Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Dill Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Dill Pickles

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2002

      My husband has been begging me to try these. So to stop all the whining, I made these as part of our Zaar Week Cookathon/Fourth of July celebration. The idea of fried pickles didn't really sound like a good idea to me but was I ever wrong. These little buggers were delicious. Salty, spicy, and crunchy. Huge hit with my guests and of course my husband. Thanks NurseDi for making our celebration even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Great recipe and so glad to find it. We experimented with dills both spears and thin slices. The overall choice was the Vlasic Kosher Dill Spears halfed lengthwise. Perfect bite of dill pickle and beer batter. Yes, it needs more beer so I couldn't give it a 5 star, perfect balance of spices when served with a cooling cucumber or ranch sauce. If you have a few spice weaklings try using 1/3 what the recipe calls for in the batter and put the rest into your ranch dressing so those who enjoy the bite still have it. Then call it blossom sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      I followed the recipe exactly and both DH and I enjoyed them tremendously. I especially enjoy the beer batter (vs. egg) because I have several vegetarian friends and I%u2019m always looking for fun recipes to cook and serve to be enjoyed by everyone. I might try adding just a tad more beer (up to ¾ cup) next time, but the original recipe worked fine for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      The ratio for flour:beer is not correct in this recipe. As written you get a paste rather than a batter. I used 1/2 c. beer for the 1/2 c. flour which worked a bit better. Also, this batter is excessively spicy as written. In the first batch I did, I only used about 1/2 tsp. (NOT T) of cayenne pepper because I ran out. I still thought it was too spicy, but not everyone complained so when I made another 1/2 batch for more pickles I kept that ratio of cayenne. Next time I will dry the pickles very well, maybe even overnight, before battering - the batter was sliding off in the oil. I will also stick to 1/8" thick slices (my husband had bought spears and presliced and I thought they were too pickley). The flavor is enticing, and my husband wants me to do this again, so I will continue to tweak. I had only had breaded fried pickles before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Excellent! Served for fathers day today with ranch dressing and were a hit. Just like the ones I've had down south! Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Oh my goodness! These were the BEST fried pickles! Even my husband, who isn't a fan of pickles, loved these! We couldn't get enough of them! I did need to add 1/2+ cup of beer to thin out the batter but no biggie. We like them a bit more spicy so we added some chili powder. Whether you're usng small round pickle slices or larger spears, this is a great recipe...personally, we prefer the thin round slices. :) The beer definitely makes this batter. Thank you SO much for posting this recipe. God bless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I cut back on the black pepper to 1 teaspoon and the cayenne pepper I used 2 teaspoons. I thought they had a nice amount of heat but next time I'll use the full amount of cayenne. I also added a extra 1/2 cup of beer to the batter and served them with ranch. I'm so making these agian!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Very good. I also needed to add more beer. No big deal. I tripled the spices and served w/ranch dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      VERY good. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup beer to meet the desired thickness (flour was too crumbly and dry with the specified 1/4 cup). These were excellent with just the right amount of heat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Always wanted to try these..these were very good..just the right amount of spice..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      My boyfriend and I tried these because we've had them at a local restaurant. We were dissapointed with the recipe. We had to add more beer, the black pepper was very overwhelming, it wasn't spicey and didn't even look appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      i went out and bought pickles just to try this, well i have wanting to all week and decided tonight was the night, as i gathered my ing. i went to get the flour and,,,,empty. I almost didnt make them but then i thought why not try bisquick. worked wonderfully, not sure if it tasted different than just using flour but they were great. I didnt think they were really spicey i found them just about right. I followed rest of recipe to a T and i may add a bit more spice for heat next time, but they were enjoyed by me as is.,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      These are by far the best fried pickles EVER! Even my husband, who doesn't care for pickles couldn't get enough. We make these when we bbq on the grill and fry them on the side burner, never have any left!! Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      This was WAY too spicy for me! Next time I'd have to half the cayenne. Also, I had to add about 1/4 cup more beer. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      These were SSSSOOOO GOOOD!!! I could've fried the whole jar of pickles! I did cut back about 1/2 on the cayenne and the paprika and didn't use the Tabasco(they still had a kick though). I had to use more beer though...1/4 a cup didn't even get all the flour wet. Plus, I wanted my batter to be a little more thin..just made it easier to dunk the pickles in and into my fryer. I am definitely making these over and over and over again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      I gotta tell ya - I love these things. I did have to add a tad more beer, but these were fantastic. Next time I will up the spiciness as well as it wasn't spicy enough. But what rave reviews these got, even from non-pickle lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Di these were great, and spicy. very easy to make as well, although I found that I needed to add more beer than called for. we also hollowed the pickles out and stuffed them with cheddar and cream cheese the second time. whoohoo! very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      My family and I have had fried dill pickles before at a restaurant when we were on vacation. Thought I would give it a try at home to see how they would turn out. They weren't all that hard to make and the batter does fry up crispy. They were very spicy in flavor which we liked. Perfect addition to our fried fish and hushpuppy dinner. Thank you Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      These are wonderful. We dipped them in ranch dressing and ate until we couldn't eat anymore!!! Thanks nursedi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      These are really good. I first tried this at a catfish resturant in Pasadena, Texas, although it was not as spicy or as red. It was served with Ranch dressing to dip in. Next time I'll try leaving out the paprika and cut down on the cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Dill Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.9
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    16%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 585.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites