time I think I will dip it in buttermilk or water first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redhead in OK July 29, 2010

This is exactly the way we always prepared fried okra and I love it. Reading your recipe makes me so hungry for a fresh vegetable dinner! Our one rule of thumb was to pick young okra pods for the juiciest, best taste - older pods get totally dried out inside. I have used regular cornmeal, self-rising cornmeal and even a cornmeal mix depending on what I had on hand - they all work. I always taste it after cooking and, if needed, add a sprinkling of salt. If you've never experienced fried okra, you must try it: there's simply nothing else quite like it. Thanks, Slatts, for the recipe and reminding me of one of my all-time favorites!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja June 23, 2009

LOVED IT! Slatts, the flavor on these is perfect. For anyone who's afraid of okra due to the slimy canned version mom served back in the day, this is a whole 'nother thing...DELICIOUS! I did lose most of the cornmeal mixture from the sides of the okra, but there was enough left in the ends, I thought it was just right! Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009

For those having trouble getting cornmeal to stick to okra, try stirring okra in a little buttermilk before coating with cornmeal mixture. The okra will be slimmy, but that's what you want. I use half flour and half cornmeal and do not use paprika and I deep fry mine, so it would be unfair to rate this version, but I know buttermilk works.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bea14 July 23, 2008

A good basic recipe for yummy fried okra! The paprika is a nice touch! Thank you! ZWT4-Fancy Feinschmeckers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 01, 2008

Might just have found myself another veggie to include in my short list of vegetables to make regularly around here! After rinsing the okra, I had little difficulty getting the wet okra coated with the cornmeal mixture (to which, by the way, I added some garlic), & the resulting taste was very satisfying! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa on Zaar's World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 29, 2008

This recipe worked for me because I used thawed frozen okra from last year garden which was moist all on it's own. I added garlic and chili peppers to the cornmeal. I only had self rising cornmeal which worked perfectly. ZWT4 in Africa with the Babes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc June 27, 2008

I am not rating this because the recipe as written will not work. The mixture will not stick well without some added liquid as you can see. I tossed these out and started over, this time adding just 1/4 c water to the okra- which made it slimy but made the cornmeal stick and did not change the flavor of the recipe. The cormeal adhered better. *Made for ZWT Africa*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) June 26, 2008

omg these were sooo goood! i've never had okra before but i'll try anything so i was excited about this recipe...lordy did it live up to my expectations!! i did end up using about a half of a beat egg to get the cornmeal to stick, but otherwise followed exactly. i had my bf hovering over my shoulder waiting for these to come out of the oil so i barely had a chance to snap a picture. they tasted alot like fried zuchini which is fine by me since its a favorite of mine...thanks for a new recipe that i'll be sure to make again...and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catalinacrawler June 24, 2008

This was a nice recipe for fried okra, but my children didn't care for the paprika flavor. Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers during ZWT 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 23, 2008
Fried Okra