Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Garlic Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Garlic Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2011

      So simple yet so delicious. I cut way back on the butter and oil; but kept the seasonings the same. We will be making this again for sure. We served it with salmon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Very simple recipe, very simple flavors! I am a big fan of asparagus and this was a tasty way to make it. I chopped the garlic fairly big (for garlic anyway) and added a squeeze of lemon juice to my second helping. You should try that, it was really yummy. I even got a 6 year old to eat a few pieces. I will make this many times! thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      Really good and quick! Slightly crispy asparagus for a change. Used roasted garlic and it was delicious. Thanks, Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Very good, very simple. Served with Greek style baked shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was really good! Served it tonight with pork steaks and brown rice. I wanted something that wasn't smothered, so the hollandaise that I was planning to make went out the door. I cut back a bit on the butter and salt, and left the rest of the amounts the same for 1 lb of asparagus. To avoid burning the garlic, I dumped my veggies in as soon as I stirred garlic into the hot oil. This cooked for me in about 10 minutes. Very good, and I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Yum! This was simple and very tasty. Thanks Nimz for a nice keeper. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      So, apparently cooking asparagus is still a wee bit lost on me! I used 1 1/2 tbsps butter and 1 tsp oil (for 9 spears), 1/2 tsp salt(bit salty) and small 1/4 tsp pepper. That was all fine, but I started on, not even, med heat and the butter was browning and the garlic started browning almost immediately... that was all fine too, but then I cooked the asparagus for as long as stated (lowered the heat - terrible stove, I know it.) and it was very soggy. I think I need it at 6 mins or so to cook it still crisp. Thanks for your base recipe, I will get this right :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I just so enjoyed these! Added a little lemon to the butter at the end for a bit of a sauce and served them with filet steak

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Yummy! I was looking for a way to cook asparagus on the stovetop and this was up our alley. I doubled the garlic and chopped them rather large and added lemon juice at the end. I also left out the oil and used less butter. Next time I'll try it with parmesan on top. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This really is a great tasting way to have asparagus. I, too, used a bit less butter and oil. The garlic and kosher salt are wonderful. I served lemon wedges on the side for those who prefer it that way. Very good! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I've made asparagus like this for years, with less butter and no olive oil....before I found the delight of roasted asparagus. It was a pleasant change to revisit an old friend, although I did reduce the amount of butter and olive oil listed in the recipe. Enjoyed with a nice steak tonight. Thanks for posting. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I have always steam my asparagus and then placed them in a frying pan to saute with garlic so this took out a whole step in the process making it quick and easy! Thanks for posting! Made as a thank you for hosting the Summer Spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      We loved this, although I would reduce the amount of salt. Very simple and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Fantastic-Terrific-Astounderific -- I ran out of "ic" words to describe how much we LOVED this side dish! I have been broiling my asparagus more than anything and now I have an easier and less heat up the kitchen way of preparing it! The flavors were wonderful and the asparagus turned out perfect in 10 minutes! Thanks Nimzie for another keeper!! Made for Zaar Stars tag game. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Wow this is fantastic! The asparagus cooked up perfectly in 10 minutes and just loved the garlic flavor. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      What a great way to easily dress up asparagus! Flavors were perfect. (garlic was subtle, not overpowering). We will be having this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      WOW!! This is fantastic!! Why haven't I had butter on my asparagus before! Really a wonderful combination. One I will definitely repeat!! Nimz, you've come up with a real winner...Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      one of the best asparagus recipes I have tried...loved the flavor...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Big thumbs up from my husband. My garlic browned, but it tasted wonderful anyway. I also forgot salt & pepper till it was already plated. Thanks, Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Well, this recipe has now become a family favorite here as well! Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to try my hand at asparagus for the first time in such a simple and absolutely wonderful way! The recipe worked just perfectly as written. On the advice of several reviewers I added a little bit of lemon juice at the end, and meant to add Parmesan - ended up adding a few shreds of Swiss instead after discovering my Parm had gone bad on me. That just gives me an excuse to make this again next time and do it "right!" This is going in the permanent file effective immediately...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Garlic Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.9
     
    Calories from Fat 330
    93%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1078.0 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites