Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Green Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2010

      GREAT recipe, thanks for posting! (I'd like to add that if you don't already keep powdered buttermilk in stock, you darned well should! It opens the doors for tons of wonderful recipes- like this one- without leaving you stuck with half a carton of buttermilk in the fridge. And it's even good enough to use to make buttermilk pie.) We had this last night, served with fresh marinara sauce (recipe 136292) and a sprinkling of feta cheese. It was EXCELLENT. I had friends over for drinks to celebrate Repeal Day and we couldn't stop going back for seconds until every last tomato slice was gone. I'm thinking about making it an annual tradition... thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      I love the combo of the corn meal & flour. I added a great deal of seasoning, S&P, cajun, etc. I made the first two batches as directed. I couldn't get the crust to stay on with a higher temp or lower. I added an egg to the buttermilk and the next batch stuck much better. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This was my first taste of fried green tomatoes. It was a great first experience. I had them with sausages, fried eggs and rice (a great Asian style meal). I topped the tomatoes with a little hot sauce and soy sauce. Yummy! Thanks for sharing, chia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Great recipe! I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted plain yogurt. I liked it better because it was thicker. I only needed to dredged once because of the thickness. I also used coconut oil and butter mixed for the frying oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Yum, this really spiced up my cooking of green tomatoes. Thanks Now I just need to go watch the movie again. LOL So I can remember how to cook up an annoying spouse.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Yummy, adding to my cookbook. Even good cold. Now I have no more green tomatoes. I double dipped some for a thicker crust, might try egg in milk another time. Buffalo style is good, dip in blue cheese dressing with liberal dots of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Thank you chia!!!! This is simply fabulous!!!! I've done fried green tomatoes in the past but these were exceptionally delicious. I started out with just a few slices to see if we would like them and I think by the time we were done we downed half a bushel :) We live in Wyoming where the summers are short so now I have an even better way to use up the abundance of green tomatoes from the garden at the end of our short summers. I always have way more green tomatoes than ripe and now I don't mind that a bit. Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I made these for a ladies' lunch meeting at my house, and here's what I did: put the fried tomatoes on dark red leaf lettuce. topped them with a thick bechamel sauce of lump crabmeat and shrimp, threw some cayenne pepper and parsley on top for color, and those women actually asked for SECONDS (which Southern women are taught never to do, of course:):) This is a wickedly delicious way to fry a 'mater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      This was my first taste of fried green tomatoes, and I don't think I'll be making them again. Must not have my "southern" tastebuds developed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I am not a frequent frier, but I had heard lots about fried green tomatoes. Spidermites killed my tomato plant with several pounds of green tomatoes on it (not even yellow, GREEN as can be), so I thought I would take the plunge and try this traditional southern dish. It was everything it was promised to be. Crispy, with a nice cornmeal texture to the back ground, tangy green tomato center. For us it did not require any lemon or dipping sauce, perfect just the way it was. I may try spraying the slices with canola oil and baking them next time (no splatter to clean up, and less oil absorbed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      These are YUMMY! First time making/EATING fried green tomatoes, and be that as it may .. I can't really imagine them getting a whole lot better than this! After perusing the reviews for serving suggestions, I settled on fresh marinara plopped on top. So. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      Really tasty, made 2X more dredge and coating than I needed. Wish I had more tomatoes to use it up. I think next time I will go for slightly thinner slices. Was awesome served with some homemade apricot hot pepper jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      We grow lots of tomatoes and I love the fried green ones. This recipe is much better than my old one- the whole family really enjoyed them! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I made this recipe tonight......but was disappointed in it. (It may be something I did in preparation, but I followed the recipe exactly.) I just found that the breading had too much cornmeal and was too gritty. Also, the breading burned quickly and the tomatoes didn't get tender. I didn't fry on high, just med.high like I normally do, and did add oil with a little butter so that it would not burn. Sorry, but I probably will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is how I make my fried green tomatoes, too! The only thing I do different is I add a bit of onion powder in with my flour/cornmeal mixt. and I double dip mine, too. I love Tyler Florence's recipes, they're always great. Thanks for sharing. By the way, sounds like my garden here in southwestern PA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Yum! I made this with buttermilk substitute since I was out but I just know how much more amazing it would be with the buttermilk can't wait to try again with it. Thanks so much. Truly a wonderful southern dish that I always enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      LOVE this recipe and don't know why I never reviewed it before!! If you've never tasted fried green tomatoes before, you're missing one of the best treats in life. I don't always have stone ground cornmeal, but I haven't had a problem using regular. For a long time I worried about the tomatoes ripening and then I found that when they just begin to change color (i.e., turn orange before they fully ripen), they taste even better, the flavor deepens and they are out of this world! Everyone should try this recipe! THANKS for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I mixed in the hot pepper sauce with the flour mixture and these were tasty little morsels that was enjoyed! We had with fried chops and cornbread. Excellent recipe Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I mixed in a jamaican jerk dry season and added it to the batter, delicious! Also made a jerk sauce to dip in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Green Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 568.4
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    51%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 11.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 118.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites