Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Okra Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Okra

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2010

      It had good flavor, but the breading didn't stick enough for my family's taste. Next time I think I will dip it in buttermilk or water first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This is exactly the way we always prepared fried okra and I love it. Reading your recipe makes me so hungry for a fresh vegetable dinner! Our one rule of thumb was to pick young okra pods for the juiciest, best taste - older pods get totally dried out inside. I have used regular cornmeal, self-rising cornmeal and even a cornmeal mix depending on what I had on hand - they all work. I always taste it after cooking and, if needed, add a sprinkling of salt. If you've never experienced fried okra, you must try it: there's simply nothing else quite like it. Thanks, Slatts, for the recipe and reminding me of one of my all-time favorites!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      LOVED IT! Slatts, the flavor on these is perfect. For anyone who's afraid of okra due to the slimy canned version mom served back in the day, this is a whole 'nother thing...DELICIOUS! I did lose most of the cornmeal mixture from the sides of the okra, but there was enough left in the ends, I thought it was just right! Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      For those having trouble getting cornmeal to stick to okra, try stirring okra in a little buttermilk before coating with cornmeal mixture. The okra will be slimmy, but that's what you want. I use half flour and half cornmeal and do not use paprika and I deep fry mine, so it would be unfair to rate this version, but I know buttermilk works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      A good basic recipe for yummy fried okra! The paprika is a nice touch! Thank you! ZWT4-Fancy Feinschmeckers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Might just have found myself another veggie to include in my short list of vegetables to make regularly around here! After rinsing the okra, I had little difficulty getting the wet okra coated with the cornmeal mixture (to which, by the way, I added some garlic), & the resulting taste was very satisfying! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa on Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This recipe worked for me because I used thawed frozen okra from last year garden which was moist all on it's own. I added garlic and chili peppers to the cornmeal. I only had self rising cornmeal which worked perfectly. ZWT4 in Africa with the Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I am not rating this because the recipe as written will not work. The mixture will not stick well without some added liquid as you can see. I tossed these out and started over, this time adding just 1/4 c water to the okra- which made it slimy but made the cornmeal stick and did not change the flavor of the recipe. The cormeal adhered better. *Made for ZWT Africa*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      omg these were sooo goood! i've never had okra before but i'll try anything so i was excited about this recipe...lordy did it live up to my expectations!! i did end up using about a half of a beat egg to get the cornmeal to stick, but otherwise followed exactly. i had my bf hovering over my shoulder waiting for these to come out of the oil so i barely had a chance to snap a picture. they tasted alot like fried zuchini which is fine by me since its a favorite of mine...thanks for a new recipe that i'll be sure to make again...and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was a nice recipe for fried okra, but my children didn't care for the paprika flavor. Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers during ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Very good recipe for fried okra. I didn't measure the oil, just poured enough in my cast iron skillet to fill it about 1.5" high and didn't worry about turning it halfway. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      This will be kind of a weird review. I followed directions except I used a bag of frozen (thawed) okra. I think a 1/2 cup of cornmeal might have been enough and I thought it could use a little more salt. (But maybe if I use less cornmeal next time, 1/2 tsp salt would be about right.) The thing is, my husband was hovering around going, "you have to add more oil!" And my mother was over, and she started to say, "maybe you need more oil..." So I added a little more and the cornmeal was starting to burn. And then my husband hip-checked me out of the kitchen and poured like A CUP of oil in it!!! LOL! And it turned out pretty good, except it needed salt. lol. Reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      This turned out to be very nice okra! Most fried okra is higher in saturated fats and cholesterol from adding egg (at least that's what they do here in the Philippines) which is nice, but I thought this tasted just as good and is better for you. My DD's ate it better than they do most okra also. Yeah!! I'm sure we'll be cooking our okra this way again. Thanks! Made for ZWT$ - Jefes de la Cocina!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Okra

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.8
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    50%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 310.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites