Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2001

      My mon made a similar receipe, she called them potato pancakes. Just add onions an egg and shape them like small pancakes very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2001

      Baby this was so good. And what a good idea for those left over mashed potatoes! I hate to throw them out, but they just ain't good the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2001

      yummy!!! i used no-cheese mashed potatoes, and after one side was done, i flipped them over and put cheddar and swiss cheese on top ... mmmmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

      add chopped onion plus grated garlic gives it a great flavor amount of garlic to taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      These were great! I added some chopped bacon to mine. Just make sure you give them plenty of time to cook as they take awhile to get a nice browned appearance and crispy bits!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2002

      My mother made this also as potato cakes. Add a little flour, milk, egg. And for a mess add onion, green pepper, and some shredded cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

    • on November 30, 2007

      I don't really get it. Maybe I did it wrong, but they didn't patty up... so it was still leftover mashed potatoes with little crispy spots here and there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      My mum used to make this the day after we had mashed potato. We would beg her to make extra so that we could have crispy mash as a snack. Lovely with spicy ketchup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Before the microwave came to my house when I was a kid this is the way my mom usually made leftover mashed potatoes. Nice and crispy with a little butter on the top. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      My grandma makes this with mashed potatoes, except she shapes them into patties and fries until golden and slightly crisp on the outside. They are one of my all-time favorite things she makes and I request them whenever we go there for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Great and so easy..I would have never of thought of this....My son who doesn't care for mashed pototoes and didnt eat his the night before...gobbled them up today prepared this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Excellent method for leftover mashed potatoes. I make mine into patties sometimes and dip in breadcrumbs. Other ways to use up mashed potatoes is to 'ice' a meatloaf, or make shepherd's pie and use leftover potatoes as a topping, dot with butter, sprinkle with paprika and brown in oven, or add to soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This is scruptious. I often make extra mashed potatoes with the intention of making these! My family prefers this to typical hashbrowns. Thanks for posting.-HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      We prefer these to the original plain mashed !! Usually add 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 egg (if leftover potatoes aren't too creamy), shape into patties and roll in Panko before sauteing in butter. If the mixture is too thin to shape, pour the entire mixture into a non-stick frying pan with butter almost browning, and top with Panko before turning over. (This may take sliding large "pancake" onto a plate, and returning to the pan upside down.) Adding any onion, garlic, or herb to your taste is a good variable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My mom made these for me when I was a child and when I moved out on my own my first batch of leftover mashed potatoes I made fried mashed potatoes. We make ours slightly different. We coat the inside of our frying pans with a little butter then fry the mashed potatoes till browned slightly crisp but not a solid crispy shell. This is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. This makes a great snack or have them with breakfast or dinner as a side. Thanks for posting. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      My mom used to make these too. They're best when fried long enough so that you get a nice brown crispy shell. A few sauteed minced onions are a good mix in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      A great way to use left over potatoes. I have made them several times now. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      These were delicious. I cooked them in my cast iron pan, and had no trouble with them sticking to the pan. The crust was nice and crispy and a golden brown colour. I will be making extra mashed potatoes next time just so I can make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      I think you are right about it being better not to add any butter; the butter already mashed into the potatoes kept them from sticking to my cast-iron pan, and this way they weren't greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes